We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was truly amazed with Mnarani, both with the Cottages and the Beach. I stayed in one of the sea view cottages it was perfect. The food was excellent and the staff were super friendly and attentive. After reading so much about the tides and the beaches on Zanzibar I was a little concerned about what to expect but I was pleasant surprised the beach was pristine at both low and high tide. I did a snorkeling trip and a spice/Stone Town tour through the hotel and both where very well organised. I could not find anything to complain about. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Although I can not comment on the garden view rooms I would definitely suggest the slight extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mnarani, It appears that we are getting everything right. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    179
    48
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
215
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

great staff- very friendly, good food, good location, quiet and very romantic!
We enjoyed every moment there!
too bad that the rooms were very small, but except of this everything was perfect.
If you want a place to relax and enjoy zanzibar - mnarani is perfect for this!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Short but sweet. Thank you for your review and please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Mnarani was particularly stunning. Tucked away in the serene neigbourhood of Nungwi, it was most unexpected that some place so beautiful would be located where it is. The well manicured gardens, the tended lawns, the clean beautiful rooms, the good food the more than friendly staff and the endless list of fun filled activities, just to mention but a few. The new addition of the wooden deck provides an especially beatiful setting for sitting and relaxing as you wait for the tides to surge beneath. Oooh, and the swimming pool is so clean and beautifully done, you wouldnt want to be elsewhere when you have some time to spare. The prisitine beaches are memorable.

Thanks to all the staff at Mnarani, you made our stay memorable. We will surely be back this way very soon.

Violet and Gabriel,
Nairobi - Kenya

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, especially teh cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Seeing you enjoyed your stay so much it would be our pleasure to see you return for another relaxing vacation. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The entire staff was very friendly and really doing its best to accomodate us. The food at the restaurant is good, and rooms are clean and comfy. For the price it's a really good value hotel in Nungwi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealFrenchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the review I am pleased to read that your stay was good value for money. Please return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was looking for a place to relax and let my brain vegetate and Mnarani Resort was the perfect place. The food was good, the services, comfort and convenience offered by the facilities and staff were superb. My only regret was that I could have stayed another couple days, read another couple of books, worked on my tan and catch up on the peacefulness that surrounds you there.

Room Tip: I loved listening to the tide coming in while sleeping in the beach cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Bichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I was pleased to read that you managed to vegetate properly while you stayed with us. We do aim to assist all our guests vegetate. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After the great disappointment at the Sunset Bungalow/Kendwa (party, party...) we identified this place of piece in 10 min distance (by taxi). This place is amazing and very quiet but in a 5 min beach walk from the village. There are different categories for housing. We had a lodge with a perfect sea view. The price is high (as usual at Zanzibar), but this resort is the money worth, especially if you have half board. The food is delicious. You can enjoy an incredible sunset from the roof of the building. As anywhere at the east coast, swimming is not possible at low tide, but this is compensated by stunningly beautiful beach walks.

Room Tip: Do not miss sunset from the roof of the Zanzibar house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the gracious review, not many people go to the roof top to see the sunset, maybe they will now. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mnarani for 3 days after a 2 week train trip from Vic Falls to Dar es Salaam so we were looking for a place to sit and relax with great views and good food. We were not disappointed. Really enjoyed the tranquility and the friendliness and great service from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MArgaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read that we made everything just right for your stay at the hotel. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Property: Mnarani Beach Cottages
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing