We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar, Mnarani”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Me and my wife and our 2 boys spent 2 weeks on Zanzibar, we rented a car and stayed at different hotels. The absolutely best days was the 4 days at Mnarani Lighthouse.
The relaxed atmosphere, nice and most helpful staff, wonderful walks on the beach, great food, sunsets and sunrise made our days there a memory not forgiven.
We will come back !

Room Tip: All area is wery quiet and nice. Rooms in the building next to beachbar is the wery nice with excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a very late review. I stayed at this great hotel in March while I was traveling solo and plan on returning this March again. Food was excellent. Breakfast was OK but satisfying. Staff were wonderful and the accommodation, although on the small side in garden beach house, was quite nice. Because this hotel is not HUGE, compared to many of the other big resorts in the area, we got to know many of the guests and had a grand time. It was like home away from home. Not perfect, a few "bugs" here and there, but it was the staff and guests that made my trip most memorable. So looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent 5day's at mnarani at the beginning from January. We absolutely loved it. We defnitly going back. We just wanted a place to relax and relax. And thats all what we did. We relaxed. I loved reading in the hammock's, hubby love reading in front of our standard sea view room, the view is absolutely stunning!!! staff friendly. Yes rooms small, but what more do you need. Yes its for sure not a 5star international hotel, but we loved it and the view,sea is the most beautiful place on earth!!! we went for jetski's . what i love from mnarani its not on the "main" beach where its very crowded and busy, its close to walk but far from noise and crazyness.... we loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: standard sea view, perfect view, nr. 6 or 7. close to pool, bar, restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Ocean breezes, waiting hammocks and charpoys, terrific staff, great massage service at very reasonable prices. Mnarani was a lovely place to check out of the rat race for a week. Don't go if you are looking for nightlife and glamour.This is a place to chill. Service is excellent. Strong points on the food are the breakfast crepes with fresh cinnamon and honey and the creative fresh (often fruited) salads.

Room Tip: The two-story beach cottages (ask for Maimuna) were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mama71Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I had high hopes for this place, and booked it (and paid in advance) for 3 nights. The room we were allocated, was in the Fishermans House, and we new we would be in a room that was part of an apartment. At $150/night FB, we expected a lot more than we got. The room was more suited to an upmarket backpackers than a high end hotel. To make matters worse, the dinner on our 1st night was so awful we couldn't eat it. When we complained (politely), the management did nothing to make us feel better, they may as well have just shrugged their shoulders and walked away. We felt like really unwanted guests after we complaine. One of the hotels Directors seems incapable of listening to criticism.
On a positive note, the pool is nice, and the breakfasts were lovely. The location is stunning, and quiet. But, I would not go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilimandege, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We take great pride in trying to offer our guests maximum comfort and enjoyment during their stay with us and it is obvious in this case that we failed. I apologise that we did not meet the standards that you expected in both our accommodation and the food on the first night of your stay. At the time, heightened tension with your partner made it very difficult for a constructive discussion to take place between us, although I did offer you a refund so you could find alternate accommodation - an offer which you declined.

Your kind comments regarding our breakfast, location and pool are much appreciated.

Nassor S. Maharouky
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Mnarani in December and had a great time there. We did find that the prices were 2 to 3 times the price of most other places a mere 10 or so minute walk down the beach for food and drinks. The prices of the items in the bar fridge in the room were also outrageous at $3 for a can of local beer.
Other than that the scenery and views are good with a massive tidal turn where you can walk out really far at low tide and have sea right beneath you at high tide while sitting at the bar.
Friendly staff and nice rooms, overall a great place but over priced for what it is, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing stay after travelling through Tanzania or more countries in Africa. The title on their website says it right: 'come as a guest-leave as a friend' The staff is so friendly and makes you feel home. They are always ready to help with anything you need-the Manager Yussuf even helped us to find a good tailor to get beautiful african dresses and knows the island very well if you plan to go to other places on the island!
The service is also great at the restaurant with nice food, very diversified - they sometimes have special african nights with dance show! There is a well stocked and beautiful beachbar with stunning views on the turquoise ocean - they mix fantastic cocktails and play nice music. In the garden area they offer very nice hammocks and beach beds and even during low tide the sea is not too far - otherwise you can cool down at the small but very clean pool.
Don't forget to join the beautiful Dhow cruise to Mnemba Island - you'll find a beautiful and colourful underwater world and sometimes you can even meet dolphins in front of the boat:-)
Well, if you don't look for too much luxury but clean accommodation, lovely atmosphere and perfect value for money - go there and enjoy! If you are looking for spacious rooms, go for the superior or deluxe rooms - they are much nicer! If you are on a honeymoon - the honeymoon cottage offers a private and lovely atmosphere, too! Nothing bad to tell!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,658 reviews
46.2 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $109 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing