We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chill out from rat race”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great chill out from rat race”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Ocean breezes, waiting hammocks and charpoys, terrific staff, great massage service at very reasonable prices. Mnarani was a lovely place to check out of the rat race for a week. Don't go if you are looking for nightlife and glamour.This is a place to chill. Service is excellent. Strong points on the food are the breakfast crepes with fresh cinnamon and honey and the creative fresh (often fruited) salads.

Room Tip: The two-story beach cottages (ask for Maimuna) were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama71Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    178
    47
    29
    23
See reviews for
91
214
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I had high hopes for this place, and booked it (and paid in advance) for 3 nights. The room we were allocated, was in the Fishermans House, and we new we would be in a room that was part of an apartment. At $150/night FB, we expected a lot more than we got. The room was more suited to an upmarket backpackers than a high end hotel. To make matters worse, the dinner on our 1st night was so awful we couldn't eat it. When we complained (politely), the management did nothing to make us feel better, they may as well have just shrugged their shoulders and walked away. We felt like really unwanted guests after we complaine. One of the hotels Directors seems incapable of listening to criticism.
On a positive note, the pool is nice, and the breakfasts were lovely. The location is stunning, and quiet. But, I would not go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilimandege, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

We take great pride in trying to offer our guests maximum comfort and enjoyment during their stay with us and it is obvious in this case that we failed. I apologise that we did not meet the standards that you expected in both our accommodation and the food on the first night of your stay. At the time, heightened tension with your partner made it very difficult for a constructive discussion to take place between us, although I did offer you a refund so you could find alternate accommodation - an offer which you declined.

Your kind comments regarding our breakfast, location and pool are much appreciated.

Nassor S. Maharouky
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Mnarani in December and had a great time there. We did find that the prices were 2 to 3 times the price of most other places a mere 10 or so minute walk down the beach for food and drinks. The prices of the items in the bar fridge in the room were also outrageous at $3 for a can of local beer.
Other than that the scenery and views are good with a massive tidal turn where you can walk out really far at low tide and have sea right beneath you at high tide while sitting at the bar.
Friendly staff and nice rooms, overall a great place but over priced for what it is, in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wald, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing stay after travelling through Tanzania or more countries in Africa. The title on their website says it right: 'come as a guest-leave as a friend' The staff is so friendly and makes you feel home. They are always ready to help with anything you need-the Manager Yussuf even helped us to find a good tailor to get beautiful african dresses and knows the island very well if you plan to go to other places on the island!
The service is also great at the restaurant with nice food, very diversified - they sometimes have special african nights with dance show! There is a well stocked and beautiful beachbar with stunning views on the turquoise ocean - they mix fantastic cocktails and play nice music. In the garden area they offer very nice hammocks and beach beds and even during low tide the sea is not too far - otherwise you can cool down at the small but very clean pool.
Don't forget to join the beautiful Dhow cruise to Mnemba Island - you'll find a beautiful and colourful underwater world and sometimes you can even meet dolphins in front of the boat:-)
Well, if you don't look for too much luxury but clean accommodation, lovely atmosphere and perfect value for money - go there and enjoy! If you are looking for spacious rooms, go for the superior or deluxe rooms - they are much nicer! If you are on a honeymoon - the honeymoon cottage offers a private and lovely atmosphere, too! Nothing bad to tell!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our family of 4 adults spent two nights in early November at this resort in Nungwi. It it on the Northeast tip of the main island and took a little over an hour by taxi from Zanzibar Town. The resort was very relaxed with great food, lots of hammocks, a pool for when the tide is out and many recreational amenities. They also had a great acrobat team entertain on one of the nights we were there. You do not see sunsets from the resort, but it is only a quarter mile walk along the beach to the Westerly side to watch gorgeous sunsets. The resorts on that side are pricier and are closer together, so we were happier at Mnarani. The last night we took the sunset cruise from the Sea Turtle Preserve at the lighthouse next door to the resort and that was wonderful. We snorkeled for about 45 minutes and then cruised into the sunset. A great and relaxing stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank attony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel above and beyond of what we thought. Me and my wife stayed for 10 days in November 2011 and had the most incredible time! I highly reccommend this hotel
The staff are so warm and helpful and they always made sure that we had everything that we needed! As guests we felt safe, welcome and taken care of from day one.
The rooms are amazing and the food in the restaurants were amazingly delicious.

We already dream about going back one day because of their high quality standards and the sweet feeling of being home far from home.

We will definitely be back. Maria & Jeremy from London.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed in this cosy little hotel in November for two weeks. This made us really long stay guests. The cottage was small but neat and cosy. We had a twin room and the beds were comfortable. All the public areas are clean and well up-kept.
Every single person we met was very friendly, always willing to deliver fabulous service and they gave us the feeling to be not just another guest but friends.... this is as well the logo on the bar shirts... Come as a tourist, leave as a friend.
The beach is great, even if you are not always able to swim, depending to the tides. During low tide, we walked towards the Riff, and we saw soooo beautiful star fish.
This vacation was just relaxing!!!
In the evenings we were sitting in the bar and playing the local game bao. When I tried to learn Kiswaheli, every ingle person was helping me.
I just can repeat: This is such a beautiful spot on earth!!!
Thanks a lot for the great time to Yussuf and his team....
We will be back!!!! Tutaonana barai

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melli060179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Property: Mnarani Beach Cottages
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing