We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great escape!”
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Having been to most of the in-spots around the world I decided to try somewhere new. I didn't quite know what to expect as the pictures are never the same as reality but I was most surprised to see that they actually are. The place is beautiful! Set in a quiet part of the island with well appointed air-conditioned bungalows dotted around the landscape, it felt as if everything was close-by but also that private space wasn't sacrificed at all. The whole atmosphere was relaxed with management staff being attentive but not intrusive as some other establishments are. The local staff are pleasant and obliging. The food was excellent too - and I like the fact that there was only one buffet offered during our 5 night stay - it's nice to be served when on holiday. We did snorkelling (wonderful marine life) and went on a sunset dhow-cruise with the obligatory bottle of champagne (highly recommended)! I managed to catch some of the footie on the wide-screen TV in a separate TV room (there are no phones or televisions in the rooms - brilliant!) while my girlfriend had a full-body massage on the beach. I cannot recommend this place enough if all you want to do is step out of life for a few days!

  • Liked — Unique location. Very relaxing and peaceful.
  • Disliked — Rather slow checkout.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotting_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    127
    23
    22
    14
See reviews for
113
316
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

After a wonderful but dusty safari in Tanzania, I joined my daughter and her family at this lovely small hotel in Zanzibar. We really enjoyed the food and great wine list. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel really at home. The design of the hotel was beautiful and elegant but still very much in keeping with the natural surroundings. I had a sublime massage in the cabana on the beach listening to the ocean.

My grandchildren had a ball of a time and really enjoyed our deep sea fishing trip. My son in law was especially pleased because he caught his first sailfish which the chef prepared for our dinner. Delicious!

Our accommodation was in 2 superior delux chalets on the sea front and couldn't have been nicer.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and pampering holiday.

  • Liked — Small and intimate size. Personalised service.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdouglasholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We have just had the hoiday of a lifetime at Ras Nungwi. It was everything that you would dream of ..... but better! The staff were undoubtedly the friendliest we have ever dealt with. Chris, the manager, in particular made our trip so enjoyable. Having explored some of the island this is definitely the best spot that Zanzibar offers. The beach is beautiful, the food was delicious and the comfort of the interiors was to perfection. We would highly recommend this hotel 10 out of 10 and are working on our next trip back there!

  • Liked — Food, wine, diving, room, service, fantastic beach
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanchez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

As residents we have been to many of the hotels in Zanzibar and we rate Ras Nungwi as one of the better hotels in Zbar! The staff are friendly and the managers are proactive. The rooms are spacious , airy and beautifully furnished with HUGE Zanzibari beds - although i did prefer the garden room to the seaview room. One of the distinguishing factors being their food - we loved the fact that unlike majority of the hotels in Zbar, Ras Nungwi does not serve a buffet dinner but a 3 course meal! The food was fresh, delicious and different! Well done! we will definitely be returning!

  • Liked — access to beach and pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Africanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We have recently returned from a fantastic 10 days in Ras Nungwi. I spend my working life in five star hotels around the world and they are generally forgettable. Ras Nungwi has a relaxed charm that makes you want to go back.
We found the food excellent, wonderful fresh fish. The staff where friendly and attentive but not intrusive. I wish I was back in one of the hammocks by the beach now. One previous review stated, you still know you'rein Africa. Surely that is the point, otherwise why not just go to Florida.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank down1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

My girlfriend and i visited Nungwi in January this year and had THE most incredible time. On the way to the lodge we were exhausted after a long safari and the bumby road towards Ras Nungwi worried us........what was this place going to be like hidden away down the bumpiest road wed ever seen???

On arrival though the place literally took our breath away....the most beauctiful beach we had ever seen and an incredible turquoise sea....the bumpy road had been so worthwhile!!!

We stayed for 6 nights in a superior chalet which was stunning with our own balcony area and four poster bed....apparently the entire hotel had recently had a refurbishment.

The food was superb and staff ready at our every need.....even playing drinking games over backgammon one night! Wed recomend it to anyone and will without any doubt be back hopefully this year.....maybe see you there!

  • Liked — the four poster beds
  • Disliked — our length of time there!!!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonTravel-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2007

This hotel is very nice, the best of the ones we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Tanzania. That being said, you are still in Africa and the standards are much lower than in the US or Europe. Nice pool, no beach at high tide. Swimming was a problem with rays that can sting you, so bring rubber shoes to wear in the water. Nice beach to walk on at low tide, but a little uncomfortable for westerners in bathing suits, always have a cover up. Long car ride from the airport, terrible roads at the end. Dinner food tried to be crative and special, most of the dishes did not work. Overall it was nice to relax after 2 1/2 weeks on safari but if we did it again I think we would skip Zanzibar.

  • Liked — We had hot water most of the time
  • Disliked — Food not good
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
619 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Property: Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing