We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Good place if you are looking for a super calm place. Nobody around, totally isolated from the world, and small cozy atmosphere.
Staff were attentive and tried not to get in your way, which is a plus if you are just there for the peace and quiet.
Very romantic spot, definitely, with a virtually unspoiled beach, and close enough to the diving hotspot of Memba but without paying the huge prices.
Swimming pool could certainly be bigger, but it would steal part of the charm. Plenty of ocean to swim in!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

I don't write reviews generally but The Ras nungwi beach hotel was fantastic and I would most definitely recommend it to anybody who would like to see the paradisiac side of Zanzibar. My wife and I spent a lot of time agonising over where to stay for our honeymoon, but we decided to head to The Ras nungwi beach hotel in Nungwi for a bit more luxury and bustle. This worked out for us perfectly.
It’s most definitely the best hotel along the whole of Nungwi by a long shot. It’s also much busier then Bwejuu and we welcomed seeing other young couples and holiday makers. it seems to hold everybody happily and we wondered around on our own most of the time. The pool is beautiful, I found the layout really relaxing, because it’s tucked high up from the beach it’s surprisingly private and if you want there are equally comfy loungers down on the beach. We never struggled to get a lounger and cocktail hour was a welcome treat. They also have big fluffy towels on hand. The ocean view restaurant was fabulous (my favourite place for an evening tipple!), it served the best food and the views were always stunning day or night. Breakfast was great, you can have fresh fruit, proper coffee (!), cooked omelettes, pretty much anything you need and the staff and managers were always extremely smiley, polite and helpful. This management (Liza, Rath, Ben & Angelika) is an ideal in hospitality and service! Thank you all!
Once again I would like to point out the extraordinary food. The daily changing menus surprised us everyday. The quality and presentation of the food was outstanding, especially the fresh fish everyday! This food and the perfect high class service made our stay a culinary highlight.
And the waiters do not exaggerate when they welcome you with a “welcome to paradise”!
The room wasn’t huge but it was very clean and had a lovely veranda looking out to sea. There was free wireless internet , an ipod docking station in the room.
I’ve read some reviews on here that say the surroundings are a little shabby but I’ve been travelling all over the world and I prefer not to stay in a ‘bubble resort’ where you don’t get a sense of what the place is really like.
Convince yourselves and spend a unique time there!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmopolitan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Idyllic location with golden sands and blue seas. Staff very attentive and keen to serve. Food of high quality and good choice unless you don't like spicy food and then slighly limited. On the whole drinks were reasonably priced and a good choice.
Swimming pool a little small but when you have the beach as well this is not a problem.
We went on two trips - snorkelling which was a great exeperience and Stone Town / Spice Tour - also well worth doing. However, both rather over-priced in my view.
Don't let the "Daylight robbery" comment below put you off - not sure what planet they're on!
Should look to add a gym!
Thanks to Rath, Lisa and all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WWBigC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Ras Nungwi Hotel, following a fantastic trek up Mt. Meru and Kilimanjaro. We were initially greeted by the staff with "Welcome to Paradise"......they were spot on!
Our chalet (no.4) was a 15 second walk to the beach.....and beach bar. A fabulous location, peaceful surroundings, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, delicious food....pure indulgence.......nothing was too much trouble.
A perfect end to a fabulous holiday in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeruKili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

A wonderful place to relax after a safari. We spent 3 nights here after our visit to Ngongoro Crater. Yes, it is a little out of the way, but it is much nicer than Stonetown. The scuba diving was wonderful, the meals were well prepared, and the staff was very helpful with a friendly attitude. I would definitely stay here again. The management (Rath and Lisa) were very concerned and helpful when Precision Air had lost our luggage.
In conclusion: 1) Please do stay at Ras Nungwi, you won't regret it. 2) Do not fly with Precision Air while in Tanzania. They will lie to you and will not call you back.

Have a nice stay

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giterdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We wanted to treat ourselves in Nungwi and went for the much hyped Ras Nungwi hotel. Food is above average on the Island. There's free wi-fi. But overall, the place is not good value for money. Basic double rooms cost 360$ per night and what you get in return is simply not right. Rooms are the highlight of the place and the staff, both western managment and local are very cold. The hotel's beach is odd. It is set at one of the prettiest bays in Zanzibar but the beach is extremely narrow and not very user friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNGMZanzibar, Owner at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2010

We at Ras Nungwi, as a rule, take all criticism in the spirit in which it is meant, and on the whole we welcome our guests comments - it helps us fine-tune the hotel and iron out problems that may have arisen. In this instance though we feel that this guest's title heading is completely undeserved. While he complains about value for money, we see nothing in the body of his review that justifies the use of the term 'Daylight Robbery'.

Zanzibar is an island situated off the coast of Africa. Supplies are at best inconsistent and priced higher as a result. Ras Nungwi operates to a very high standard and we go out of our way to source food, materials and equipment from far and wide to ensure that our guests experience seamless service without excuses - this does come at a price however and is therefore reflected in our rates. Furthermore, we offer a very wide range of high quality facilities, more so than one would expect for a small of our (relatively small) size.

As to our staff, we are widely known for our friendly management and staff which can be seen from other reviews in this very same website. The beach referred to has remained unchanged since Ras Nungwi's inception more than 10 years ago and is deservedly highly regarded as one of the best on the island. Our guests have and have always had more than sufficient space to enjoy themselves. We in fact also have an upper beach that is protected from the tides so that even at high tide there is plenty of space to enjoy Zanzibar's sun.

We respect the fact that everyone has their own opinion and this is perfectly acceptable but when this opinion is aired publicly and is, in our opinion unfair - we feel compelled to respond and provide readers with sufficient facts that they may form their own opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed for a few nights. We were in one of the deluxe rooms, which allegedly had a sea view (stretching the truth a little). The staff were very kind and made us feel welcome. The hotel itself is designed well and looks attractive. The beach makes it though - beautiful patch with lovely clear sea. If you like lying out, the sunbeds are unusually comfortable.
On the downside (only minor moans), I am a vegetarian and I didn't feel there was much accomodation for that. Also the wine wasn't the greatest. The room although comfortable, didn't seem that much for the money, although Zanzibar is expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNGMZanzibar, General Manager at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2010

Thank you for your review of Ras Nungwi, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Since January 2009 when you stayed, we have reclassified our superior deluxe chalet rooms. They are now, without exception, sea-front rooms, just a few metres from the beach, with fantastic views of the sea.

Similarly, our wine list (sample available on our website) and vegetarian choices have been significantly improved.

We take guest feedback seriously and are continually fine-tuning Ras Nungwi to provide the best holiday experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $220 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is currently closed following a major fire that began in a neighboring hotel. We plan to rebuild and once we have an opening date scheduled, we will be taking bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing