We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax after your safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very comfortable welcoming hotel, with attentive management and staff. The staff are out to look after guests and all sorts of suggestions and offers - nothing is to much bother. The food in the set menus was excellent and had a good variety - food off the a la carte was also excellent, but very, very slow. We had a great cabin near the beach - wonderful view out onto the sea and the reef. The beach is narrow and disappears at high tide, swimming is over rocks though they do supply dive boots, so if you are really after a beach holiday this is probably not the place. It is quite isolated, about an hour from the airport and Stone Town and if you are interested in beach shack restaurants for which Zanzibar has a reputation, that is difficult. But you will have a great time going there and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is one of the best hotel me and my family ever visit. A very good location with a wonderful view over the beach. Absolutely best is the friendly and service-minded staff. Special thank´s to Roger Ali the leader of the staff in the restaurant area. He really took good care of us and other guest, Always with a smile. If we ask for something outside the menu he and the other in the staff fix that if the could without complaining! I can strictly recommend this hotel for honeymooners and familys.

Room Tip: En kostnadsfråga. Dyrare ju närmare havet man vill bo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I highly recommend this place if you want to kick back relax and enjoy the sea, the pool and do some diving, David is great. The best cabin for two is #19 or the one next to it. Right at the sea and a stair case down to the beach. Its only draw back is that it is about 45 minutes away from Stone Town or most other activities. Although the dive center does offer snorkeling trips. It is fun to just walk , at low tide on the beach to the village,looking at thousands of tide pools or just swim in the sea at mid tide. The room was great with a bowl of fresh fruit and big bottle of free water every day. Refrig loaded with drinks at the same price as the bar. Air conditioning, great towels etc.
There is wifi, pool table, ping pong and if you can go to sleep to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach no tv in room needed.
We took one tour Blue Sky snorkleing and it was very expensive becasue the hotel seems to hire drivers which charge a lot to get you to the place about an hour away. So my suggestion would be to stay at Ras Runguwi to relax and do things locally like take the Village Tour which was very interesting and only $25.00 per person.
Dinner was always delicious, pri fix included a choice of fish, vegetarian pasta and one other choice.Plus soup, appetizer and desert. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet. all quite delicious.
My suggestion would be to plan your tours, except the village tour from Stone Town and just relax and enjoy Ras Nunguwi as long as you can. Also, the hotel charges $80.00 for taxi service, if you get one at the airport is only $60.00 . Our taxi driver also picked us up to take us to Stone Town an on the way we stopped at a Spice Tour (the farm was the Swahilli word for ginger and the tour was great) cost $10.00 per day .

The hotel has free bikes but dirt roads all around. I would definitely go back anytime I was in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room. We had #19 it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rassors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from Ras Nungwi after staying there for four nights at the end of our honeymoon. We were due some relaxation after 6 days safari in Ruaha and Selous and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a superior chalet with massive bed, great shower, mini bar, i-pod dock and hairdryer. The staff were all fantastic- friendly, polite, and very attentive! We enjoyed a trip snorkelling at mnemba which was very enjoyable and definitely worth the trip. We also had a massage from Mary in the spa and she did a great job, very relaxing! The food was excellent, compliments to the chef! All in all, a perfect place to stay, we will certainly be recommending this place to our friends and we hope to return ourselves one day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

the staff at this place are fabulous, its a long time since I came across such nice, pleasant, customer focused people. they made my stay a joy. The basic rooms are OK but there are no frills. Admittedly I went at the beginning of the season but it was very quiet, the place lacked any lively atmosphere - especially in the evenings and as its a fair distance away from Nungwi I felt it was lacking, the bar played music but no TV (you have to go to a separate lounge for that). I think its a place much more suited to honeymooning couples than anyone else. If you are going at this time of year (June) for diving, think again as the weather was not great, a dive to Mnemba was postponed but eventually well worth the wait. David at the dive shop is great, friendly and very professional.

Room Tip: garden lodge rooms are basic but comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spartacus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 3 nights here - and have decided I could live there! We had a magnificent bungalow room on the waterfront - a few stairs down to the beach - the view was divine. Huge bed with mosquito netting, great shower pumping out glorious hot water, tea and coffee making, full fridge. Lovely comfy sun lounges with oodles of towels and pillows, hammocks all positioned with the most glorious views of the water. Constant service while out sunning - fresh fruit platters being passed around. A little lunch cafe and bar which served the tastiest of food - and attended by the delightful Juma. Dinners were 3 courses of excellent food - always plentiful and delicious.

We walked to the village - quite a hike -3 to 4 klms - we wanted to see the other resorts - and this one was by far the best positioned away from all the others in peaceful tranquility. We did have sundowners a couple of times at the resort with the large jetty jutting into the sea - a must do - we were the only ones enjoying this wonderful facility!

All the staff are charming and wanting to please. Breakfast was a delight as much varied food as anyone could want. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had room no.1 - excellent No 2 is marginally better but has a bed so big you lose your partner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After a busy week of safaris we finished up at Ras Nungwi to relax at the end of our vacation. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Indian Ocean with the wonderful sound of waves crashing to shore nearby. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, in particular the staff at the pool and David at the dive shop. The meals were some of the best we have had in some time: kudos to the chef Samir! All in all a very memorable and relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $220 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is currently closed following a major fire that began in a neighboring hotel. We plan to rebuild and once we have an opening date scheduled, we will be taking bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing