We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were amazed during our whole stay! The staff is so friendly and accommodating and the grounds have everything you could need. We loved the fresh water pool overlooking the ocean, having drinks at the beach bar and lounging in the hammocks. There is also a water sports facility there where we were able to book a boat ride for snorkeling and diving. They also welcomed us with champagne and set-up an private dinner for us our last night. I would highly recommend staying here, our expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 620 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel for a few days after a great safari in Kenya and Tanzania. We had heard that a few days on the beach is just the thing, after the dusty, bumpy roads of a safari. We did a lot of research to find the best place to stay on Zanzibar, and decided on Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel - and we are SO glad we did! What a fabulous experience - right from the start, we received a warm, welcoming check-in, including fruity welcome drinks and a personal escort to our oceanfront room by the Front Office Manager (Marlize, I think her name was?) And things just got better as our stay progressed, as we enjoyed the pool, beach and beach bar, excellent dining, and unbelievably gorgeous surroundings. Everything was spotless - our room, the restaurants and public areas, the pool and beach, the beautifully landscaped grounds - and every member of the staff was unfailingly courteous and hospitable. There is such attention to detail - fresh flowers are everywhere, and we even had a "goodbye" message written out in flowers on the bed on the day we left (we had a late flight on our departure day, so we had taken an extra half-day - well worth the price (50% of the rate), as it allowed us to enjoy the resort all day until we had to leave for our flight at 6pm). Most of the property is blissfully quiet, allowing the sounds of the ocean and the cooling breezes to take center stage - the only exception is the bar in the main hotel, which has well-chosen background music playing softly, which adds to the low-key, classy ambience. A truly wonderful, relaxing end to our fabulous Africa vacation!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe seaview chalet rooms - right on the ocean, beautiful views, and definitely worth i...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I came to Ras as a day visitor - wonderful !! a caring and lovely place with excellent interesting food .... adventurous food ..yes but quiet exciting .... thanks to the Chef ....on the downside ....for me a bit expensive for a local visit with my Family ..so not quiet locally orientated ,,,,but i do not care it was worth the money ! well kept and good caring waiters .....well done and i be back for this place ....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ingmarstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a private ocean suite after our safari. If you are looking for a "resort" feel, with little contact with local people, you may find this resort more enjoyable. The hotel grounds were well-kept, but felt synthetic. The ocean suite accommodations themselves may look impressive from the outside, but were very simple overall on the inside. We had some issues with housekeeping (with regard to thoroughness), which were addressed. Essentially, you pay a premium for the location on the beach. We were told by our travel agent we were there on full board, but on the last day we were told there was a "miscommunication" and we "exceeded our food allowance." Due to a language barrier I'm still not quite sure what happened, or what "allowance" we exceeded (since we were only eating our typical three meals per day, and not ordering extravagantly), but we did not feel we left on a good note because of this. The food was less than impressive. If you are a foodie, or have at least been exposed to good food, you will be very disappointed with the restaurant. If you are looking for better, authentic food, it is worth the trip to Zanzibar. The prices of the excursions are excessive. We went to the village so we could escape on several occasions, but there was not much to see. Though I can see how some people may think this resort is impressive, this is not the type of place I would recommend if you are seeking a satisfying, cultural experience during your travels. I wish we had stayed in Zanzibar instead, and I wish our travel agent had understood our tastes better. I've stayed at much more impressive resorts for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAF1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything is just perfect ! We stayed 3 nights in a wonderful bungalow in front of the sea.
The room was large and very clean ! The staff is very attentive. The food is excellent ! Quality everywhere ! A real 5 stars hotel. We'll come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The bungalows in front of the sea are amazing !
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYLVIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a two week trip through Imagine Africa who arranged all our safaris and accommodation extremely well and efficiently

Rooms were large and we had two double beds together as one ! Bathroom was small and a bit plain. Actual hotel grounds were beuatiful with hammocks and a beach area. Staff were extremely attentive and food choice in the restaurant was good and quality of food was good. There is a diving school.

The downside of the hotel is that you are an hours drive from any attractions and that means costs of excursions are high.

However, we did do the $25 trip to the local village accompanied by the Restaurant manager, Roger, who was excellent. Throughly enjoyed visiting the village, watching Dhow making and the Turtle sanctuary.

Hotel is blisfully quiet and has a very clean infinity pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a garden or sea view so check when booking.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days, and it was honestly too short. Lovely staff, lovely facilities, and a gorgeous beach. It's a few bumpy minutes from the main road, but that's the price you get for a quiet, and gorgeous beach front facility.

I honestly don't have a single complaint, except for maybe no WiFi in the rooms. But for the price, and for what you get, it's a negligible issue.

The rooms and air-conditioned, clean, and big. The bathrooms and quite nice, and there is mosquito netting (not that it was needed). There is tons of privacy.

I'd like to also mention that the massage therapist at the spa may be one of the best experiences I've had. I've had tons of massages, and she was definitely one of the best. And by far the best I had when I was visiting Africa. Highly recommend it.

Another thing, the owner (or GM?), Shaun(spelling?)--what an absolute legend. He really helped set us up with a few tours and things to do before we left Zanzibar. He also told us to go to Mari Mari in Zanzibar for dinner (sunset) and this was probably our favourite meal the entire time there. Gorgeous sunset on the very top of a historic building.

Pretty good food in the restaurant (the breakfasts were outstanding), and the in-house tour operation was good too. The snorkeling adventure at the Atoll was not as good as we hoped, but this had nothing to do with the hotel itself. Lots of games to play (ping-pong, pool table, darts, board games). There is a computer downstairs with internet access that is slow, but still very usable.

Best place we stayed at throughout our whole trip in Africa (1 month). Cheers to Ras Nungwi.

Anyhow 5-stars all the way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wajidhoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#11 of 17 in Nungwi
334 reviews
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $220 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is currently closed following a major fire that began in a neighboring hotel. We plan to rebuild and once we have an opening date scheduled, we will be taking bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing