We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$322
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$113
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$667
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveler rating
434
127
23
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
127
23
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone towndive centreindian oceanbaolocal villageamazing locationseafoodsea urchinsthe managersthe general manageroverlooking the oceansun loungersevery mealsunset cruisemosquito netchaletdiving
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 620 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Ras for a week with a friend and did not want to leave! the bungalows, the set up, the view from the pool, the authentic nature of the place and the slice of beach were perfect! I also have to put in a special mention for the chef who cooked the most amazing dinners with local ingredients, and for catering for my friend's vegan needs no problem. The breakfast buffet was particularly good - everything you could wish for for breakfast was provided and more. I also have to mention the staff - from the reception staff, the gardeners to the managers - they were always on hand if you needed them and always 110% welcoming and friendly, and this really made my stay an experience that I will never forget. I would 150% recommend Ras Nungwi to anyone who wants to visit Zanzibar

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhairi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned to our home from 10 lovely days at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel.Earlier we have been staying at other hotels in different places in Zanzibar, But there is no doubt that we consider this hotel to be the best. Especially if you look for a place to spend some time in quiet, peaceful, safe, clean surroundings close to the beach.
-Also picture the sight: The white colour of the beach, the tourquise and blue shades of the sea towards the horizon where you might see different shapes of white or grey clouds far out over the Indian Ocean and some dhows sailing in all winds like they have been doing for ages.
The hotel is very well organised and the staff maked us feel welcomed as if we were their special guests. The service from all the staff is excellent. We could also feel the friendly and positive atmosphere among the staff members themselves, We experienced the genuine Tanzanian hospitality during our stay.
The food at the restaurant is varied and very good..We loved the fish dishes from the varied menues in particular-! The fresh fruits offered several times during the day was very refreshing.
Twice a week two musicians from Stonetown entertained at dinner time with nice soft music, Other evenings the natural 'music' and the rythm of the ocean was always there to listen to.
We highly recommend a stay at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel and would love to take our friends there with us some time.
Hope,Norway, Nov.24.2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent 6 nights at this place and had a really amazing time! I stayed in one of their bungalows, and the room was really beautiful, spacious, and loved the bed. They even come at night to get the bed ready and put the net down for you...

The pool is amazing, they have a ton of space to sit, work on your laptop, read, sleep, and the beach is spectacular! You don't get a sunset here (it's on the other side of the island), but the sunrise is just beautiful. I walked around on the beach to neighboring hotels, and Ras Nungwi has the best beach in the area by far.

The food was also amazing. They have really fresh food, and if you like sea food I suggest getting the catch of the day for lunch (they have different type of fish every day!). Dinner is a four course menu, and the chef was accommodating to making changes to some of the dishes. The best part is that the staff does a 1 minute dance with drums at the beginning of each meal to remind you to come eat. How much better can it get?

Something else that really stands out about this hotel is the staff. They are extremely friendly, humble, and very welcoming. Really kind people, and this made my trip very smooth.

Room Tip: Get the bungalows closer to the water, but everything is a minute walking distance. bungalows are quite spread out noise is never an issue...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just spent a week at this lovely resort and would absolutely recommend it. The resort is so lovely that we would leave our room in the morning and not return til it was time to get ready for dinner so I would recommend the garden rooms rather than spending extra money on the beach rooms.

There is a lovely breakfast buffet and after that we would wander past the pool to go to the loungers under the trees overlooking the incredible blue ocean. The staff would bring towels and pillows down to set up us for the day. Through out the day staff would wander by with trays of fruit, fresh baked cookies and spritzer bottles of water if you were feeling hot and needed to cool down! Totally spoiled us. There was a lovely little lunch bar overlooking the water where we enjoyed lunch and snacks during the day. The water was incredibly warm and the shore fascinating with hermit crabs, shells and coral. One reason I chose this place was it was reported by my fellow tripadvisors that you wouldn't be hassled on the beach and they were right. We were hassled a lot in Stonetown so we were very happy to be left alone. There was unobtrusive security and I am sure if there was a problem it would be looked after.

There was a huge lounge area filled with sofas where the excellent wifi was available for free. Some nights there were musicians who were very good. The staff would play on three drums and clap and dance for several minutes to announce that it was meal time. The staff was always friendly and helpful. My new friend the restaurant manager was thrilled to surprise us with a dinner under the stars down on the beach where we were also serenaded by the musicians, the restaurant manager and our lovely waitress Grace. The food was excellent, and I was surprised by how good the sushi was.

We enjoyed kayaking and the sunset dhow snorkel cruise. The snorkeling was a little cloudy but the sailing with Capt Snake was lovely.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and look forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: As you will be at the beach or pool all day, save your money and get a garden room rather than a beach room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Look, the beach here is fantastic and if you must choose Nungwi, this hotel is definitely on the good side of the peninsula.

The hotel is situated on the east side of the peninsula which after visiting the other side on a day trip- is definitely the cleaner and more relaxed side. There are few hotels on this side in comparison with the over development of Nungwi village.

We were greeted very nicely with some juice and a towel and received a nice tour from the South African manager (all the high level staff are South African). We stayed in room 17 which was a shared bungalow at the top of the property but still in a decent location (this was 'the garden view).

This hotel was a bit too pretentious for us: lots of staff trying to sell you drinks and food, lots of expensive and overpriced activities to choose from and a disappointing (mosquito infested) breakfast. It just didn't feel authentic to us though the place itself is very nice. It's just too detached from the surrounding and island feel. I would also advise to book your own transportation as what the hotel offered was more than double what we were offered by drivers we met in Matemwe and Stone Town (keep their phone numbers with you)

The beach itself is lovely and there's a great lounging area with hammocks and comfortable beds. The pool seemed nice though we didn't use it b/c the beach is swimmable. We did have some gecko droppings and ants in the room but it wasn't all too bad considering the tropical surrounding.

The bed is very comfortable and you have an efficient air conditioner and ceiling fan. Internet was very good though available only in the main area.

Now for dinner: if you are not full board, you will have to pay. Because of its location, you cannot really venture to the other side of the peninsula where all the restaurants are so your options are limited at night. Dinners range from 25-35$ pp and on nights where they offer the seafood buffet, 45$ pp.

We chose to have a nice big lunch (choose the chicken japati!) and on another night to eat at the nearby eco lodge.

Room Tip: Their beach view bungalows are well located (though can get noisy)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews