We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having just spent a week in Ras Nungwi I can truly recommend this beautiful collection of thatched villas nestling on the hillside running down to the see. The villas are semi-detached both set back in the gardens or with a sea view. The whole resort was quiet and gentle. We stayed in a sea view villa, number 19, and could not have been any closer to the sea (about 10 metres!). With the curtains open I could awake in the morning to see either the waves crashing in or the tide far out in the distance. There were several nights that the waves woke us up!
The bed is about 8ft wide!There is a natural reef surrounding the beach and although there is quite a swell on the sea at this time of year, it is safe to swim and good fun. The beach completely disappears at high tide but there is a man-made beach with hammocks and loungers plus of course the lovely pool. For peace and relaxation I think you would be hard pushed to find somewhere nicer. The resort was probably only 1/4 occupied which made it very quiet, perfect after our Safari. The food was excellent as was the service. There are quite a few steps throughout the resort and wooden steps lead down to the beach.
A guard is on the beach to prevent the touts and hassle that you can often get on the beaches and this was very welcome.
It is about a one hour taxi drive from the airport but interesting to see some of the island during the drive. Tours can be booked from the hotel although they are expensive and if you were staying in Stone Town for a final night as we did you could book the Spice Tour from there as closer and cheaper. The aquarium is only about a 15 minute walk along the beach from Ras Nungwi and easy to find. Cheap to get in and a lovely opportunity to swim with the turtles - be aware that you may be asked if you want to buy drugs! We did book the snorkelling trip to the reef off Mwenbe island but it was very disappointing. The coral is dead and there is not a lot of fish around. I gather the diving is better although I didn`t do this.
Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Number 18 or 19 are closest to the sea. You won`t get anyone walking past either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 620 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

September was the dry season but still humid. Thank goodness, they have air conditioner in the room. We had a little difficulty the first night but the facility quickly resolved the AC issue for us so we could sleep the second night. My husband went diving. It was nice to have the Dive Center inside the facility, which make scheduling easier. Since they when to a reserved area, he had a great time seeing abundance of fish flourishing in an area. He just have one complaint and was they don't have snorkels for the divers. He felt bad for the snorkelers because they had some rough sea that made snorkeling a bit of challenge. I just lounged around the resort enjoying the quietness. Staff was very eager to help us with anything we wanted. They even taught us the Boa board game, which was fascinating. It brings out the competitive nature from everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seekers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed three nights after spending six nights on Safari. When we were approaching the hotel, I was a little concerned since the road was unpaved with lots of bumps and there was a foreboding fence. Once we got through the gate however, it was paradise. Everywhere you go, you can feel the breeze off of the turquoise Indian Ocean. If spending all day in a hammock is not your thing, the dive shop offered snorkel and scuba adventures. You could also sign up for excursions all around the island. My one complaint though is the meals. Meals are served during very specific hours. The bar serves snacks until 6pm, but dinner doesn't begin until 8. Other than that, the beds were amazingly comfortable. The food was exceptional and you really couldn't beat the location if you are looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was so nice it has compelled me to actually write a review! We spent 4 nights here and it was absoute paradise.... exactly what you would expect in Zanzibar.... everything was perfect. Our room (14) even though technically a garden room had a view of the ocean.... you could swim at certain times during day but they have a fabulous pool also. The staff were so kind and attentive. The meals in the evening, although not a huge choice, were very tasty. They think of everything here.... they have a spa, games room and dive centre on site.... but you still feel like you are in an intimate setting.... I dont know who the brains is behind this place but well done! I can honestly not recommend this place enough. We are already planning our next trip there!!!!

Room Tip: We selected a garden room as it was cheaper than sea view however, maybe it was just luck, but we go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ras Nungwi was the last stop of our honeymoon and what a way to end our trip! We stayed in the private Ocean Suite, equipped with our own pool, beach, living room, outdoors lounge area overlooking the ocean, kitchen and more. With an attentive staff we never needed to leave!

The restaurant manager (i am so sorry that his name escapes me right now) and Roger, the head waiter, arranged for us to have private meals at our suite (per their recommendation!) and we were able to just lounge at as if we were right at home. They arranged two private romantic dinners for us right on the beach for us as well, lit by candles. It was amazing. One of the dinners, Amos was our waiter and he was so amazing-- so sincere, so polite, so attentive, so friendly. You could tell what a kind person he is and how much he loved his job. Him and Roger really made our stay at Ras Nungwi. They were two of the warmest people we've ever met.

The food at the hotel is really great and the drinks are somewhat reasonably priced.

The service is great for the most part as well. We really liked Angelika and Sean (Manager and Assistant Manager) and found them to be extremely accommodating, friendly and professional.

We didn't really love the front desk staff though. One staffer-- Michael-- was just dreadful. We learned that he (thankfully) was on his way out when we were leaving so hopefully it won't be an issue in the future. We just felt the people at the front desk didn't speak English too well and weren't very knowledgeable about other parts of the island, which was a bit frustrating but nothing too severe.


The beach here is great. You should know though: Zanzibar has seaweed farming. So if you expect a completely clean swimming beach, you might want to look elsewhere. We did quite a bit of research about which part of the island to stay in and Nungwi and Kembra were the best (but Kendwa is way more touristy). Once the tide is high, swimming wasn't an issue, and when it was low we could walk out for what felt like an eternity. The water is so blue and clear it hurt our eyes! Truly the most beautiful ocean we've ever seen (we just wish it was warm! (wasn't summer when we went)).

If you have time, we recommend doing the Seafari trip with the hotel. They have an in-house snorkeling and diving company and we spent a great day visiting Mnemba Island for amazing snorkeling and then had a great lunch at a local private beach. It was really nice to change things up.

We also recommend doing a walking tour of Stone Town. We really like history and culture and found that 4 hours on a private guided tour was plenty. We visited all the historic sights and museums, as well as the open market as well. I wouldn't wing this on your own as you can get lost easily. We booked through Island Express, which was the company that took us to/from the airport. They were great and very reasonable-- $69 per person rather than the $115 the hotel charged for the same tour. Give them a look.


All in all, we are really pleased with our stay at Ras Nungwi and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is great for couples but families as well-- they have a fun game room, great water activities center, etc.


Thanks so much for a great end to our amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: Ocean Suite is amazing if you want privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place was like a little paradise the view from the beach was stunning the, rooms were so clean and each day fresh flowers would be put on the bed in a beautiful arrangement. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the manager and given a tour around, nothing was too much trouble. In our room the staff bought us a gift of local spices and had a bottle of champagne for us .

The staff and service was amazing fruit and drinks were bought to you on the beach it was pure luxury.
We had no end of fun relaxing, going diving and going on the sunset cruise on the dhow. We
had fun learning the game bau(an African game not sure of the spelling) and the staff had no
end of patience helping us learn this game which we really enjoyed playing of an evening whilst drinking a cocktail.

Our honeymoon was made extra special a surprise romantic meal on the beach was arranged for us which was unbelievably special. Our table was arranged with candles and lanterns on the beach and we had our own private dinner and our own waiter looking after us. Our trip was organised my imagine Africa and we believe the guy matt gammon who organised the trip for us deserves a special mention as he was involved in tailoring our trip to our requirements and he made sure it had all we could have wished for and made sure it was magical!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had an absolutely amazing stay at the Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel, as part of a longer honeymoon in Kenya and Tanzania.

Beyond having all of the basics in place: great food, attentive and detail focused staff, on the ground spa and dive center and a brilliant location, the hotel kept on overdelivering on just about everything during our stay. This is exemplified by the below:
- Ad-hoc complimentary beach dinners
- Chilled sparkling wine in our room to great us upon our arrival (as well as gift set of local spices)
- A beautiful table book about Zanzibar as we were about to depart... and the list goes on.

We absolutely loved staying at Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel and strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: The Ocean Suite is amazing. You get your own plunge pool, your own piece of elevated beach, a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLEgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $220 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is currently closed following a major fire that began in a neighboring hotel. We plan to rebuild and once we have an opening date scheduled, we will be taking bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing