We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but very mediocre food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but very mediocre food and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent three nights at Hideaway Nungwi resort this April. The hotel is relatively new, so I am hoping that it will work towards improving its quality of food and service. When we checked in, we were not given the interconnecting luxury suites that we had specifically asked for. Next morning, the manager apologized and in good faith agreed to upgrade us to the "Presidential suite" in the exclusive privileged area. Unfortunately, in spite of the good intentions, the service did not match up to it. The upgrade finally happened for one night and we did not get our room until 11 am on the last day and the luggage arrived after 3 hours! However, once we were settled in with our luggage, our last evening was well spent at our own private pool and jacuzzi along with beautiful appointed rooms.

The food at this resort was extremely mediocre….buffets were okay, in fact breakfast was quite nice with a pretty good spread. We tried the Asian (I think Japanese!) A la Carte restaurants which was absolutely terrible. The sushi was the worst sushi we had in our lifetime, even the sushi we get from a local grocery store is better than what we got at this 5 star hotel. The other problem was flies - swarms of them, specially in the dining areas, not sure if anything can be done about this but it did leave a rather bad feeling about the food.

The positives - beautiful ocean, swimming pool and nice rooms. However, would not recommend this resort unless there is some serious improvement in food and service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Nilas5, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. During the Easter weekend we were fully booked and unfortunately we did not receive your request regarding the interconnecting rooms from your travel agent, so we couldn't allocate one of those rooms to you from the beginning of your stay, but when we were able to, we upgraded you to our Presidential Villa. I am really sorry to read that you had to wait such a long time for your luggage, it is certainly not our standard, I did mention this to our Front Office Team and I am sure that it will not happen again. Regarding your experience at our Ishi Restaurant: this is very difficult to estimate what would guests like. If you read other comments, other guests loved our food, the quality and quantity as well, however, as we would like to provide an exceptional experience to our valued guests, the Food & Beverages Team take all of the commenst very seriously in order to meet guests' expectations. Thank you for the kind words regarding our beautiful rooms, pool and the beach. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    249
    84
    41
    23
See reviews for
302
658
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we stayed here on our honeymoon and this was a few months ago so i do hope things have since changed at the hote. The hotel is new and in lovely grounds, the rooms are nice and the beach is stunning. The service however is dreadful, the staff are friendly but have no idea what they are doing. The food was poor quality, odd selection and the chefs had no training to cook western food properly. They had one CD playing for breakfast, lunch and dinner...Adele..i now hate Adele as a result, imagine listening to her for an hour a day three times a day for 10 days!! I do hope this hotel gets it act together as it could be a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whagwarning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear whagwarning, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned, it was back in October last year when you stayed with us and since then we did improve a lot, please read some of the reviews. We would love to have the chance to show you our true hospitality, please let us know when you wish to come back. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We have spent three days on this resort, situated at the beach of Nungwi. Location is 5-star, service is 4-star, grounds in good condition, 4-star. Food is 4-star, wine included in all inclusive-package 3-star. Free coctails, quite low alcohol but on requst they will gladly spice 'em up for you.

Music is always played at pool-area. We found it quite annoying, listening to waves and wind would have been perfectly enough eather than listening to the cell phone calling signal music offered now. In the evening a slightly off-pitch live band stressed our ears and minds.

Alltogether a nice 4 star effort, with kind an very service minded staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lubinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Lubinus, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are very happy to know that overall you had a nice stay. We do appreciate your suggestions. We would like to host you again in the future and have the possibility to swap ideas regarding the resort. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We vacationed in this resort in late April 2014 as a family of three. We are seasoned travelers and can truly recommend this resort as one of the " best" we have stayed at. The rooms are spacious and very modern. The sea views are to die for! The hotel provides entertainment in the evenings which was phenomenal! My Son got ill and was attended to by the Resident doctor and the staff were helpful in a remarkable way. The hotel has tennis courts, a private artificial turf soccer field, superb spa and gym! We found it served all our needs as a family.
The hotel is still new and one sensed a real determination to provide " world class" service. We really enjoyed our stay. Jambo!

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views. Can choose the VIP villas for a more 'exclusive' experience, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear JoziTMan, Jambo, jambo! Thank you for taking the time to share this beautiful review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, even though your son got ill. We all try our very best to provide exceptional service to our valued guests. Once again thank you for your kind words and the recommendation, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hideaway, a Leading Hotel of the World, is a gem on the north west coast of Zanzibar. The grounds of the resort are beatifully laid out with flowers and foliage and was always in pristine condition. The beach is the best on that strip, offering an ideal opportunity for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. We enjoyed the complimentary catamaran rides with the friendly and professional skippers Juma and Suleiman. There are plenty of beach loungers close to the shore of the beach, which are efficiently serviced by the beach staff. The beach bar is well run by Ali, who spoilt us with fancy cocktails. Aqua restaurant offers a wide variety of food to tantalise and satisfy all tastebuds. Keep space for the array of the mouth-watering desserts. Our meals at the a la carte restaurants, Ishi Teppanyaki and Carnivorous and More were most delightful. We were spoilt with prawns, lobster, crab, ostrich, wildebeest and prime rib prepared in various ways. The quality of food was superb at very meal. Special thanks for the delicious meals prepared by Chefs Sanjeewa, Suleiman and Babu. Breakfast, however, does require some attention in respect of variety. The staff at the restaurants were all friendly, professional and went all out to please us and attended to all our special requests. The restaurant manager, Shaban, and his awesome team, Lucas, Jestina, Maimuna, Leah, Elizabeth, Khadija, Rashid, Esteria, Captain Hussein and Jesca provided excellent service during our stay. The assistant F&B manager at the restaurants, Miguel is always full of energy , and always ensuring a high level of service. There was entertainment every evening managed by the extremely friendly and knowledgable Erasto, assisted by ever williing and equally friendly Guiseppe. The gala evening under the stars was a blast and thorougly enjoyed by all the guests. The entertainment was top notch. Service at the living area and pool was always prompt and efficient thanks to the energetic F&B manager, Jeremiah and his team - in particular the barman Julius. We booked the superior luxury suite, and later upgraded to the jacuzzi suite. Both rooms were very luxurious. The jacuzzi suite was spectacular and extremely spacious with 90 m2 at your disposal. This suite comes with 2 bathrooms with the main bathroom almost the same size as the junior suite. Housekeeping was excellent. These two room types are in the exclusive privileged areas, and came with butler service and room service. Our butlers Menlad and Aloinsia took care of our every whim and fancy making our stay extra special. Menlad and Aloinsia were professional, courteous and friendly and spoilt us at every opportunity. Hamadi, the head of the butlers and Ramadaan were also efficient and friendly. Cappuccino and Ali were ever willing bell boys, happy to transport us around the resort. Our experience at the Spa was a pleasant one. Guests can use the steam room, pool and jacuzzi at the Spa, even without booking a treatment. There is also a gym with a stunning sea view. Sharon, the bubbly sales co-ordinator enthusiastically showed us the higher categories of rooms. The Presidential Villa is breathtaking, with stunning furniture and decor, and should certainly be a choice for a large group of friends or family. We appreciate the effort that Sharon put into ensuring that we received the benefits associated with LHW Leaders Club membership. The warmth, friendliness and enthusiasm displayed by Sharon is what all guests should be exposed to when they arrive at reception. The general manager, Gianni Mannai was visible all over the resort at all times of the day and night, interacting with guests and ensuring that service at all levels was of the highest quality. This type of dedication from the GM will ensure that service levels will be of the highest standards. We had the most awesome, fabulous, spectacular and restful holiday at this wonderful resort, and are counting the days till our next visit.

PS. We walked along the beach and viewed some of the neighbouring hotels. Hideway was by far the most superior in terms of location, aesthetics and layout of the resort. The view from the ocean on our catamaran trips also confirmed this.

Room Tip: Book a room in the privileged area, which comes with butler service, room service and customised mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear mnaidoo, It’s hard to find words to thank you for your absolutely stunning review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our facilities, services and particularly our staff, we are very proud of our beautiful resort and even more so of our hardworking Team. There is no bigger compliment for us than guests telling us that they would like to come back. Thank you once again for choosing us, it was really a pleasure to meet both of you. We look forward with great anticipation to your return. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would recommend this resort. Beautiful beaches, even during the high rain season you still get beautiful sunsets as the rain does not last the entire day. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly especially Ally who transported us on a daily basis. Food is great. Take mosquito repellent for when you want to explore the island and the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Contan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are really happy to read that you had a fantastic time with us and you appreciated our hardworking staff (I have passed on your special kind words to Ally) as well as the beauty of the resort and the high level of service. Once again thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Il have to say. Of all the hotels, resorts and lodges we have been to Hideaway has been the absolutly best. Normaly in all-inclusive resorts (we took that package) the wine and food is not the best, but here it was like a 5 star food and wine. The wine was from South Africa by the way.

The Nungwe beach is on the top 20 of the world and the resort had a great bar down there. They also had a lot of security so my Iphone could feel safe even it was not hidden.
They have two upgrade resturants, but you dont need it. The food was fantastic.

We had a 51 M2 suite and the bed is one of the best we have sleept in.

I indeed recomend Hidaway for people with familiy, romantic couples and anyone who wants to feel that extra luxuary. By the way. If you have problems with your feet they drive you around with golf cars for free. Thanks to the staff and especially to Miguel who worked like 24/7:-)

We already miss Hideaway and we are planing to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyfinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear tommyfinish, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to read that you had a fantastic holiday and you enjoyed our hospitality, the food and drink offer, our beautiful beach and high standard bedroom. It was our pleasure hosting you and we all hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
602 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,511 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,065 reviews
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing