We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning resort in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning resort in Zanzibar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We vacationed in this resort in late April 2014 as a family of three. We are seasoned travelers and can truly recommend this resort as one of the " best" we have stayed at. The rooms are spacious and very modern. The sea views are to die for! The hotel provides entertainment in the evenings which was phenomenal! My Son got ill and was attended to by the Resident doctor and the staff were helpful in a remarkable way. The hotel has tennis courts, a private artificial turf soccer field, superb spa and gym! We found it served all our needs as a family.
The hotel is still new and one sensed a real determination to provide " world class" service. We really enjoyed our stay. Jambo!

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views. Can choose the VIP villas for a more 'exclusive' experience, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear JoziTMan, Jambo, jambo! Thank you for taking the time to share this beautiful review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, even though your son got ill. We all try our very best to provide exceptional service to our valued guests. Once again thank you for your kind words and the recommendation, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    239
    79
    39
    23
See reviews for
279
626
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hideaway, a Leading Hotel of the World, is a gem on the north west coast of Zanzibar. The grounds of the resort are beatifully laid out with flowers and foliage and was always in pristine condition. The beach is the best on that strip, offering an ideal opportunity for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. We enjoyed the complimentary catamaran rides with the friendly and professional skippers Juma and Suleiman. There are plenty of beach loungers close to the shore of the beach, which are efficiently serviced by the beach staff. The beach bar is well run by Ali, who spoilt us with fancy cocktails. Aqua restaurant offers a wide variety of food to tantalise and satisfy all tastebuds. Keep space for the array of the mouth-watering desserts. Our meals at the a la carte restaurants, Ishi Teppanyaki and Carnivorous and More were most delightful. We were spoilt with prawns, lobster, crab, ostrich, wildebeest and prime rib prepared in various ways. The quality of food was superb at very meal. Special thanks for the delicious meals prepared by Chefs Sanjeewa, Suleiman and Babu. Breakfast, however, does require some attention in respect of variety. The staff at the restaurants were all friendly, professional and went all out to please us and attended to all our special requests. The restaurant manager, Shaban, and his awesome team, Lucas, Jestina, Maimuna, Leah, Elizabeth, Khadija, Rashid, Esteria, Captain Hussein and Jesca provided excellent service during our stay. The assistant F&B manager at the restaurants, Miguel is always full of energy , and always ensuring a high level of service. There was entertainment every evening managed by the extremely friendly and knowledgable Erasto, assisted by ever williing and equally friendly Guiseppe. The gala evening under the stars was a blast and thorougly enjoyed by all the guests. The entertainment was top notch. Service at the living area and pool was always prompt and efficient thanks to the energetic F&B manager, Jeremiah and his team - in particular the barman Julius. We booked the superior luxury suite, and later upgraded to the jacuzzi suite. Both rooms were very luxurious. The jacuzzi suite was spectacular and extremely spacious with 90 m2 at your disposal. This suite comes with 2 bathrooms with the main bathroom almost the same size as the junior suite. Housekeeping was excellent. These two room types are in the exclusive privileged areas, and came with butler service and room service. Our butlers Menlad and Aloinsia took care of our every whim and fancy making our stay extra special. Menlad and Aloinsia were professional, courteous and friendly and spoilt us at every opportunity. Hamadi, the head of the butlers and Ramadaan were also efficient and friendly. Cappuccino and Ali were ever willing bell boys, happy to transport us around the resort. Our experience at the Spa was a pleasant one. Guests can use the steam room, pool and jacuzzi at the Spa, even without booking a treatment. There is also a gym with a stunning sea view. Sharon, the bubbly sales co-ordinator enthusiastically showed us the higher categories of rooms. The Presidential Villa is breathtaking, with stunning furniture and decor, and should certainly be a choice for a large group of friends or family. We appreciate the effort that Sharon put into ensuring that we received the benefits associated with LHW Leaders Club membership. The warmth, friendliness and enthusiasm displayed by Sharon is what all guests should be exposed to when they arrive at reception. The general manager, Gianni Mannai was visible all over the resort at all times of the day and night, interacting with guests and ensuring that service at all levels was of the highest quality. This type of dedication from the GM will ensure that service levels will be of the highest standards. We had the most awesome, fabulous, spectacular and restful holiday at this wonderful resort, and are counting the days till our next visit.

PS. We walked along the beach and viewed some of the neighbouring hotels. Hideway was by far the most superior in terms of location, aesthetics and layout of the resort. The view from the ocean on our catamaran trips also confirmed this.

Room Tip: Book a room in the privileged area, which comes with butler service, room service and customised mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear mnaidoo, It’s hard to find words to thank you for your absolutely stunning review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our facilities, services and particularly our staff, we are very proud of our beautiful resort and even more so of our hardworking Team. There is no bigger compliment for us than guests telling us that they would like to come back. Thank you once again for choosing us, it was really a pleasure to meet both of you. We look forward with great anticipation to your return. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would recommend this resort. Beautiful beaches, even during the high rain season you still get beautiful sunsets as the rain does not last the entire day. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly especially Ally who transported us on a daily basis. Food is great. Take mosquito repellent for when you want to explore the island and the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Contan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are really happy to read that you had a fantastic time with us and you appreciated our hardworking staff (I have passed on your special kind words to Ally) as well as the beauty of the resort and the high level of service. Once again thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Il have to say. Of all the hotels, resorts and lodges we have been to Hideaway has been the absolutly best. Normaly in all-inclusive resorts (we took that package) the wine and food is not the best, but here it was like a 5 star food and wine. The wine was from South Africa by the way.

The Nungwe beach is on the top 20 of the world and the resort had a great bar down there. They also had a lot of security so my Iphone could feel safe even it was not hidden.
They have two upgrade resturants, but you dont need it. The food was fantastic.

We had a 51 M2 suite and the bed is one of the best we have sleept in.

I indeed recomend Hidaway for people with familiy, romantic couples and anyone who wants to feel that extra luxuary. By the way. If you have problems with your feet they drive you around with golf cars for free. Thanks to the staff and especially to Miguel who worked like 24/7:-)

We already miss Hideaway and we are planing to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyfinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear tommyfinish, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to read that you had a fantastic holiday and you enjoyed our hospitality, the food and drink offer, our beautiful beach and high standard bedroom. It was our pleasure hosting you and we all hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Visited over easter had a great time . The beach is clean and safe. Alot of actviyues abd very nice e resort with excellent staff and comfortable rooms. Kid friendly and very accomodating to all ages even a 9 month old baby. We will return soon

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fatim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Fatim J, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are all very proud of our beautiful resort and hardworking staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The good points; the rooms are nice, beach is beautiful, pool is great, loved the daily newspaper and the beach dinner was wonderful. The bad points; mostly slow and poor service, takes 20 minutes to get a drink at the pool bar, took almost an hour to get some French fries at the pool bar, food stations are outside so food is covered in flies, we were both ill during our stay, no mention of being on our honeymoon, staff don't speak very good English to the point where I was told I couldn't have a coke, food options are limited, arrived at 10pm after travelling all day and told restaurant was closed and was not offered any food, not 5* in my opinion. Given the price, I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

April 2014
Returned on the 19 after 9 nights of almost heaven.
Tip top facilities and service. Very clean.
On the down side:
- front desk request like change and lunch take away box were not addressed properly - promised to get us change...not returned ...lunch box order forgotten or/and late.
- Food selection was great, small issues like wet nuts, pretzels, chips (high humidity).
All in all it was great and we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrizztAviram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear DrizztAviram, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. I am sorry to hear the problem you experienced with the take away lunch box, but we are very happy to read that the food selection was great. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay, we all look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
15.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
14.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing