We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from our stay in Hideaway. We booked a Luxury Junior Suite to this 5 star hotel to celebrate our Honeymoon. We had a wonderful time; the site was extremely clean, the room was spotless. The staff was extremely nice, always asking us if everything was alright. After 2 days, half of them knew us by name and would try a few words in our native language (French). We read a few comments, some complaining about the level of English for some of the staff - this is true, but this was only a minority; their smile and kindness completely overshadowed this small handicap. We really enjoy the buffet, and the A la carte restaurants. We thought though that the Japanese one was not up to par with the rest - probably since we have excellent Japanese restaurant back home. In any case, we had no problem booking for the time we wanted on any given day. Beach wise, the site was being partly re-constructed following a significant storm - what can you say, you can't predict how Mother nature will react. Despite this, we thought that it was clean, and the staff was also always on the look out for any request - drink, towel, anything really. The pool was amazing. The orientation giving perfect sunset views from the pool is quite something - we made it a rendez-vous place to end our days... We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a quiet time, and enjoy luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Benoit M, The entire Hideaway Team thanks you very much for your encouraging and kind comments. We were delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed the service of our thoughtful staff as well as the amazing sunsets from our bar. Rest assured that your feedback has been passed on our team. It was a pleasure hosting you during your honeymoon and we hope to have the chance to welcome you or your friends and family soon. Nous vous souhaitons beaucoup de bonheur! Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    234
    77
    39
    23
See reviews for
266
607
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in January. We booked a Luxury Junior Suite and the room was well presented and clean. There was plenty of room for storage and to move around. It lived up to its name of a luxury suite. We had a second floor room with a balcony over looking the ocean with what was a great view all day and beautiful during sunset.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help out with any questions or requests. They all speak English which was very helpful and were willing to help teach Swahili for a bit of a laugh.
The food at the aqua restaurant was spectacular and plentiful. The chefs would happily cook food to order when requested.
The pool area and bar were popular with everyone to hang out at and chat over a few drinks while watching the sun go down, during this time they have live music play which adds to the already amazing experience.

Myself and my girlfriend would happily return to this very relaxing resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Hayden B, We thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. The entire team was delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed yourselves and especially the atmosphere our helpful staff creates. Our Chef was very happy to hear that you found his food spectacular and that you appreciated his flexibility. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family stayed at the Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort and Spa in January. We spent two days in Stonetown, followed by this resort and we were very very happy with our choice.

We booked a Luxury Junior Suite, and was very satisfied with the choice. It was spacious, had all the amenities needed and the decor was beautiful.

The staff were very helpful and very accommodating at all times. My suggestion is to chat to one of the foreign staff rather than the locals as they understand English far better. However, nothing was a problem for any staff member and they were willing to go out of their way to assist us and make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The beach was fantastic - azure waters, with a lovely white sandy beach. The poolside is exactly as you see in the pictures!

We had a fullboard service, which was great. There were always different food options, and the local fresh juices were lovely.

I had two treatments done at the spa - both superb. The gym facilities are good, however, the aircons don't work very well in the room and its very hot when exercising - so I avoided it after day 1.

My one suggestion would be to increase the evening entertainment - there was always a show - traditional dancing etc. However, thereafter there was a duo singing and altho night, it would have been great to have something different on the different nights and maybe something more upbeat for the younger generations.

If you are staying on a Friday night, take something smart-ish to wear as there is a stunning gala dinner.

A great place for a honeymoon, or a very relaxed holiday with the family, but maybe not so great if you have teenage children who want more action and vibe at night - you will have to leave the resort to get some sort of night life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaliya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Aaliya M, many thanks for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. It was a real pleasure hosting you and your family and we are glad to hear that you had such an excellent time with us, enjoying the variety of our food offer as well as the efficiency of our helpful staff. Your suggestions are very valuable to us and I have passed them on to our team already. The Hideaway Team hopes to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

just got back home after spending 2 wonderful weeks at Hideaway. Had probably the best holiday of my life. the suite was spotless, the beach to die for and all in all-very good. Food wise, there was plenty to choose from including a wide variety of sea food, Friday night gala dinners were the best for us-wonderful atmosphere, superb food and excellent service.
we've been very well looked after by all staff and we were very sad to leave it all and go back home. Special thanks to customer relations manager Lucie Mauron, who was absolutely wonderful to us. All in all, this hotel is wonderful.

P.S. for anyone who keeps moaning here about the speed of service, etc. my advice would be-you won't get the same service here as at The Ritz or Savoy. sometimes a little patience and a smile goes a long way!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ed K, we are glad that you made it home safe and thank you a lot for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. We are happy to learn how pampered you felt with us and that you particularly appreciated our gala dinner. As we mentioned at your departure, it was a real pleasure hosting the both of you and the whole team would be thrilled to welcoming you guys again. Until then and with warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

After 10days safari in Kenya and Tanzania my family and I had a great time here.With several restaurants,fresh food and service was excellent.Of course all suites face the sea,however it's the breath taking sunset's gardens and clean quiet beach that have me calling back.The architecture retains the beauty and ecosystem of this delicate North Beach.The staff and management attentive to details.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayaCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear KayaCD, many thanks for sharing your experience about your stay with us. We were thrilled to read your review and see how much you enjoyed our food and services as well as our facilities. We were happy to see that you appreciated the beauty of our surroundings, and especially the sunsets at Hideaway of Nungwi. We hope to welcome you or your friends and family soon. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

the resort is just beautiful, the locatiuon is the best, the beach is magnificent.
but the service is slow, the staff dont speak good english, the VIP treatment has a fuzzy meaning i.e they assign you a butler but he is never around, and the all inclusive has to be negotiated all the time and everywhere. and the most annoying, wi fi never works.overall it is in progress to be a 5 star hotel, but still beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myrto k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear myrto k, we were happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay as well as the beauty of our setting and facilities. We thank you very much for your feedback and have passed them on to all our departments. We were surprised to hear that your butler was never around as our record shows that he checked on you almost every day during your stay. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I visited this "leading hotel of the world" with my family for 5 nights. Upon arrival at 11.30am, rooms were not ready until 3pm despite a guest checkout time of 12pm. The receptionist instructed us to sit in the reception area to wait for the rooms, without even offering any lunch. We were frustrated and requested to have lunch in the mean time.

At the dining area, we were greeted with untrained staff who did not understand simple English, they cleared cutlery before it was necessary, they intruded while people were having conversations on the table, it took more than 20mins to order a bottle of mineral water and did not have any sort of refinement while serving. This continued for the whole trip and extended to the whole serving team including the chefs, bar tenders, pool waiters etc.

The food was not fit to be served at a "leading hotel of the world", it was of similar quality to food one would find at a cheap 2 star motel. Food in the all the warmers at the buffet frequently ran out and it took the team up to 25mins at a time to replenish the food in the warmers.

The chefs at breakfast time did not know how to make a simple Spanish omelet. They did not know the difference between a green pepper and a tomato. After getting frustrated, i got the executive chef from inside the kitchen to make the omelet.


Ordering a drink at the pool was a mission, it would take up to 20mins for something as simple as a beer to be served. Something slightly more complex such as a cocktail either never came or came after 30 to 40mins. The quality of the cocktails were not up to standard. The guests would be better of going behind the bar and making their own drink.

We were three people in one of the rooms. On the first day the hotel did not have a third bed to put in the room so they offered me a separate room for the first night. On the second day they had placed a third bed in the room. This was a single bed with a cheap mattress made of springs which was extremely uncomfortable to sleep on. After speaking with the reception about this nobody seemed to take action and we had to consult with the general manager who then changed the mattress to a regular mattress for me.

The rooms had no wifi and the wifi that was availible in the lounges was either not working or too slow to load emails.

Although the service is terrible/non-existent, the site was very beautiful and the hotel boasted some of the best infrastructure in Zanzibar. The hotel rooms were clean.

After visiting other leading hotels of the world with a similar 5 star rating in Thailand, Dubai etc Hideaway of Nungwi is a 2 star in comparison. Leading hotels of the world needs to seriously reconsider whether this hotel can be called a leading hotel of the world. This hotel has everything to be called a 5 star resort, except the service is non existent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheikh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sheikh01, how very sorry we were to receive your review and to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Indeed on your arrival we were missing one extra bed and we really thought that giving you an additional room complimentary made that first night more comfortable. We are continuously working on training all staff at all levels; both on standards of service and spoken English. Our Internet access is another area we are working on, as we realise it has to be improved. Thank you for your kind comment regarding our property. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing