We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic and Relaxing Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chic and Relaxing Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went here last week. The place is very chic, with wonderful view to Nungwi beach and see.
our jr suite was large,clean with chic furniture. The international food was various and very good and change every day. All inclusive price it's really all inclusive, you can take cocktails and drinks without additional costs. The diving and sport centre are inside and you can planning good dives and boat excursions. The evening and night entertainments was very basic, an poor quality level in comparison of the venue, location and services. The gym is very small for a luxury hotels, and inside the climate system doesn't work perfectly, so you can training only in the early morning or in last afternoon, is to hot or to cool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Manuela B, we thank you a lot for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were delighted to see that have enjoyed yourself with us and especially appreciated the variety of our tasty food offer. We are very grateful for your feedback which has been share with our Team. We hope to have the chance to welcoming you again soon. Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    234
    77
    39
    23
See reviews for
266
607
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 5 days in the Hideaway over the Christmas period. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and everybody was very friendly. The location is perfect!!
The food at the restaurants was fantastic!! Catering very well for everyone in the family. The staff were very attentive. A previous comment about improving the special order system at the restaurant would be a good idea. A special thanks to Jeramiah in the pool bar for being so great with the kids and Pilli in the restaurant for being so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear MelindaVA, many thanks for sharing your experience at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were delighted that you and your family had such an excellent Christmas with us. We are happy that you appreciated the friendliness of our helpful staff and that offer food offer suited everyone in the family! It was very nice hosting you and we will welcome you again, or your friends and family with great pleasure. Until then and with kind regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hideaway for the 2nd time in less than 4 months this Christmas season, and we are very very happy, this resort definately needs all the best reviews as it lives up to its title from the luxury rooms, to amazing facilities nice food and the BEST beach and sunset views not forgeting the gardens, the friendly staff etc..I dont think in East Africa you can find a resort like this its definitely on top of its game.When I see the last 2 reviews which are very mean, I wonder if this people were in the same resort as us, and if they were were they on holiday or an inspection trip???.
My advise to those looking for a luxury relaxed holiday in a very magnificient resort in Zanzibar by a natural beach Hideaway will not dissapoint.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear kevmwan, thank you so much for your kind review. We were thrilled to hear that you had such an excellent time with us again. We are happy to see that you appreciated the quality of our services and are very grateful for your recommendations. It is a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

After days on the road in the African sun we were ready for some relaxation in nice surroundings. We chose the Nungwi Hidaway because of the Leading Hotel brand. Unfortunately, the only leading quality of this hotel is the location in the beautiful island of Zanzibar. And the buildings and structure of the resort are not to shabby, either. otherwise, we found this hotel to be an absolute mess. Service was erratic and mostly very slow, not so much to the fault of the general staff but inadequate training and management. Diving facilities practically non existent, spa services very primitive and the quality of the food was nothing to write home about. This place does not do the leading hotel brand any favours, indeed we seriously question whether it can be relied upon in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sif T, we were saddened and shocked to read your Trip Advisor review. As a team, we try to go out of our way to look after all our valued guests and if we had been aware of any of your issues, we would have done our best to alleviate them. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Terrible service with untrained waiters, horrible food with no variety, non helpful hotel management. Definitely a 2 star. However, clean rooms,great atmosphere and good beach. Needs reconsideration of being a member of Leading Hotels of the World! Imagine a Rolls Royce with a Toyota Engine.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Litred9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Litred9, how disappointed we were to receive your Trip Advisor review. We the management team at the Hideaway of Nungwi, very much care for all our valued guests and we are here to help whenever we can. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Here for five days with family. Kids 8,11 and 13 had a blast too. Very nice spa with reasonable prices. Food was very good and service was very good as well. Internet service was lame which was only negative. Beautiful beach and pool area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Michael G, we thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were delighted to hear that you and your family had such a nice time with us. Our Food and Beverage Team was glad to hear how much you appreciated our food offer as well as our helpful staff. We thank you for your feedback and have already shared it with all our departments which were very encouraged by it. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you or your friends and family soon. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

With pristine beaches, gorgeous sunset views and fabulous food, this all inclusive resort makes you want to come back for more. The staff is attentive & the luxury offered is unparalleled. The pool as well as other amenities are fabulous. Only let down was no WiFi in the room (the hotel needs to understand that latest gadgets don't come with Ethernet options). The WiFi was quite good in the restaurants, pool & main lobby.

The spa is great & would highly recommend for some good deserved pampering.

Room Tip: The luxury junior suites give you the best bang for the buck. Ask for a room on the first (ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sumi H, we thank you very much for your kind words and were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your beautiful setting as well as our facilities and the kindness of our staff. Our Chef was thrilled to read that you appreciated his food and our Spa team is very grateful for the recommendation. We will welcome you again anytime with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing