We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hideaway for five nights in mid September. We stayed in a junior suite on an all inclusive basis. The room was amazing, the food was brilliant (I am vegetarian, plenty of choice), gardens beautiful, spa treatments wonderful and all the staff fantastic. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear CatherineReddin,
Thank you for your kind Trip Advisor review, we all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our lovely resort. We are very proud of our relatively new team at the hotel and they will all be delighted by your comments. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    234
    77
    39
    23
See reviews for
266
607
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Zanzibar so we spent hours reading reviews and decided to try the Hideaway. I will mention that I travel a lot for work and usually stay at very high end hotels with amazing accommodations. The Hideaway was great. The grounds are immaculately maintained, the rooms were clean and spacious, the service was tremendous and the food was great. Was it perfect? of course not. Is it the best hotel I've stayed at? no. But it is a wonderful resort and I would recommend it to any of my friends or family. I would stay there again.

We stayed for 4 nights and were upgraded to a wonderful room that makes up part of the presidential suite which has a private pool. The room had 24 hour butler service staffed by Abdullah, Ramadan and Alphonsela who were extremely attentive. They checked on us often without being pushy. They were very friendly and helpful.

Food:
-I was pleasantly surprised by the food. I expected that an all inclusive would not have such good food. The resort, which is owned by an Italian company, clearly used its Italian influence to train the chefs. The homemade pizza was really good. The lunch and dinner buffets had a lot of variety and the food had lots of flavor. We enjoyed the option of having breakfast in the room under the exclusive package.
-one night we had dinner at the Carnivorous restaurant and the food was pretty good. We did not have time to make it to the Japanese restaurant.
-Wine: The house wine was surprisingly drinkable. I have a wine cellar, so I tend to be fussy with wine, but I found the white wine options (Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc) were fine. I didn't love the red option so I upgraded the bottle when we had dinner at Carnivorous.

Service:
-Overall, the service was great. We didn't have any major problems. That said, there were hiccups along the way, but that is expected for a new resort. I gave them the benefit of the doubt. The staff is still a bit new and many are still training, but extremely attentive. We always had service with a smile. The staff at the buffet for lunch and dinner were prompt to fill your wine, quick to offer us water and clear our plates.

Accommodation:
-Our room was great. We were upgraded to the beachfront presidential suite that is made up of 3 rooms with a shared common area (unless, of course, you rent out the entire villa.) We were lucky that we had the place to ourselves for most of the stay. The room has a private infinity pool that overlooks the ocean with breathtaking views. The pool was impeccable and cleaned every morning. The one bad part about our room (#171) was that the bathroom, which is huge, has a a very large glass wall that opens out to a private enclosed courtyard with an outdoor shower and offers very little privacy from your neighbors. If you use the indoor shower, the guests in the villa's above us (the resort is on a hill with the lobby at the top of the hill with rooms cascading downwards towards the sea) can see everything. There's no privacy when you shower so long as the above guests are sitting on their balcony. I chose to shower in the outdoor shower which was more protected from view. Otherwise, it was a perfectly fitted room. The minibar has water and a couple beers and soda in it serviced daily.

Beach:
-the beach is very nice and quiet. Security guards are on constant patrol and during the day, they keep beach vendors away from guests. If you want to buy something, you can just flag them over, but they do not harass you on the property.

Rating: I gave this hotel an excellent rating because we had a wonderful time, the property is beautiful and the service and food is wonderful. I also didn't have unrealistic expectations. I think some people who gave negative reviews may have expected things like wifi to work as smoothly as it does in the States or to have prompt and flawless service as they would in London. You're a far way from either of those places, and that was a good thing. This is a great resort to go and chill out. It's an hour ride from the airport and you're pretty secluded. I wouldn't recommend this place for kids or for people looking for an active stay or a bustling nightlife.

Room Tip: Although every room seems to have an ocean view, opt for one closer to the beach, otherwise, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear fjsuarez, Thank you for your kind Trip Advisor review, we all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware of the privacy problem with room 171 and are looking at improving things as soon as is possible. We are as you mentioned a relatively new hotel with an evan newer management team, it is our aim to be able to provide great service and attention to detail in all areas of the resort. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's worth noting this hotel is really not in Nungwi but a bit down along Kendwa beach.

That said Kendwa beach is significantly more luxurious and nicer than Nungwi beach. You are much less likely to be harassed by locals trying to sell you things. The sand is nicely combed with less seaweed/grass.

The hotel is super posh and definitely the place you want to go if you want to "get away from it all" at a super nice resort. This place has the cigar lounge, stunning infinity pool, and so on.

That said you definitely pay for it as all the prices at the hotel are in dollars, and a lot of dollars. For example getting fish and chips would run you $23 with no taxes/service fees. Wow.

Likewise this hotel will definitely isolate you from the Zanzibar people and their culture as only the richest (and often retirement age) people can afford a place like this.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wrstling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear wristling1, Thank you for your trip advisor review. we are sorry that you felt our resort to be isolated from both the people of Zanzibar and their culture, we do in fact work in the local village as part of The Panje project, to integrate us as much as is possible. We also when we can use the services of the village, carpenters, fishermen etc., as a hotel it is very important for us all at The Hideaway of Nungwi to support the village and indeed its inhabitants as much as we can. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

New facility, well laid out gardens, located on the hillside running down to a good beach area. The rooms were lovely and the day to day staff (waiters, cleaners and maintenance staff) were very friendly. The big downfall with this resort is the food. An all inclusive resort but unless you pay extra there is no a-la-carte the food is buffet and of the poorest quality. At $35/pp is was not worth it. Food has generally been sitting out long before serving so is warm to cold. Variety is limited, although there is a grill station to order some hot food and pizza. Management need to take a good hard look at themselves and address the appalling food situation. The other noticeable thing about this resort is that it really has no warmth or character and it is not in expensive. So sad as the framework is in place. The advertising is also misleading. We expected more but when complaining over a number of issues it was clear management did not really care. We would not return or recommend. As per the title of this review........there has to be much better around
O

Room Tip: Many rooms are a long distance from the restaurant and beach area. As the resort is on a hillside be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear sjmortons, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. All reviews good and not so are invaluable to us to help us improve our product. We were slightly taken aback at your strong wording regarding our food, however all comments will be passed on to the departments in order for us to improve. We are a new and developing team here at The Hideaway of Nungwi and very much care about all our guests, we feel saddened that you felt otherwise. Thanking you again for your comments we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Normally we would never stay in an all-inclusive resort but as we only had a 3 day break we opted for a bit of luxury and we couldn't have made a better choice. The resort itself was gorgeous, beautifully kept gardens, fantastic views, great beach with lots of activities and an infinity pool you could just spend all day in. The staff could not do enough to help you and you are made to feel very welcome. If you want to get away from the resort we spent a day in Stone Town - about an hours drive away and spent an evening in Nungwi just walking from bar to bar up the beach.

The food wasn't fantastic, but more than acceptable and you can choose to order from another menu that you need to pay for. Also take your own sun-lotion and after sun as the on-site shop is ridiculously expensive ($35 for a small tube of sun cream!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JT S, Thank you for your kind Trip Advisor review, we at The hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful resort. Apologies that you had to pay so much for the sun lotion in our on site shop, we lease out the premises and therefore have no control over the pricing.,however we will look into providing better priced sun screen for our guests. Please do come back and visit us again it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 11 nights at the Hideaway at the very end of July / start of August 2013 as the second part of our honeymoon. In one word - WOW. The place was absolutely incredible - I genuinely think all other resorts are going to be a disappointment from now on.

The staff were incredible - they made us feel like nothing was too much of an ask. My husband had upgraded us to the Exclusive Privileged Area and it was absolutely fantastic. Branded drinks in the minibar, room service 24 hours a day, our own private veranda... And even the communal areas felt exclusive - the pool was exquisite, the beach was immaculate and the service was incredible. And the buffet restaurant puts your usual all-inclusive buffets (and many other restaurants for that matter!)
to shame. The two speciaility restaurants were also of a quality that would not be amiss here in London - especially the sushi restaurant where we were able to sit at the hot plate and see our dinner cooked for us.

I really cannot rave about this place enough.

From Jeremiah and his bar team who would remember our favourite cocktails (and even make us a large version of the standard cocktail at the end of the night!) to all of the pool and beach boys who would greet us almost before we'd arrived, set up a lounger and ensure we had fresh towels (even taking them in on the occasional rain shower for us) – it was superb.

We didn't use the spa facilities, so can't comment, but everything we did try was absolutely amazing. No exception.

Room Tip: We upgraded to Exclusive Privileged Area - if you can, do. Not only do you get room service (includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Aredhel82,
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review, it is always wonderful to be able to welcome guests on honeymoon to our lovely resort. We all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are very proud of our property so it is fantastic when guests such as yourselves have such a great stay with us. We very much hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After some minor initial teething problems, it is my pleasure to confirm the Hideaway is now firing on all cylinders, and it was a pleasure to stay there.
The gardens are the best I have seen on Zanzibar in 3 visits as an agent, meticulously maintained by a large team, making the views out to sea very impressive even before you get to the water.
There is a definite air of class about this resort, service is very crisp, all the staff polite and smiling and keen to assist you.
All of the rooms have seaviews, are lavishly furnished and great amenities inside. If you are going for the entry room level ask your agent to book you into the block down the front if they have the resort map.
The 2 a la carte restaurants, Carnivorous and Ish Teppenyaki are open on alternate nights, and I would advise eating in each once during your stay. All other meals are taken in the Aqua restaurant, which is lovely and right on the seafront. Here they have separate pizza and pasta stations, which you can order at and have delivered to your table, and a buffet area with lots of choice for 3 courses and the food is of a high standard. Really good eating and drinking at this hotel, so book All Inclusive so you dont have to keep tabs.
The pool area is fantastic, I have not seen an infinity pool work so well at moulding the pool and sea into one. The adjoining bar area is very relaxed in the evening, and each night a local band or performer will be there. We saw the Jambo brothers, and incredible acrobatic quintet.
The beach is also fab, and there is a beach bar and lots of sunloungers.
The Hideaway will not let you down, go on All Inclusive and really forget your worries. I think this will take some beating in this price bracket.

Room Tip: Book the blocks at the front of the resort. You get slightly better views at the back, but you will...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear John G,
Thank you so much for your in depth Trip Advisor review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort. I have passed your comments onto our entire team here at The Hideaway of Nungwi and i know they will be most appreciated. We all would very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing