We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had an amazing time at the resort ,freindly staff and great food.Definately must come back its n amazing place and a safe haven for couples so next time will come back for my honeymoon or with my husband

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter but in overrall the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Princess S,
How wonderful it was to hear from you today, thank you for your kind review.
We at Hideaway of Nungwi look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Regards,
Lucie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    204
    74
    36
    22
See reviews for
223
514
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the most incredible island of Zanzibar.....

The Hideaway resort & spa truly met ALL our expectations, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The location was the best, the beach was stunning, the hotel grounds are impeccable and beautiful, the staff are friendly and always smiling, the food was lovely with lots of choice. I could go on and on, I cannot rate it highly enough.

We decided to go all inclusive and I'm so glad we did... It's the first time we have ever done all inclusive and we were not disappointed. The aqua buffet restaurant was varied every day ranging from fresh fish, meats, risotto, salads... just endless. Not forgetting the pasta/pizza and grill bar. We also dined in the isha and carnivorous restaurants for a small supplement. We can highly recommend carnivorous and the springbok was awesome.

There is evening entertainment on every other night which was great to see - Masai warriors and the jambo brothers were our favourites :-) We also enjoyed a catamaran trip out into the ocean which is free with the hotel. We also made good use of the hotel amenities gym and spa.

During our entire stay at the hideaway we felt we were surrounded by pure luxury.... The hideaway truly deserves the 5 stars it holds. We are a fairly chilled out couple with high expectations, if you are like minded people you really won't be disappointed.

Just to finish my review - it goes without saying that the staff can truly make your holiday that little bit more special and personal. We had a lot of laughs, learned quite abit of Swahili and were taught how to play bao a traditional board game. We would like to thank ALL the staff at the hideaway who helped make our holiday so special but would like to acknowledge the following people for being sooo brilliant. Jeremiah (bar) Mary George (bar - incredible smile) Dorice (bar) rashid (waiter aqua) Mpole (reception/doorman), Mick (bar), Sulliman (beach/bar), Haj (beach team) and of course Giuseppe.

Thank you hideaway, you truly were amazing and we will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury junior suite room 230 and we LOVED IT. Amazing view from the balcony across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gemma B,

Thank you for your kind review. We at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you had a wonderful stay, your comments will be passed onto our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Regards,
Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a marvellous week at Hideaway of Nungwi. The resort is just perfect in each little detail: from the size of the rooms till the service and the activities and the amazing SPA. Don't miss the Teppeniaki and Carnivorous food experience. ..just incredible. I have been at Carnivorous JOHANNESBURG but this is much more stylish...just cool!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsayerkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear tomsayerkenya,
Thank you for your kind message, we will pass your comments onto the team, i know they will be much appreciated. Do come back and visit us again, we would so like to welcome you back.
Regards,
Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hideaway for five nights as part of our honeymoon. That was about the right amount of time, since we pretty much spent every day lying next to the pool or on the beach.
The resort really is beautiful and the facilities are lovely. We were all-inclusive, and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. I'm sure we got our money's worth on drinks alone. Nungwi Beach is stunning and the sea was wonderfully calm and clear. We took advantage of the free snorkelling equipment and the kayaks available, which was a nice way to enjoy the ocean. We also did an introductory scuba diving session, which I would highly recommend. The instructors are friendly, patient and really helped me to feel confident even when I was a little nervous.
My only issues with the hotel were with the service. There was an extensive cocktail menu, but there was no consistency in how they were made. The poolside service was also very slow and sometimes non-existent, and some of the waitstaff in the restaurant seemed annoyed to be there. The food was okay, but lacked variety, although the freshly made stir fry was excellent. We had a dinner on the beach as part of the honeymoon package, which was a bit of a disaster. The service was incredibly slow, so an hour and a half into the meal our mains hadn't yet arrived. There's only so much gazing lovingly into each other's eyes that a couple can do.
Overall, Hideaway is a lovely resort with fantastic rooms and amenities, but I think there is a bit of work yet to be done on staff training to justify its high price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NearlyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear NearlyWife,

Than you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon at The Hideaway of Nungwi.
I apologies that your beach dinner service was slow, we do indeed need to improve our standards of service, it is something we are currently addressing and working on daily.
Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Hideaway of Nungwi in the future.
Regards,

Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am just so in love with this place. Great food, friendly service and big smiles all over you all the time. Impossible to miss the infinity pool and the mohitos watching at the most romantic sunset of your life. Everything was so perfect to be almost unbelievable. ...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahdubai11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear sarahdubai11, we were extremely happy to see your feedback. Your kind comments have been shared with the team. We too are in love with our Hideaway of Nungwi. Do come back and see us soon. Until then and with kind regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel just opened when we stayed there and there where some normal "startup issues". However, I have no doubt that the place will provide great service in the future and is a perfect hideaway spot from Dar City.

Greetings to Emengildo Scarapicchia whom we already met at the Diamond Dreams of Zanzibar. We hope to come back and see you again. Best regards Maria and Michael

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maktub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Maktub79, thank you very much for your wonderful review of Hideaway of Nungwi. As a newly opened hotel, we do indeed have a few start-up issues but we have a wonderful positive team as you experienced and our aim is to provide the best service and features on the wonderful island of Zanzibar. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back. Until then and with kind regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just a word to describe the resort: amazing! Wow! Really amazing! Is more than a five stars hotels...is an incredible relaxing experience and you can enjoy the most breathtaking sunset of your life having a drink on the infinity pool and chilling with lounge music. SPA treatments are just one step above the best we already tried in the past. Great food and great service provided. Eight thumbs up (me, my wife and our two kids)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacklondon112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear jacklondon112, Thank you so much for your kind words, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your Stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. We are very proud of our relatively young team. They will be inspired with your feedback. We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back. Until then and with kind regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing