We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamonds Star of the East
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We traveled from New York and stayed in Villa #4 at Diamonds Star or the East. A few thoughts:

- The resort is split into two sections; a slightly more down-market hotel/resort and the much higher end "Star of the East" villas.

- Guests of Star of the East have access to all facilities whereas hotel guests do not have all access.

- The villa was fantastic, luxurious and very private with around the clock butler service. The butlers are very attentive and extremely charming.

- The beach is nice, but not excellent. Due to the nature of the tide, the beach is separated by a man made structure from the water (nicely constructed, wooden wall with stairs down into the water when the tide comes in).

- The sand is meticulously clean and very light in color and the water is beautiful, but Zanzibar itself does not have quite the "deserted island" feel of the further off coast indian ocean islands nor the smaller islands just off of Zanzibar (Mnemba, for example).

- There are a handful of restaurants to choose from (one of which is limited to Star of the East guests) and all have simple menus with very good food and South African wine. We found the food and wine to be ideal for a beach vacation - light, fresh, simple recipes (nothing overly garnished or seasoned).

All in all, we found our stay to be delightful and we recommend Star of the East as the ideal starting or ending point for Safari in Tanzania and Kenya.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank egoldstein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Diamonds Star of the East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 178 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Totally Amazing Experience, a working Holiday it was. The food was exquisite, the staff and butlers ever too concerned about our needs and comfort, we couldn't ask for more!! The clear waters with white sandy beaches made a stroll down at the beach a joy!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, no noise due to the caddy vehicles and scooters dashing up and down..amazing vi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The villa we stayed,villa #1,has the most beautiful view of the sea and the garden around the villa is approximately 400 sq m.(4000 sq f).The villa is spacious and beautiful.The butlers Abdallah and Rahma,were around 24 hours,polite and very helpful.Renata the hotel manager added her very special personal touch which made our stay even more memorable.
David

Room Tip: villa #1 has the best view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

All eleven villas are very private and picture perfect. You enter into a sitting area with a wall of water and a fully stocked bar. Off to the left is the butler's kitchen with a full size refrigerator and any other appliances you may want. Then you enter into a large bedroom with kingsize bed, glass walls to the patio and garden, walk-in closet,sitting area with a desk and big comfy chair and a large area on the floor with cushions and your own water pipes. From here you have access to a huge covered patio with a fountain, dining table, chairs and a daybed. The bathroom is large with an indoor and outdoor shower. You can go to your own pool and jacuzzi from the outdoor shower or patio area. The bed was decorated each day in lots of flowers. The night butler was superb. The day butler spoke and understood less English, plus had bad body odor. The room manager was friendly, polite and always out and about. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The villas are beautifully decorated and everything in the rooms are first quality. There is a waterfall in the foyer area, two bathrooms, two flat screen t.v.'s and an outdoor shower, huge patio and an infinity pool. There is even a small kitchen for the butler. The beach is white sand and the water crystal clear. You have a choice of using a private beach area for the villas or you can use the resorts main beach. The grounds are exceptionally maintained and the gardens are stunning. In terms of service, it was without a doubt the best we've ever experienced. The staff was attentive, respectful and their main goal is to provide you with the best experience ever. No request was ever too big or too much. The rooms manager is on top of things and you can see her conducting inspections in the morning, afternoon and again in the evening. Standards at this resort are very high. We don't have any criticism's. Of all the places we stayed in Tanzania, it was clearly our favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clemmy5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Luxurious one or two bed villas, which include an indoor lounge, a huge thatched patio and water feature in the entrance. Bedrooms are large with Moroccan style floor seating overlooking the patio. Bath area boasts an indoor and outdoor shower. A large enticing outdoor jacuzzi leads of the bedroom. Two butlers are available to cook meals in the kitchenette when required. Guests may use any restaurant belonging to the Diamonds Gemma del Este resort next door, for a wider selection in meals. The resort has its own dining area on an upper level overlooking the sea.

This luxury resort in my opinion is more for honeymooners and couples who are looking for privacy and seclusion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This resort is just amazing. We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon here and to be honest we never wanted to leave. The villa was bigger and better than we had imagined (the website photos don't do it justice). 24hr butler service that will bring you anything you want. The staff were amazingly friendly. We ate at the restaurant in SOTE and the seafood restaurant on the water. Both excellent. Lovely private beach and bright blue water to cool off in. You will not want to leave the resort but if you do it is only a short beach walk (when the tide is out) to get to the masai market to buy souvenirs. This resort is true luxury and if you decide to stay here I'm sure you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the orange villa!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
21.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $951 - $1,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing