We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveler rating
577
129
38
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
129
38
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market kitchen our honeymoon beautiful jetty main building infinity pool overlooking the ocean pier restaurant kids club massage room low tide stone town the general manager indian ocean private dinner beautiful hotel sea water large pool salt water
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 763 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We decided to start and end our Safari week here. What a good idea. A totally relaxing place with views on a thousand shades of Turquoise.. What we liked? The quality of the buildings, rooms. The views. The food (quite amazing actually, hardly ever ate so well in a hotel).The Belgian GM who realy cares about his guests and is available and present at all times. What can be improved? Sometimes service at breakfast is a bit slow, but then, they open until 11:00, so time to sit down and relax. The matress is a bit hard for me. The absence of a beach is not important to us, beautiful beaches are 5 minutes (walking) away either side of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the turtle conservation project next to the hotel and the lighthouse.
The hotel can organize excursion, the spice tour is lovely to do, even for globetrotters like us.
Thank you all at Esque Zalu for the relaxing time.

Room Tip: Beachfront suites could be noisy (ocean, waves). I also liked the garden suites and ocean view suites.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigrevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

waarde reizende tiiger. As you will remember, we do not advertise Essque Zalu being a beach hotel; we appreciate the rest and tranquility our guests are looking for. But you're right, no need to rush when you're on holidays. I do recall your visit and the time you took to relax. You were mentally preparing yourselves for the Safari and from what i gathered, you enjoyed it; Thank you for your comments and till we meet again. Kind Regards, Luc Verschelden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Essque Zalu.
From the moment we were warmly greeted with refreshing wet towels and a unique hibiscus drink
we relaxed and enjoyed this lovely place.
The architecture is stunning and the hotel building is surrounded by glorious tropical gardens.
Our room was spacious and comfortable.

The meals were outstanding with a varied choice of menu and also a choice of restaurant.
We had breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant and lunch on the Jetty with its panoramic view of the Indian Ocean.
Without exception all the staff were efficient, polite and helpful.
The manager was continually involved in making sure everything was to our satisfaction and was very friendly and approachable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view room but were delighted with our garden room and found it quiet and relaxing. We would choose the same garden room if we visited again!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

dear Rosemary. thank you for your review. Without a doubt, you wish you would have stayed a bit longer at our resort, considering the weather in the UK these days. We hope you are not affected by the floods. Well, in any case, we, here at Essque Zalu are looking forward to welcoming you back to the island of Unguja, a.k.a. Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Luc Verschelden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spend 3 nights at the Sea view Villa, there isn't a better spot on earth than that one! Amazing food, great service if you travel with a child and excellent location. Definitely a place to come back. 10!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Nick. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do remember your wife, you and your little princess having fun all around. Do not wait till your daughter has to invite you for your silver wedding anniversary before coming back, Essque Zalu is waiting for you. Kind regards, Luc Verschelden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Essque Zalu is impressive--from the soaring triangular roof line of the main building, to the picture perfect jetty jutting out into the turquoise ocean, to the beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are like mini villas and are lovely and generously sized, though the furniture and decor could have been a little better for a 5 star property. Bathrooms are huge. Splurge and book room with ocean view. Overall the food was very good. Lunch out on the jetty is by far the best for atmosphere and menu. Dinner was a little disappointing--the food was good, but ambiance (upstairs) was awkward, as was the service. While the staff are very nice and try to be helpful, there is a little bit of a language barrier, but you get by easily. There didn't seem to be quite enough lounge chairs around the pool so there was always a competition in the morning. I would recommend Essque Zalu, as it's one of the best in Zanzibar, but it's quite expensive and I feel like they could take it up a notch or two on service/decor/food and then it would be amazing.

Room Tip: Book one with an ocean view (numbered in the teens 13, 14, 15, etc)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

dear James. Thank you for your wonderful comments and yes we agree that not all employees are fluent in English. As well, we were hoping that the guests in the villas would stay by their plunge pool, the peak season caused indeed a problem with the pool beds. we bought some extras so that problem is resolved. We appreciate your room type, however, future visitors: WE DON'T HAVE A SUITE NUMBER 13... with Sunny greetings from a warm Zanzibar to a freezing New York... Luc Verschelden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Zalu is a relatively new hotel in Zanzibar in the northern side (about 45min - 1 hour drive from the airport). Been around for last 3 years, owned by an Italian, on the northern beach of Zanzibar. Hotel structure and design, especially around the lobby, bar, and pool is beautiful and breezy, with a modern chic taste and an amazing view of the ocean. (Note that there is no beach in front of the hotel depending on the tide, and if you'd like to lay on the beach, you need to walk on the beach during low tide to another place 10mins away). Great villas for couples and honeymooners, but the family style larger villas were also amazing. The best part of this hotel was the food, which was comparable to restaurant food in NYC or Tokyo. Service of most staff was also very friendly and hospitable. The only downside was service around the pool, which was slow and sloppy, but most high end luxury hotels in Tanzania had some aspect of that, despite the extremely steep prices vs world standard high end hotels. Communal group tip will be asked at checkout. I would suggest getting full board, given the food is very good, and typically you will be staying at Zanzibar at the tail end of your Tanzania safari trip where you are tired of exploring and just want to relax.

Room Tip: We originally got a couple villa on the lower level (garden view), but for $50 a night for two, managed to upgrade it to an ocean view, which was much better. I would recommend looking for an upper level room if you are in a couple's villa that has a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAPA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

dear Happa; Thank you for your comments. We must admit that during the peak season the service around the pool was a bit slow, however you will remember the cocktails are made à la minute and of course this takes a while. We are glad you enjoyed the villa and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Essque Zalu here in Zanzibar. Luc Verschelden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews