We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality, beautiful location - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Top Quality, beautiful location - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

15 years after our first visit to Zanzibar a lot had changed but Essque Zalu is a wonderfully positive addition to the island. Stunning buildings, beautiful interiors and great facilities. The location is to die for and the jetty is a creative addition which makes the most of the amazing water and gives the complex some nice extra space. Breakfast and dinner are lovely and service is top class. Spa is also of a very high standard - overall a great place for a luxury holiday and very highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Sue. Yes indeed in 15 years lots has changed. And lots of improvements as well. 15 years ago it would have taken you 5 - 6 hours to reach Nungwi, now only one hour. We trust that you will not wait another 15 years before returning to Ungunja, a.k.a. Zanzibar! We have been told that in 2015 we'll have a brand new airport! One thing that won't change is the beauty of the island and the friendliness of it's people. Wishing you a Happy New Year and till we meet again. Luc Verschelden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    94
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
143
298
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at this amazing 5star hotel ,after it was recommended by imagine africa ,last September 2012 for 8 nights. We arrived there after 4 days safari in the masai mara.It was truly magical in it s setting,the hospitality of the staff and manager. The manager nikola personally welcomes you .One of the finest hotels we have stayed in. The overall facilities, the setting of the seafront private villa ,the architecture ,the beach , design of the hotel was spectacular.the outstanding 5star cuisine at the restaurant and the jetty was delicious .The staff ,the navigators and the manager s hospitality and attentiveness was exceptional. Finest hotel in africa.We toured stone town ,(capital)which gave us a great insight into it s traumatic history. Just be aware of the taxis you use. Always check and agree the amount prior to your journey.The hotel staff will eagerly guide you. We salute and thank you for the amazing experience you gave us. Penny xTerrence E.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
dear Penny, dear Terence. I am glad to read that my predecessor is still doing a great job here (Nicolas left in May this year). And your comments about the food: I am very proud to mention that Rose, our sous-chef, has won the Tanzania Chef's Challenge and her colleague, Dora, junior Garde Manger, came in second. Really proud that 2 ladies are taking the top score here in Tanzania! Well, looking forward to your next visit! Best Wishes for this festive season. With personal Regards, Luc Verscheldn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We decided we were worth indulging ourselves with 2 nights and 3 days in Zanzibar.
Essque Zalu is paradise...
The design and architecture of the hotel are stunning and had been so well thought! For instance, from any of the pools, you sight was prolonged all the way to the ocean, so it felt like actually being in the sea...
We took a ocean view bungalow package that included breakfast and lunch or dinner.
The bungalow had nice proportions a well-sized bathroom, view on the ocean, or rather the jetty for us.
The food was delicious and exotic (and we are from Tahiti, so we know about exoctic).
The personnel was gracious, smiling, indulging..
We organized a jet ski tour...Nice!
We also tried the spa. Nice...the downside is that when you book for a certain duration ( 1 hr or 90 min), they include in the time your arrival, filling of the discharge form, feet cleaning and changing, so you actually get a lot less than your planned massage time..:-(

Memorable stay indeed...We have found our retreat in Zanzibar and will definitely go back to Zalu

Room Tip: ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Chers Amis Tahitiens. thank you for your wonderful remarks as well as the one detail about the wellness centre, which i already have addressed with the team. Since you will be coming back, we'll make it up to you! En vous souhaitant nos meilleurs voeux de fin d'année. Cordialement, Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It starts with the General Manager Luc who welcomes the guests personally! Fantastic place, great people also those who work predominantly in the background.
Great hotel, superb architecture, spacious and clean bungalows, excellent food, very friendly staff. Very good value for money. Great place to chill but also good base for excursions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Rita. we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Essque Zalu. It was indeed an contrast compared to the snowy mountains in Zug, and we hope that you had your dose of vitamin D to last for the winter. But I am sure that a glühwein and a raclette will make the cold weather be more tolerable. Wishing you and yours the best of the season! Frohe Weihnachten und guten Rutsch! Personal regards, Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The best in Africa! Rooms, dinner, staff, ... It's one paquage that fit!it starts from the arrival in the hotel and it stays till the last minute. Didn't know that this existst. Jetty-food at the pier is delicious. Truely heaven on earth. Thanks for the week at Zalu.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NicholasDecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nicholas; thank you for your beautiful comments! Our team does the utmost to ensure you, our valued guests, feel welcome and yes, if we can transform this resort into heaven on earth, this is fantastic. thank you again for your visit and till we meet again somewhere in the Ajuine city in Belgium and reminisce whilst enjoying a Grimbergen! best personal regards. Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked in 6 nights through Imagine Africa as part of honeymoon following a few days in the Selous. We stayed in a beautiful sea front suite so we had a great view of the sea and jetty from our bedroom window. First impressions were amazing, the style of the main building, the layout of the pool, the jetty and our home for the next 6 days. The suite was very spacious and clean and no mozzies!
We stayed full board and meal options were good. The only disappointing thing was that the Swahili option in the evening was the same every night so we only had that once.
The real highlight was the quality and value of the spa treatments. Those girls work hard! We had an hour long couples massage included in our honeymoon package but we didn't stop there. I had a further two massages and the wife had a pedicure, facial and another massage. All this in the space of 6 days, you couldn't keep us away. It was real value for money with the effort they put in and if you book a 60min massage you actually get 60mins unlike in most spas in London where you'll probably only get 45mins.
Location on the island in terms of excursions we wanted to do wasn't the best. However, the hotel can organise full day and half day trips out which we would recommend. On one day we had a trip tailored slightly for us. We went swimming with dolphins in the morning in the south before going to The Rock restaurant for lunch. Highly recommend this!
Overall, Essque Zalu was a very beautiful and relaxing experience and is perfect for people who want to kick back. It works for a honeymoon as long as you don't mind seeing people around. There will be other resorts which will give you more privacy and isolation so I depends what you're looking for.

Room Tip: The resort has ocean view and sea front suites. sea front are the ones right on the edge of the clif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJBB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
dear Honeymooners from London! we are so happy to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at Essque Zalu. True, the seafront suites give you that unbeatable view past the jetty (on a clear day you could almost see Dubai, LOL). It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to our therapists; i do agree they are amazing (i spoil myself once in a while). Zanzibar is a small island destined for R&R. Choice of excursions are indeed limited and if you've been snorkeling in the south, eating lunch at the Rock and then back to Essque Zalu, well, you've toured the island. May i suggest that for your first anniversary we reserve a villa for you: full privacy guaranteed. With kind regards from a sunny Zanzibar. Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at Essque Zalu in October and fell in love with it! Great salted swimmingpool, lovely suits and villas with elegant furniture. The food at Essque is a pure culinary experience. The chef is definitely a magician!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine051072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
dear Delphine. thank you very much for your compliments on this website. In addition to our Chef being a magician, he has trained his team of Tanzanians and Zanzibari to do magic as well. We are very proud of them. Sunny greetings from a warm Zanzibar. Luc Verschelden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
23.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Property: Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing