We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort and were truly impressed by its beauty, style, cleanliness, service and quality of food. The gardens are truly lush and whilst we were strolling with our baby, it gave us a feeling of being in paradise. The Villas are amazing. Well appointed and functional. The décor is tasteful and compliments the style of the buildings. Every meal was a feast. The team has an attention to detail and the service is attentive yet not intrusive. The pictures and testimony from previous guests are not exaggerated! Congrats to the entire team. We can’t wait to go back…

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Frank. thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and even happier that you want to come back. Can i make a reservation? best regards and tot ziens. Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 655 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

After reading the exceptional reviews on here there was a lot of expectation riding on this hotel for myself and my girlfriend when we booked for a week in October... Essque Zalu met these expectations in every single way - it is simply perfection. From the moment we arrived we just felt so special which is exactly what you look for when you stay at a 5 star hotel and these guys have mastered it - the front desk staff were incredible (in particular Edgar) The pool and beach was to die for, the hotel was great at organizing trips and activities (Hugely recommend East Africa Diving for your Scuba fix and recommend using them if you want to go Dolphin Sighting too as the Fisherman Tours Dolphin Trip was not so successful;). Horse riding on the beach and in the sea was quite a highlight thanks to the hotel for organising that. My girlfriend tells me that the spa was superb. The food was excellent and we left the restaurant every night completely satisfied if not a little tipsy from the incredible wine that was on offer. Cocktails, snacks, lunches all absolutely brilliant and always available at any time. The room was perfect and very tastefully furnished. If you are taking your girlfriend on a romantic getaway then look no further than this hotel in Zanzibar, it was simply a perfect holiday. Particularly touched by the heartwarming farewell from all the staff at the end of the stay - again making us feel like celebrities!

Room Tip: We loved our garden view suite on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackA056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Jack. thank you for your raving remarks. And for someone who lives in paradise himself (Whistler), you know what you are talking about. It will be my pleasure to pass on your compliments to Edgar as well to our partners of East African Diving. And being the celebrities you are, compare our South African Wines with those of the Okanagan (especially Mission Hill). You will agree: good value for money, not so. Now go and prepare yourself for skiing on Blackcomb or Pemberton cross country. I do remember the apres-ski at Umberto's. or driving for dinner to Le Crocodile. Well sunny greetings from one paradise to another: from sunny and warm Essque Zalu Zanzibar to British Columbia, Canada. Kind Regards,,Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just completed a trip to Tanzania that included staying here for a week.
In short, it was a spectacular hotel, beautifully presented and idyllically located.
We stayed in suite 54, and it was massive, we loved the layout.
The service was amazing, first rate. Nothing was ever too much for the staff. What I think they have done here is manage to maintain the status of a major hotel chain in terms of scope, size and service, whilst adopting the attitude of a boutique hotel in that every customer is important.
Just so people are aware, if you don't tip after each meal, they kind of expect it when you check out, so be prepared.
I found the meals slightly pricy, but nothing that would downgrade the status of this hotel.
The beach connected to the hotel isn't one you really sun bathe on. However, for us, given the layout of the pool and the views from it, I never felt the need. Still, you are in Zanzibar, you won't be short of beautiful beaches.
I have to say, if you go here and don't enjoy it, you're a very hard person to please because I've been lucky enough to travel the world and this hotel is one of the very best. Truly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear James. Thank you for your comments. Allow me to come back on the tipping policy: we "kind of expect tipping" is a correct statement, but only if the guests are truly happy and satisfied about their stay. If the guests feel that our team does not deserve a tip, we of course need to know so that we can improve on the "let-downs". You hit the nail on the head comparing the "big chain scope with boutique hotel attention to details". The owners, designers and management team have traveled the world; some of us worked indeed for large chains; and we have gathered our dreams of the "perfect world" and we are endeavoring day after day to make our dreams come true. your comment and observation indicate that we are on the right track indeed! Warm Greetings from Sunny Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good food, excellent service and a breath taking property!! Very relaxing as well as comfortable hotel and the jetty is just amazing! We had a great time at the Essque Zalu and will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Brineau. Thank you for your comments, very much to the point! And may i be as "to the point": Sunny and Warm Zanzibar is waiting for you, so when are you coming back? I am sure that the grey skies of London is increasing the urge. Well, we can't wait to welcoming you back! Till Then, Sunny greetings from Essque Zalu Zanzibar; Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

All comments made by previous travelers are true! Essque Zalu is striking by its fantastic traditional architecture and style, by the majestic size of its buildings, be it the public or private spaces, by its astounding seawater pool and jacuzzi, by its gastronomic restaurant that is part of the half board... It is a beautiful place, spotless and very comfortable. The decoration is stylish. The furniture and fixtures are of the highest quality and taste. Bed sheets and towels are exquisite. Mattresses and pillows are delicate. All equipment are well maintained and in perfect working order. So is the luxuriant tropical garden. The service is efficient yet discreet. The professional spa, with steam bath and sauna, using famous African products, adds an attraction to the hotel stay. If you always wanted to discover historic Zanzibar, add a sea dimension to your safari experience or simply look for an escape from a stressful life, Essque Zalu is definitely the answer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

good afternoon Marylène. WOW: My colleagues, reading your review, asked if you could write some travel magazine articles for Zanzibar... Your comments on your stay are very flattering and it gives me pleasure to pass them on to our team. When are you coming back? we would like to assure you that what you experienced is the norm here at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Cordialement, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just an hour's drive away from the airport, Essque is an impressive boutique hotel with all amenities you could want when you just want to get away from it all.

The staff are polite and helpful, the excursions add a flavour of fun to the trip (we did snorkelling, Stone Town tour and Spice tour), and the spa is absolutely delightful (steam & sauna available).

The food at the jetty restaurant is good for lunch and the Swahili and European options at dinner in the Market Restaurant are also solid. Cocktails are strong and reasonably priced (we're accustomed to London prices).

Finally the room is cleaned daily and turn down service is available every evening.

The only thing it is missing is a lovely beach on its doorstep but that's probably asking for too much. There is a nice beach about 15 minutes' walk away and the salt water infinity pool plus jacuzzi is more than adequate.

Overall, a wonderful stay with no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 11 is close to the main hotel but still has a beautiful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hairybeartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Hairybeartravels. Your comments are truly appreciated by the entire team. It gives the Pride in Achievement knowing that our guests go home with fond memories of their stay. As you indicated, we do not have a beach (we promote Essque Zalu Zanzibar as a Lifestyle Boutique Resort). And you are right: if you want a beach, you can walk a short distance or take the car for a 10 drive and you are on the CNN Awarded Best 100 Beach of the World. Sunny and very warm greetings from Zanzibar. Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Essque Zalu on Saturday 5th October to be greeted by the very friendly hotel staff and escorted through a partitioned entrance way to an astounding vista - an infinity pool merging into the azure waters of the Indian Ocean and on to the horizon. As we took in the sights and sounds of this open area near the pool chilled glasses of very refreshing fruit punch were presented to us, which after just over an hours transfer from the airport on a sunny day were a very welcome treat. Our assigned Garden Suite was not quite ready as we had arrived before noon however we were given a temporary room to relax in whilst ours was being prepared - a very nice touch rather than having to wait in a reception area whilst a room is being made ready.

Our first meal was at the Jetty Restaurant that was true to its word that we had read in previous reviews as being an excellent restaurant area - great service, vibrant menu and fresh fare. We would rate the overall service at the Essque Zalu as being very good to excellent with very friendly staff eager to help in any way they could. The room was clean and comfortable and very spacious with a verandah that was surrounded by a perfectly maintained garden.

My wife used the Spa facilities on two occasions and on both visits received excellent service. The main restaurant area - Market Kitchen - where we had breakfasts, a few lunches and most dinners was very airy and had a pleasant al fresco seating area. The staff are polite and offer a very professional service. We would like to particulalry commend Rasul who looked after us on two evenings we had dinner here with 5*star service. One more commendation to Fortunata at the Baobab Bar who on one afternoon when we were seated in the area between the bar and the Market Kitchen heard my wife coughing and of her own accord prepared a mixture of hot water, fresh ginger and honey and gave it to us. Great job!

Had a great holiday with two local excursions to Stone Town and a Spice Tour.On the day of departure as we were about to climb into our transfer vehicle had a great send off led by the GM and his team.

Rajeev, Camberley

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Ranjeev. Thank you for your kind remarks and observations. When i spoke to Nurse Fortunata, she remembers the moment vividely (she could even describe how you were dressed). I hope that you were able to take some more pictures on the way to the airport. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Sunny Greetings, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
23.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,725 reviews
48.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $367 - $868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing