We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$153
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$138
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
$402
$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$619
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$370
$287
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
552
125
35
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
125
35
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket kitchenour honeymoonmain buildinginfinity poolkids clubmassage roomprivate dinnerlow tidejetty barthe general managerstone townindian oceansalt waterhotel is beautifulpool sidea la carte menusea urchins
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 727 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are a Norwegian family of four (two teen-age girls) who came to relax after safari in Serengeti. The Essque Zalu lived up to all our expectations, and we had a wonderful time enjoying spacious and comfortable suites, beautiful gardens, and a very well planned pool area. The food was excellent. We loved the service concept of "navigators"; attentive staff throughout the resort dedicated to make our holiday unforgettable.Thanks to Nicolas and his team for making our stay a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leiv Sindre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Essque Zalu is a fantastic place to recharge, especially after a very rugged and busy safari on the mainland. Manager Nicholas is outstanding and even managed to arrange a last-minute charter flight for our group of 11 so we could spend an extra day at this very special hotel. The Jetty is heaven and the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSHSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We organized our wedding there this past month of December and everything was PERFECT! The food, the drinks, the service...The staff was very flexible and accommodating, they made sure to welcome every one of our guests with a lot of attention. Events were magical and were run very smoothly... During the day we hung out by the pool were you have a gorgeous view of the Ocean and the staff was taking care of our every single need.
The rooms are spacious and beautiful, even garden view rooms are super luxurious.
Must location if you are planning a wedding in Zanzibar, a romantic escapade or a family trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoubaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff are all really friendly, breakfast is very substantial. We were on half board and although the menu does not vary much for the 5 nights we were there is was not too monotonous. the room and bathroom are very nice, we were in a detached garden view suite 32 which was very private and quiet. there are other suites that are one up one down, probably the sea view is up, but i think there is less privacy. There were a few things that I felt could be improved. Tea and coffee making in the room would have been good, a sofa which is comfortable rather than an uncomfortable sofa bed, not charging for water if half/full board was included, additional TV in the bedroom. The resort does not have a beach, the infinity pool somewhat makes up for this. The resort has a very romantic setting which is spoiled by the number of children running around the pool, it evidently caters to large families givven the number of self catering villas that are on site. it doesn't cut it for a romantic getaway, it does for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Room 32 was detached, private and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Bon jour and compliments of the season from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

We are thankful for your email and delighted to know you had a great time with us albeit the little concerns you have raised. We appreciate your constructive feedback and allow me to assure you that we will surely look into them and endeavour to sort them out ASAP. Thank you for letting us know on this.

The beach indeed is not swimmable as it is only accessible at low tide when all the sea water goes a long way out however, at high tide, it is one of the best spots to take a dip from the jetty area and all our guests have had a great time swimming from there. Not having a beach in the first place is a deliberate action from our owners as our aim is to run an efficient lifestyle hotel where guests come to enjoy the tranquil and scintillating moments they miss in their daily lives and to thoroughly enjoy the zen like ambience Essque Zalu Zanzibar offers.

The resort since its opening in June 2011 has increasingly become well known for Honeymooners looking to enjoy their precious moments of being together with their loved better halves, however on the other hand, we have also become well known to be a family resort where kids can be kids and also enjoy their holidays like their parents, and to ensure that they do not disturb other guests, we have an established kids club that plans the kids daily activities, keeping them occupied and entertained for the course ofthe day. Our sincere regrets for the inconvenience the kids playing and running may have caused you.

With thanks and warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We went there to celebrate a friend s weddind this december.
The resort is amazing, it s even better then the pictures we saw before coming.
On our first night we had diner at the jetty, it was an amazing experience and food was good.
Diving centers are 15mins away from the resort and you can also swim there ( zanzibar water sports), honestly the beach is nicer there because You can t really swim in the beach of essque since you have to wait for the tide all the time but the pool is amazing and very relaxing.
Staff was very kind.
Our room had a garden view, it was very clean and pleasant but it needs more light.
I highly recommend this boutique hotel for couples and families.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Bonjour from Unguja (Zanzibar)

We are sincerely grateful that you enjoyed your stay at Essque Zalu as part of the Rouba-Kadri wedding group. Your encouraging remarks are of great importance to all of us as it pushes us to deliver more and meet our guest's expectations.

As for the beach, it is only available at low tide when the water goes quite a way out leaving a flat sandy area for people to walk around and enjoy, while at high tide, our guests can take full advantage of swimming from the jetty where the sea level is above 3.5 metres and alternatively, we have a spacious salt-chlorinated infinity pool allowing guests to enjoy the sea water like ambience from the comfort of the pool or the jacuzzi built inside the pool.

Thank you once again and wishing you the very best for 2013!

Warmly

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews