We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience I Could Have Ever Asked For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have traveled the world. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels.

This hotel by far exceeded my every expectation. It was a dream. I was absolutely intoxicated by the whole experience.

The ambiance is amazing. It is extremely comfortable just to hang out in the common areas. The staff is second to none and was friendly courteous and extremely genuine. I love that most of the managers are Tanzanian.

The food is unrivaled! Everything I ate was delicious!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Couples and Families alike. I would love nothing more that to return and spend more time here.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are wonderful. You cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haugen483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour and warm greetings from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

Your exciting review is received with extreme gratitude! We are extremely delighted to learn that the hotel exceeded your every exectation and that you had a memorable time with us!

We do hope that we get the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Zanzibar,

Feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do for you or if you have friends coming this way, we would love to assist,

Thank you once again

Warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 660 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Essque Zalu!

The place is absolutely beautiful and the service is 'First Class'. Our 10 yr old son was delighted (and so were we) with the kids club as they had activities in the morning, afternoon and evening. The pool is simply fantastic and the beach is stunning, having the low/high tide change every 6 hours is very fun. During the low tide the sea recedes significantly and you can walk and see star fishes.

The rooms are perfect, spacious and very well maintained. The garden is beautiful and designed in such way that each room is kept private. There are a few Baobab trees around.

Plenty of things to do, all kinds of activities to book, WiFi all around the facility, excellent SPA. Food was great, specially diner as it was simply delicious.

I would say our best vacation ever.

Many thanks to Nicolas, Fortunata, JJ, Godfrey, Hilal and all the staff. We would like to visit you again.

Regards,
Cesar (Venezuela)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour Cesar,

We are grateful for your fabulous review. We do hope you got back home safely?

The ladies from the Kids club had a great time having your son in the daily activities and they send their greetings to your son!

We hope to see you all at Essque Zalu soon,

Warmly,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

One word springs to mind immediately - WOW! From the very first time you set eyes on the property, which you cannot miss as the pitched thatched roofs of the main reception/guest area are huge, you are just taken aback.

You walk through the spacious and contemporarily-designed guest areas, onto the main pool area - and WOW again. The blue infinity pool stretches out in front of you to the very edge of the rocks above the beach, with sun loungers dotted around, some on their own ‘private’ pods either set in the pool or around the outside, and the wooden jetty reaches out into the ocean itself.

There are 3 types of ‘standard’ villas - either Garden View, which as the name suggests, has a view of the lovely luscious green gardens; Sea View - from which you have a partial view of the ocean; or Ocean Front - the prime ones if you can afford these, as they are right at the front of the property, with interrupted views out over the ocean itself. The villas are spacious and extremely comfortable.

The 3 and 4 bedroomed villas are ideal for families or groups of people travelling together - beautifully decorated again, with a huge lounge/dining area, your own kitchen, all the bedrooms are en-suite - and you even have your own private massage room! Coupled with your private deck with plunge pool, and upstairs balcony, and you may never want to leave the villa at all.

The Spa is another WOW factor - incredibly calm atmosphere, and the facial I had there was easily in my Top 3 facials of all time. In fact, it may even be Number One, I enjoyed it so much.

You can choose a la carte, if you want to experience some game meat, or you can otherwise eat at the Market Kitchen, which offers a set menu every night. Breakfast is buffet style, with a choice of hot or cold selections. For lunch, I would recommend going to The Jetty, which offers a fusion of Arabic style food, and a wonderful view back towards the main property. And definitely go out onto the jetty at sunrise and sunset for some stunning picture opportunites.

The beach is tidal, but you can safely walk along it in the mornings to the nearby aquarium and visit the turtle sanctuary there, and shop at some of the local craft stalls on the beach.

It is just a 90 minute drive from Stone Town, so you can easily do day trips to here if you can bear to drag yourself away for a few hours, and getting to and from the airport is a doddle.

The staff are friendly and courteous, the villas lovely, the main areas welcoming, and you really will not want to leave at all. We stayed just 2 nights here, and it was a real wrench to say goodbye after such a short time. After a week here, I would imagine you would be in floods of tears.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour and warm wishes from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

It is so heart warming to recieve a thorough and detailed review of our property; it means a lot to us knowing you had a wonderful time with us.

You are perfectly right when you mention that after a week here, a lot of guests do not feel like going back - we always tell our guests, you arrive as guests but you leave as close friends where so many stories and experiences have been shared between the guest and us! It is also sometimes quite difficult for us to say good bye hence we say A Bientot - see you soon again!

Thank you once again for such a fantastic review,

Best regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a full week at Essque Zalu after being on safari in Kenya. And it is the perfect place to wind down and relax. The setting in a beatiful garden, with a fantastic salt-water pool overlooking the ocean. The house where we stayed was large and luxurious, with a small private jacuzzi pool right outside our door. The food was also great, especially the slipper lobster for lunch comes recommended. There is also an abundant supply of fresh fruit of outstanding quality. Lunch at the jetty is a must, enjoying the view of the place from way out into the sea. Service was very good at all times, and friendly. With a personal touch from manager Nicholas and all the other staff. A very special place at a very special island.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a view of the ocean. The cost is a little higher but it provides more privacy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peres0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a beautiful hotel, with exciting architecture in a magnificient landscaped garden. Walking into the hotel was like walking into heaven. Fantastic view of the beach and ocean. A beautiful terraced pool giving a visual feeling that it was a part of the ocean. Fantastic service; friendly, charming and always present. In a personal way. We were treated and felt like kings and queens. At the same time we got good contact with the people and could learn about their background and culture. Interesting and rewarding. And the general manager was giving a personal touch to our visit by following us up regularily during our 7 days stay. Well done. The hotel facilities, with the restaurant, bars and in particular the jetty was excellent. The jetty was built almost 100 meter out in the ocean and gave a breathtaking view of the coast and the hotel. What a sourrounding for lunch and the sundowner. Our spacious villa was very luxuries. Beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, own living room and a large, private terrace were we had dinner one night. Magnificient. We will never forget our first impression with the beauty, the incredible luxury villa, our private whirlpool where we enjoyed chilled champagne. What a start. Last, but not least, the food was of very high quality, exciting, different, fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour and warm greetings from sunny Zanzibar!

Our heartfelt appreciations for your astounding review of your recent experience at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. It is heart warming to receive such fabulous remarks on the architecture, decor and ambience of Essque Zalu and of the accomodation and its overall feel - the lifestyle component of the hotel combined with the contemporary African feel, awes many of our guests who fall in love with Essque on arrival.

We also hope that you had a wonderful time diving around the fantistic waters of North Eastern Zanzibar and further your kids enjoyed their introductory diving lessons? The waters and reefs in this area is abundant in under water flora and fauna giving divers a multitude of experiences in their dives; I personally love diving here and always recommend many of our guests to atleast once venture out on dives or snorkelling trips as it is amazingly beautiful.

With this, thank you once again,

Warm regards

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After seeing this resort feautured on Masterchef SA, we decided to treat ourselves to our first Zanzibar visit, and what a magical time we had!! The resort is one of the most beautiful places we've ever seen and been to - from the amazing architectural layout, the specatcular view, the turquoise water, the incredible service and attention to detail, to the culinary delights awaiting at every meal. We were made to feel like royalty by all the staff ( love the concept of "navigators") with exceptional service from Edgar, Sadam, Dau, Fortuna, Maria, Merci, and all the barmen, waiters and poolhelp. The manager, owner and security manager add their special personal touch. The atmosphere is calm, relaxed and exclusive, with every whim being catered for. Plenty of personal space, beautiful gardens, meals served at the table ( no buffet style) with plenty of choice. Michelin star meals are served at the upstairs restaurant - a truly mouthwateringexperience and the presentation a feast for the eyes. This is a very special place !! Sitting at the jetty watching the dows go out across the reef is a picture we will never forget. We will rave about the people of Zanzibar and this resort for ever, and highly recommend it to anyone. We hated leaving and will be back. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: sea view room, you do not need a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Jambo and warm greetings from Zanzibar,

Your wonderful feedback is sincerely appreciated by my team and myself. I have taken the liberty to personally thank all the member of staff you have mentioned in your review and I must say that everyone had this beautiful smile of appreciation on their faces, which for me is one of the best sights to see.

As a matter of information, the design and architecture is by an Italian architect who specialises in luxury villas and when the owners approached him to design Essque Zalu Zanzibar, he was overjoyed with excitement to take on this mammoth project. He suggested that the design should be minimalist and one that has open spaces to give guests a feeling of openness and space. He assured the owners that once he is done with the designing of the resort, the feel and ambience will leave guests and visitors speechless - Allow me to say that when we saw the finished structure, it surely left us speechless as the real thing exceeded our expectations by far! Therefore it is really nice to hear some fabulous things about the design and structure at Zalu.

Our culinary team, headed by our executive chef Mr. Jussi, who has immense experience on the island, loves to create a fusion of experiences when creating the menus and your enthusiastic feedback always encourages the team to bring more creativity to their work spaces.

Thank you once again and hope we all see you soon in Zanzibar again,

Asante Sana

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

After a weeks safari, we finished our honeymoon with a week at Zalu. Booked through Imagine Africa, our driver met us at the airport and took us straight to the hotel.

On arrival, we were greeted warmly by one of the teams and shown to our room - or maybe cottage would be a more accurate description! The cottage was gorgeous, and very large!

The pool and jetty were amazing! The view of sunset from the jetty is definitely worth the walk! During low tide you can get down to the beach and walk along to a turtle sanctuary.

The food was very good, and as honeymooners we got a free upgrade to full board. My favourite meal of the day was breakfast- lots of choice and they even cook pancakes and waffles!!!

Overall, definitely a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

Thank you for your recent stay at Essque Zalu Zanzibar which was booked through Imagine Africa.

It gives my team and myself immense pleasure in receiving your positive and encouraging feedback on Tripadvisor on your stay at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. We always share all Tripadvisor feedback with our team who also wish to extend their appreciaitions and warm wishes to you.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us so thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience on this site.

With thanks and warm Wishes,

Nicolas Konig
GM - Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
23.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
48.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $374 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing