We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice, but lacks in service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice, but lacks in service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms and facilities are impeccable and look excellent.

Staff does not speak English as fluent in the safari regions of Tanzania. This makes their service a bit lacking. They do things you don't ask and don't do things you do ask.

Breakfast system is a bit confusing and not really inviting: I would like real buffet over the deli-style.

Music in Baobab bar is 70's-80's classics, which makes the atmosphere of the nearby restaurant a bit tacky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    90
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
131
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

A place that makes you truly understand the word "experience"; naturally indulgent

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaumontsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We loved our time in Essque Zalu, and from our greeting upon entering the hotel to the wonderful serinade by the staff on the day we left, Essque does not disappoint. We spent 2 weeks in March 2012 at this beautiful property. The management and staff are exceptional and work dilligently to meet every need and every request. While the hotel is grande, infinity pool is magnificent, and the cottages are beautifully done, I feel for us it was the level of service from the staff each day for the entire 2 weeks that sets this hotel apart from many 5 stars we have stayed at in the past. The daily small courtesies demonstrated to us daily from the staff at the Jetty, the Pool, the Lounge, the Restaurant and Cottages made it easy to relax and enjoy the views, the weather, and the beauty of Zanzibar. Tours provided through the hotel were well done, and our driver (provided through the hotel) was great and very knowledgable. The cottage we stayed in was beautiful, clean and well maintained for our entire visit. Food service was excellent. I would recommend Essque Zalu to anyone looking to relax, be pampered, and enjoy the beauty of Nungwi. Thank you to each staff member. You create the "personality" of the hotel that we enjoyed so much. We have been back 3 months and still wish we were back in Zanzibar! Thank you ESSQUE ZALU for a wonderful end to our Adventures in Africa and trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneworldonerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Im a bit late with this review as I was travelling here in November last year, but its better late than never.
This is a fairly large establishment on north on Zanzibar (Nungwi) where most of the people tend to visit during their stay on Zanzibar. Zalu represents the best place to stay if you are looking for comfort and luxerious surrounding. All materials used excepts the roof seems to be imported. Its done very nicely and through out your stay you get the best service possible.
We stayed in a seafront villa which was very nice, good design, good aircon, and one of the nicest ever bathroom I have ever put my foot into. Well done.
It was a bit of a low season when we visited and stayed for 2 nights, and not many guests at all, which made us feel very well taken care of. Fresh fruits on ice during the day served complimentary by the waiters around the pool.... not bad at all. The pool is really big, and there is a very nice spa area as well. I like the hammock arrangement close to the pool, very cool.
The food (if you stay fullboard) perhaps does not come up to the standard you would wish, except for the lunch out on the Jetty which is very very nice, and also the choice for breakfast has to mentioned. (if you get what you ask for....)
The only really not too good thing was that there is no beach at all. So if you are looking for a long stretch of white sand...
Its not a cheap hotel, but still if you wish to wind down and if you dont like or care about the Zanzibari-style, this is the perfect place to stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensenville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I selected this hotel for rest and relaxation after an 8 day safari. This hotel is everything that I hoped for. The rooms are spacious and luxurios. The service is extremely good and the employees are very helpful and will do anything to make your stay here the best possible experience. The food was very good and there is a good selection of wine to accompany your meals the only drawback to this hotel is the deplorable condition of the road that you must travel on to get into the hotel. This road is in horrible condition, the potholes make it very difficult to maneuver and the driver that brought us to the hotel said that he did not want to bring us here because of the condition of the road and the potential damage to his vehicle. I would highly recommend this hotel but the owners of this luxurios resort need to get the road fixed because it's not a very good introduction to their very beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfpoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Essque Zalu saved our honeymoon. We had been booked into another hotel on the peninsula, which was terrible. We called ahead (having found this place on trip advisor!) and were offered a room straight away. Having explained our situation to the booking manager, he offered us a free upgrade to an ocean front cottage, where a bottle of bubbly was waiting on our arrival.

Firstly, the suites are everything you would expect from a 5 star suite: very comfortable, spacious and immaculate. The resort itself is beautifully set, with an amazing garden that also gives a lot of privacy to the suites/cottages. The architecture of the main resort building is something worth seeing in itself, and the wonderful sweeping ocean view over the resort's jetty is spectacular and romantic.

The staff were all friendly and attentive, and the senior management made real strides to greet and speak with guests every day to ensure everything with the stay was going as it should be. The food and cocktails were also very good. We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to couples.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a fabulous, genuinely "luxury" hotel. We stayed here over Easter with two groups of friends, all of us with children. The moment you walk into the vast reception and then look up to the towering expanse of the traditional thatched roof structure (possibly built to an unprecedented scale?) you realise this isn't an ordinary Zanzibar resort. The rooms are very spacious, modern, with subtle touches of traditional design, with everything done to a very high standard. The pool and sunbathing area are both beautifully done, and the jetty, complete with restaurant at the end adds a special touch. The food really warrants a special mention, as it is really high-quality international standard food (primarily seafood, as you would expect, though the menu is extensive) which would compare favourably with high-quality food destinations internationally such as London, New York, Montréal or Tokyo. There is a children's club at this hotel and although they were having a few teething problems the management did everything possible to rectify this problem immediately, so the rest of our stay was extremely relaxing, knowing all the while that the kids were having great fun playing with other children. The managers are clearly very experienced and very courteous indeed, and we really appreciated their professionalism. There is no beach to speak of at this particular location, but you can snorkel off the jetty and also access very nice beaches along the coastline, about a 10 min walk at low tide. You can also take cheap taxis to Kendwa Rocks were you'll find a beautiful sandy beach at all times of the day. Although the staff are very friendly, one thing that could be improved is the standard of spoken English. Please don't get me wrong, I'm not making the chauvinistic assumption that everybody in the world should speak English. However, this is not a cheap hotel and if the staff struggled to understand some of the English spoken by British and American guests, we imagine it may have been even more difficult for non-native English speakers staying at the hotel. Overall, however, this is a really wonderful place which we shall recommend widely to friends in East Africa and beyond.

Room Tip: Seaview is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
23.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Property: Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing