We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be bothered!”
Review of Casa Umoja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Umoja
Ranked #19 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Reviewed October 30, 2011

No hot water then no water, bed bugs, begging dogs, and half assed staff... Be careful! (apparently it runs better when the owners are around)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Casa Umoja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here in spring 2010.

Looks nice at first glance. We managed to get a good deal since we went to Zanzibar during the rain season. The guys that owned the place was not there and the guys that was looking out for the place were ok but a bit lazy. They liked to relax. A lot.

Regarding the rooms we had bedbugs in the first one. We then got a new one but the waterpump was broken so we were unable to flush and shower for long periods of time.

The hygiene in the kitchen was not the best and all of us got sick. Breakfast was included but sometimes we had to wait for an hour fot the guys to either wake up or buy food.

There were two dogs full of tics and they slept outside our room. At two points a tic-"nest"(?) let out hundreds of tic-babies that ran around the entire floor outside our room which might have been the most disgusting thing ever.

One of the guys claimed he was a masseuse, I fell for it, paid him way too much and had the most awkward massage of all time. Guess he lied just to be able to touch me quite improperly and get paid for it.

On the other hand they really helped me when I got really sick and thought I had malaria. Turned out that I had a severe stomach infection and some other bad stuff. So they were nice, with a few slips...

One girl that stayed on ground level had a man break into her room at night. She managed to get him out of there. If I remember right he touched her and was really creepy. Non of the people working there cared about the incident.

I believe that this place is super nice during high season. It had all the potential for it but due to all the tics, the dirt, the not so good breakfasts, non-flushing toilet and broken shower and impropriate massage I would stay somewhere else if I went to Zanzibar again. I love Zanzibar though, it´s such a lovely place and the people there don´t hustle you like they do in Mombasa.

The last few days we went to Hilton, took our last money to be able to shower, eat well, flush the toilet and sleep in clean beds.

Hilton´s food was the best. Eat there, not at the beach restaurants. Just a little bit more expensive but soooo much better. The food at the other restaurants wasn´t all that actually, for Zanzibar being named Spice Island. Hilton has chefs, educated kitchen personal I guess.

Sorry Casa Umoja, I which I could give you a better review. Maybe this can help you guys to try a little bit harder during crappy seasons as well as during the sunny ones.

Room Tip: Make sure toilet and shower works. Check for bedbugs.
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annoeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Beautiful garden and comfortable place where spend the nights in Nungwi. Rooms clean, Mosquito net, fan, good toilet with hot shower. No air conditioned. Good breakfast. Good price for the quality gave. Very close to the beach and near good restaurants. They have restaurant too. is possible to put your tent inside the garden.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Casa umoja is a lovely small guest house and family villa few steps from the beautiful beach of Nungwi. There are simple banda directly on the sand and standard rooms in the main building. We splept in the luxury banda and we loved it! The place is small and this maked it more gorgeous and enjoyable. Everything is clean and so warmly and typically decorated. The staff is simply great, full of attentions and extremely kind. They are all ready to help you for everything, even personal stuff that shouldn' t be any of their bussiness.
Breakfast is unforgettable and delicious. A lot of fresh fruit, omelette, bread with jam, a kind of pancake, warm biscuits and fresh made juice besides coffee, tea or milk.
The place is really almost on the beach, few steps and from your room you are in front of the beautiful indian ocean.
We had a wonderful time there, especially thanks to Simona and Mustafa, the special owners of this special place. I would higlhy reccomand people going to zanzibar and not searching for a 5 stars all inclusive village to go there. You will have a great time.
Special thanks for the delicious lobsters we had on request last night of our holiday, prepared in two different ways in spite of the really late request we did for it.
Thanks for everything.
PS Search on facebook "casa umoja" for some pictures

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessia_m82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Casa Umoja is a very small guesthouse with a private garden and beautiful large rooms. Although its not situated ON the beach but about 70m away, its a good place to relax and get away from the ever present hawkers. Be sure to visit the restaurant at Union bungalows (in front of Casa Umoja) for their Tsh7000 (around $5) fish bbq dinners!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger and more private.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrouVrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adviser062017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 48 in Nungwi
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Umoja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Umoja

Address: Nungwi 3796, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Umoja is a quiet and comfortable place to stay in Nungwi, North coast of Zanzibar island located in the Indian ocean, East-Africa. Situated just a few steps from a beautiful white sandy stretch of Nungwi beach you will find everything the amazing spice island offers to its interested travellers. It is our aim to create a cosy local atmosphere for our guests in order to enjoy the marvellous surrounding and setting of Zanzibar island by indulging in Swahili culture apart from big hotel chains. Our big tropical garden invites you to rest in tranquillity and to make new contacts whatever your interest will be ... This is why we have chosen the Kiswahili expression 'Umoja' for our guest house: 'Umoja' means Unity and Community! Make your stay a special experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Umoja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Umoja Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing