We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a boat ride!”

East Africa Diving Centre
Ranked #4 of 14 Tours in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a boat ride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We did two snorkel trips with these folks. One a short trip to Kendwa reef. Quite inexpensive and the snorkeling was so-so. The second trip was to Mnemba island reef. Still reasonable at about $50/each. The thirty minute ride from Nungwi beach area was chop pounding thirty knot passage in a semi-rigid dive boat. That allows for longer water time than most competitors but is a bit wearing both ways. The reef was as good or better than any in the Caribbean, Hawaii or Mexico. Remarkable number and variety of fish and coral. Well done.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brits4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Loved the speedboat! We could easily change spots that way and Even follow the dolphins! Experienced and trustworthy staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I recommend this dive centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great staff, very friendly- especially the English lady on duty at the Hotel Z. I hadn't dived in 20 years and they made me feel at ease.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwissW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An ok dive operator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Staying only one day in Nungwi, we went for two local dives with East African Divers; they didn't do the Mnemba atoll that day. We were four divers, one dive master, a captain and a crew member in an old dhow that was not specifically equipped for diving, but it worked well for our local dives. The briefing and general attention to detail was ok, nothing more, nothing less. We were asked to carry the rental gear back from the boat and clean the wetsuits.

Paying with a credit card did however prove to be quite difficult. First the card terminals at the main shop weren't able to connect to the server. Later we went to their Doubletree counter, but with the same result. We had to make a third attempt the next day, before finally succeeding in paying.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dancestance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great master, equipment needs some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went out for a day with this group. The group was quite large and there was a bit of an issue with all the equipment not working properly. The guides were able to eventually sort things out, but it did not give me a great feeling throughout the day. The dive master was wonderful and very patient with those of us who hadn't dived in a while. If I went again, I would definately go with a smaller group.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RMATravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Africa Diving Centre also viewed

 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to East Africa Diving Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing