We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!”
Review of Smiles Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiles Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Nungwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 10 days here, and is one of the most beautiful places I have been too. The 5 houses have a lot of character which was a lovely change from the norm, the appartments are spacious and the bathrooms are well decorated. The air conditioning provides a great escape from the midday sun and the hot water a refreshing change to most hotels in Zanzibar. The views from the well kept garden are beautiful. Whether it be sun rise, watching the fishing boats come in or midday when the sea glistens or sunset over the dhows leaving for the night, you can guarantee a beautiful sight. The bar does not serve alcohol, but works out well as can bring the drinks you want or they are more than happy to get it for you. The food is fresh, particularly the tuna, which I really recommend. The staff are particularly friendly and always there to meet all your needs and go out of their way. What was great about this place, was it felt unique and quiet, not too many people which made it all a lot more private. Although if you are looking for busy all you have to do is walk next door to some nice restaurants and bars. So enjoy lying in the sun on the well positioned sun beds and slack up the atmosphere as really won't forget it, an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent several nights in this beautiful hotel in mid December and had a wonderful time. The rooms were situated in four houses which were rather like dolls houses overlooking the well kept gardens and private beach. The rooms were some of the cleanest I stayed in in Zanzibar, with comfortable beds, mozzie nets which were well maintained, and airconditioning. The hotel is set on the beach front, with its own private sunbeds and a restaurant which served fresh juices and fruits, eggs and tasty pancakes for breakfast and had a large menu for lunch and dinner, and waiting time for food was not long, unlike some other hotels on the island. Alcohol is not sold but the staff do not mind you bringing your own drinks and with many neighboring bars a few minutes walk along the beach, this is not a problem and if anything, keeps the place from overcrowding with people who aren't guests. All the staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful, even if language was sometimes tricky for them. The manager oversaw everything and was very professional whilst appearing to maintain a good relationship with the staff, something that was not as apparent in other hotels I stayed in. All in all I had a lovely stay in a hotel that quickly felt like home and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My experience at Smiles Hotel started out positive and just kept getting better. The rooms (in cute tile roofed bungalows on the beach) are attractive and comfortable. Importantly, the a/c works well, and the beds are comfortable. The water pressure could have been better, but the shower was hot and the bathroom was very clean.

The biggest plus for me turned out to be the EXCELLENT management at the hotel. My airline was supposed to deliver a lost bag two days after I arrived at Smiles. When the airline called to say that I would have to collect the bag myself two hours away in Stone Town, the staff and manager at Smiles spent literally hours on the phone trying to negotiate for me. Ultimately, the manager arranged for someone to drive to Stone Town to collect my bag for me for a very reasonable fee.

Room Tip: I would imagine that a first floor room might have better water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a quiet relaxing time here for two nights in December with a clean room, air conditioning and cheerful staff. A low season deal meant it was very good value compared to many other hotels in the area. Only 16 rooms which meant the restaurant was very quiet, at times we had it to ourselves, so rather lacking in atmosphere. It also meant the food was a bit variable, one order for lamb chops was not good because they had a run on them at lunchtime! I think you are generally much safer with the seafood, but others were wandering to nearby restaurants to eat where there was a bigger turnover. The owner will not sell beer, perfectly understandable, but you can bring your own (2,500/- in the local shop) or they will get from the Hilton next door (5,000/-). It is a short walk from many other hotels and a few local shops if it all gets too quiet for you!

It is worth mentioning that there are various enhancements going on, currently to the restaurant/coffee bar area, but also planned to prove the clean but dark bathrooms. But we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this place for rest and relaxation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Big room/wc and pressure in the shower. Unfortunatly to hard beds, AC to noicy so we turned it off. Good location, breakfast that served real coffee and not that instans stuff. Unfortunately we made a bad deal with a local taxi that never showed up so plan B the hotel fixed a guy who took us to the airport, of course we hade to pay way to much for the transportation but we came to the airport. Maybe the hotel is a little bit pricy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary38Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights at this little hotel. It is cute with only 4 houses (each with 4 rooms) and a little sea view from the rooms on the first floor. It's relaxing watching the ocean from the sunbeds and the staff is nice - especially at the small restaurant. Breakfast was fine - I loved the fruit juices in the morning. Unfortunately the beach right in front of the hotel is not very nice due to rubbish that is brought with the high tides (as the hotel is located close to the fish market where all boats come in in the afternoons - very nice to watch the boats go in and out though!).
When walking west the beaches are very nice and there are many good restaurant - and great sunsets!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipanier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Competent (european) management. Very friendly service personnel. Fair prices everywhere and good restaurant. Beautiful location and good taxi-drivers (it's worth the hour's drive from Stonetown). Order transportation always thru Hotel. Room for Improvement in the looks of some amenities but everything worked. We had a great time(6 Days,5 nites) and would do it anytime again.

Room Tip: all rooms are fairly equal, the upper deck, of course, is the upper deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 19 in Nungwi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 46 in Nungwi
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiles Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiles Beach Hotel

Address: North Coast of Zanzibar, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Nungwi
Price Range: $109 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smiles Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiles Beach Hotel is located in the coastal fishing village of Nungwi, Zanzibar's north western coastline. Both Nungwi and the hotel boast the islands famous white sands and crystalline waters offering the picture postcard setting. Our family run hotel warmly welcomes all to come and enjoy Zanzibar's finest. With our resort on the beach, all of our 16 rooms face the ocean and our new swimming pool which stands as an oasis in the middle of our tropical gardens and the beach separating you with the azure waters. All of our rooms offer either a balcony or patio area allowing you to relax and watch the ocean and admire the simply awe-inspiring sunsets. Our staff welcome you with genuine smiles, and offer a high quality low profile service to allow you to relax and unwind. They will also helpfully assist in arranging any activities you may wish to take part in on or around the island. The opportunities for diving, snorkeling, parasailing and other water sports are vast and we endeavour to provide you direction to the greatest and safest options. Our Oceanside restaurant uses the best ingredients Zanzibar has to offer. We use the Indian Ocean and constant sunshine to our advantage sourcing you the finest fresh ingredients daily. Serving well put together food with a touch of Swahili authenticity. Under new management and receiving a little outlay, we are striving now for even higher standards, superior facilities and value for money. Our aim is always to offer you the very best experience of Zanzibar and we welcome you to our special little hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Smiles Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiles Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing