We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the doubletree and it was great. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with the cookie we knew it was going to be a heavenly stay. The service was flawless and the rooms were beautiful and well looked after. The food was delicious and all the staff, including and the pool bar, were the absolute best. Look forward to making my return to the doubletree Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Double Tree for one night for my bday. From the start to the finish, everything was immaculate. When we checked in the staff were straight away so friendly, they gave us yummy chocolate chip cookies and drinks while we signed in. We were able to to upgrade to a sea view room for only $12! The beach is absolutely breath taking, so we hung out on the beach and at the beach bar all day sipping on yummy cocktails on our all inclusive package. I told them it was my bday as we checked in, expecting nothing really, however I was pleasantly surprised. When we went down for dinner, they surprised me and my friend with a lovely table set up on the beach. We were assisted by Dennis, who was so pleasant and helpful! If that was not enough, towards the end of our dinner, all of the staff came out so happy and joyful singing Happy Birthday in Swahili. They even included my name in the song! Then they surprised us with a birthday cake with my name written on it. The whole time....I felt like crying because I felt so special! It took little to no effort but because of it I won't ever forget my 28th bday and the way the Double Tree made me feel. Thank you Dennis, and the rest of the staff for making my day special! We were really grateful. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Get a Sea View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Whats not to like - the best sea view from the balcony, perfect beach and resort area and nice food - especially the breakfast. And the very best thing was the incredible service from a nice and very friendly staff.

We went to Zanzibar in May (rainy season), but the staff made our stay so perfect even though it rained a lot!!

Stanislaus Nzwaga is the new front office supervisor and he made his job to perfection. We felt so welcome and he did everything he could to make our stay more than perfect. Stanislaus will make you smile no matter if it is rainy or sunny :-)

Victor Oluoch (beverage manager) wamly welcomed us in the restaurant every night. He was indeed serviceminded, kind and wanted to give ud the best experience with food and drinks :-).

Of all waiters Rashid Machano gave us the best service and the biggest smile every day. He deserves a big thanks.

The only thing that wasn't good and made me go from 5 to 4 stars was the cats. There was 2 cats walking around the restaurant every morning/night. The cats were constantly fighting each other and one night one og the cats jumped on to the buffet table. This is the only reason why i would try another hotel next time i go to Zanzibar - cause everything else was perfect ;-).

Do yourself a big favour. Go for a long walk at the beach and if you feel like it go to Kizimkasi (south island) and dive with doplhins. If you need a good and trustworthy driver then call Abdull (+255 773 498 052 - Stonetown) and let hin arrange a perfect drive and day trip from Double Tree for you.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view. You will not be disapointed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the hotel and I must say everything was near perfect. We stayed at the hotel from the 27 May - 3rd June 2014. The rooms were clean, the service was excellent and a special thanks to Dennis the waiter and Victor the manager who ensured that we were well looked after. The facilities are fantastic and the location right on the waters edge next to the local Nungwi village is just perfect. It was the first holiday alone for the wife and I and I must say we will be going back. This hotel should be priority number one on everyone's list who wants to visit Zanzibar. The service and the staff as well as the hotel far exceeded our expectations. Thank you all for a very memorable holiday and making it that much more special on my birthday with the beach dinner under our own little palm leaf gazebo. Fantastic - we will see you again in the very near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic and have views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After spending two weeks in Tanzania climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and driving through the Serengeti, my husband and I travelled to Zanzibar island for the last leg our honeymoon adventure. DoubleTree in Nungwi was the best blace for us to end our little getaway. We had an amazing stay while we were there. The staff was very accommodating. Our hotel room had an ocean room view which was so peaceful and beautiful, I couldn't stop taking pictures because I wanted to remember what it's like to wake up to that view. Everyday there's a different theme for the buffet menu which is fun. The dinner buffet out by the beach was very romantic. The place is kept up well and the amenities are readily available. The only downside was that there is not ATM on the resort or anywhere nearby. You would have to go into the city which is kind of a hassle so just be mindful of this. All in all, I had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovejosie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is an excellent couples resort. It is the perfect getaway for couples. I had such a wonderful time at the resort, the service is excellent, the evening ambience is exceptional, Rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had such a wonderful time at the hotel. Your experience is best when its All inclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Geofrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is hard to believe that this is not rated as a 5 Star hotel!!! Definitely THE place to stay in Zanzibar!!!
We had the pleasure of staying at Double Tree Hilton - Nungwi from 24 May to 31 May 2014 and it completely exceeded all our expectations!!!
Everything about this hotel is excellent - The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make our visit as pleasant as possible, always helpful and friendly… it would be unfair to mention any names as we don’t want to leave anyone out, from Management, front desk, restaurant, bar, spa, housekeeping, even the gardeners was always ready with a smile… every one really takes pride in their jobs.
The rooms are of very high standards, very comfortable and cleaned to perfection every day, and the view from room and balcony was absolutely breathtaking!! The pools and gardens are meticulously maintained on a daily basis… and the list goes on…
The Dolphyn bar was definitely also one of the highlights, sipping away on cocktails whilst sitting in the sparkling clean pool watching the most stunning sunsets…
The spa at the resort is also a “must do” A truly wonderful experience, The atmosphere and therapists have been spectacular!
We experienced the most enjoyable and entertaining evenings especially where dinner was served on the beach, not to even mention the special birthday suprizes that just kept coming!!! The effort made it the most memorable birthday ever! Thank you again!
The food was exceptional with menus that offers a variety of creative dishes every day. The meals were always very good, buffet or otherwise, and it would be fair to say that at each mealtime there was something good for all appetites.

We cannot fault this hotel in any way and recommend it to everyone - We were sad to leave after 7 lovely nights
We cannot wait to be able to return, this time with our children.
Asante Sana
matumaini ya kuona kwenu hivi karibuni

Clive, Athuranne and Hans xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athuranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
23.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $152 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing