We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon spoilt by bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

On arrival the hotel did not have an ocean view room, which we booked an paid for, the manager informed us that the room we were in was an oceanview room, as we could see the sea.

We were on honeymoon and the package included some extras which we did not receive and on day 3 we were provided with the extras.

On day 4 of our stay we were eventually moved to a proper oceanview room 325. On arrival in our new room, we found that the aircon was leaking and water was all over the floor, this took two days and continious complaining to get resolved. Furhermore we did not have any hot water for the full duration of our stay in room 325, this after we compalined every single day to the hotel manager, I got the sense that he did not really care about our problem.

All the compalining really spoiled the mood of our honeymoon, as all we wanted was to relax and get what we paid for. Up and until today we have not received any apology from the hotel for the inconvenience. I will not return to this resort

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oliver_fourie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Fourie,

We are sorry that your honeymoon was spoilt by the service you received at Doubletree By Hilton Nungwi

You have selected to lodge your grieviance throught he Hilton Guest Assiatance channel and we respond via this internal system
However, for those who will read your review, I must point that the Agency you booked your stay with, never informed us that you were honeymooners; it is only after numerous communications with them that they sent a mail apologizing for their mistake
The Honeymooner's package also clearly states that the upgrade is UPON AVAILALIBILITY

At the time of your arrival, the hotel was totally booked up and we were not in a position to upgrade you until the third day; we even moved some guests who had paid for an Ocean view in order to satisfy your upgrade
The rest of your package was provided in full
You should perhaps contact your Travel Agent to find out why they failed to give us the complete information about your honeymoon

All these documents will be provided through Guest Assistance

It is also common courtousy not to publish reviews which are being treated through the Guest Assistance Department until a full investigtion has been done and explanations have been provided to them in order to close the case

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a very nice hotel where the friendliness of the staff have to be commended. My wife and I stayed there for a week for her birthday and the hotel staff made every effort to make us feel welcome and to make her birthday special. We enjoyed the all inclusive package which was good value for money. The food is of a good standard although the breakfast could be more interesting. The hotel also succeeded in organizing entertainment in the evenings which capped an enjoyable day at this resort. All in all, great value for money and should I ever get the oppertunity to stay there agin, I certainly will. Johan & Bernadine Pienaar, Pretoria, South Africa

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Punte2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear punte2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in our resort; we are delighted that our team could contribute to making your wife's birthday such a special day

We will continue to work on the improvements you mentionned and hope that our new guests will benefit from your contribution

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a typical African Hotel in a most beautiful place. Life is chilled here and so is the service but every request is dealt with the staff cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Oh, and the cookies, addictive!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark & Annetta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Rooms are nice and clean. Hotel is located by the beach. Should have had more sunbeds, as there is not enough for all the guests. Service was poor - we were told upon arrival that breakfast was not included, even though we had paid for it. On our third day at the hotel the staff suddenly found out that they had made a mistake and gave us the wristbands for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Torbjoern Kvamm... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have just got back from 9 days stay at this hotel, and can anly recomend it, as we had a very pleasant stay. When I read some of the negative comments from others, one cannot start wondering, but as there are also many positives, we took the chanse and did not regret. The most serious problem I'd confirm, is that the rooms on the lowest floors has a smell of moist/humidity. Else we had nice rooms, nice view over the hotel and the sea, nice breakfast and some dinners. The people working there give excellent service, and they are always in a good mood and very friendly. Another reason for a successful trip for us was a local contact for (airport) transportation and other arrangments; Mr Mahad (galaxycafe@live.com or phone +255 (0)776 583535). You wil not regret contacting and using him if you are staying in Nungwi. Best regards from Martin

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor has no humidity smell as the lowest floors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Nungwi during Christmas and New Year 2013-14. We stayed here also 2 years ago. When we arrived we realised that something had happened to the hotel. The service was still very good, but there were lots of less nice things. We had a terrible smell in the bathroom. This was however solved by the housekeeping and the technical team. We realised that the new manager-team just had been there for 2 weeks. After some time we really could see the changes and improvement. The staff was very kind and helpful. When my husband got high fever, they called the doctor and he arrived after 15 minutes. The treatment was successful and after some day he was Ok again.
You could always see a smile in the face of the staff. They are pround of working there and the manager-team must be very lucky to have such nice staff. When we left the standard was almost the standard corresponding to Hilton-standard. We will for sure be back!/Christina and Stefan, Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Christefan 1,

WE want to thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive commenst and observations about the hotel and the staff performance during your stay with
The management take very seriously all feedbacks in order to continue working towards providing a unique guests experience in our resort

We realize that more work has to go into some aspects of the service as well as the quality of some areas of the property but we wish to re assure you that we spare no effort in putting in place those improvements

We look forward to your next visit to the Doubletree Nungwi

Sunny regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at this resort for a long weekend while working in Dar es Salem, An organised trip when in Tanzania, booked the ferry at the port and the hotel on line it was Cheaper than Chips in the U.K. Taxi from hotel to ferry port for a ferry trip to the island landing in stone town - the location were Freddy mercury was born visit the local bar in stone town before leaving- the taxi was booked when at the port by a local taxi sales guy as you board, I highly recommend this as they will be insured to take you to any resort within Zanzibar Always ask before you take a ride, If the taxi driver do not carry the relevant papers the police will charge YOU as a bribe to continue your journey this may happen more than once Be WARNED!!!
The double tree hotel is a fair distance from the port but a welcoming drive to arrival through the local villages then the gates of the resort welcome you, once in you will be shown to your accommodation an apartment which will be decorated with rose petals in all rooms and the bedding fabulous for that romantic reception for your partner. It will overlook the most beautiful outlook of Sky Blue Indian ocean and white sands before it = this was in my case about 100 metres.
The beach you can walk as far as it takes you passing various beach located bars and eating places tables on the beach in the evening A nice touch. the hotel has its own pool with bar and usual health facilities and commodities you would expect from a highly respectable chain of hotels - absolutely enjoyed the experience of being within the confinements of the Indian ocean plenty of time to sit around watch the world go bye . Falling out of the time Zone just the sun going down in the evening and the first light of day. Fantastic location for the experienced traveller with confidence .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

The Doubletree Nungwi team thank you for taking the time to share your experience whislt visiting Zanzibar and your time at the resort and its peaceful and natural surrounding

we are happy to have contributed to a pleasant and relaxing stay and hope that you will be able to come back foera second visit of the spice island

Sunny regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,114 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $135 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing