We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Double tree By Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the trip advisors' review and must say that I did a good selection. The best part of this hotel is the beach and the swimming pool. The color of sea water will really enchant you for sure. The pool is very nice and open almost 12 hours a day so you can enjoy & relax at poolside.

The rooms are spacious and decorated nicely. I do not want end up my review for this hotel without mentioning two names: Mayur- the recently joined cheff and Godfrey-the staff at reception. These two guys will be the jem of Doubletree for sure in future!

There are some concerns:
1. The floors at rooms are not good. The foot becomes red if you walk in barefoot. Hotel management should take care of this.
2. Breakfast: We availed for three days. but all three days were with same menu with NO CHANGE!
3. The food for vegeterians: a real challenge! Though with the joining of new cheff-Mayur who also hails from India, there will be a chance of adding more flavour to the kitchen!
4. The children bed: it is folded but really dosn't work for an adult of 13-14. Management of hotel should provide a seperate solid bed instead of folding one.

Overall lovely experience: stunning views of ocean, lovely swimming pool, spacious room- altogether. We will recommend others for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book roomat 1st floor which will help to have a great view of pool and sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RABINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear RABINDAS,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

I should pass the regards from Mayur and Godfrey as well, they appreciate the praise.

Regarding the floor of the rooms, we have to admit that the number of wax coat layers which were applied are not sustaining the humidity and resulting in the off going color. Although it is easy to wash of we have to apologize for that inconvenience. As of November we will be able to shut down the rooms by block to redo the floor treatment.
As mentioned in the previous communications with you, our extra beds are all rollaway beds due to the space available in the property and in the rooms. All rooms are laid-out for a double occupancy.

As you have a quite short journey we hope to welcome you again!!

Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooms are very nice, the place is beautiful and the service is of good level.
You can eat either at the pool bar (not very good),or at the buffet bar (did not try it, but it offers theme menus) or at the fish restaurant.

For food I suggest to visit the place around the corner, Gerry's bar, just crossing the border at the rght. Very good food.

There is NO ATM and withdraw from credit card at the hotel will apply 10% fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear mfransky,

thank you very much for your nice review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
Maybe you can let us know what specifically you didn't enjoy at pool bar.
We are always keen to improve the experience of our guests.

Sunny regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are planning to get to Zanzibar, Hilton DoubleTree is the best hotel for you. There are other hotels we visited, much more expensive, but I have no doubt that it is the ultimate hotel. The manager proved to be an amazing man. He helped us a lot. We were on "all inclusive" package, the food was amazing,the staff was very kind and smiling all the time, the place is secured all the time. If you gona do a safari in Tanzania I highly recommend this place for relaxing after the safari. For some reason almost no one enters the sea (Zanzibar in general) despite the stunning beach and water. Almost all the people staying at the hotel (Zanzibar in general). If you want, you can be arranged attractions like snorkeling and other excursions from the hotel. this hotel simply has everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Omri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Omri E,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience!
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we can welcome you again!!!

Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First impressions are certainly lasting! The warmth of the Zanzibar air doesn't come close to the warmth of the magical team at the Doubletree Nungwi. They truly understand service and people. A simple yet cumbersome task such as checking-in is made a pleasure by the staff since they do it while you relaxing in a comfortable outdoor lounge and taking in all the beauty that greets your eyes. If you've read about the signature Double Tree cookie, I can assure you it gives heaven a good run for it's money. especially when you greeted with one after a long day of travels. I celebrated my birthday at the resort and I can say with a great deal of assurance, it was the best yet! The most humble and warm gentleman, the food and beverage manager,and his lovely assistant went beyond their call of duty to create the most magical experience of my life. Everything at the resort is custom made to ensure your satisfaction. The spacious rooms have a lovely Zanzibari feel to it and is spotlessly cleaned everyday. The lovely creations displayed on your bed everyday certainly was a special touch to it all. Even though certain more economic room options say pool/garden view, these rooms also offer a beautiful view of the Indian ocean. There's fun activities to keep you entertained daily and vibrant cultural shows to keep you company while enjoying the fantastic dinners. We had 1 vegetarian with us who was never short of meal options and was always well catered for unlike many other resorts and hotels. The all-inclusive option we had opted for ensured we were never hungry or thirsty. The pool has a lovely bar in it, which proved to be my favourite place. We expected a lot from a Hilton group hotel but this resort far exceeded our expectations. The location of the hotel is also great, beyond it's majestic gates is the villages which lets you experience the real Zanzibar culture and living structures. The only issue is that the hotel rooms can only accommodate a maximum of two people; since we were a party of 3, a second room had to be booked at a much higher rate. Everything else, however, more than made up for the drawback. I never left a place with a heavier heart than when I had to leave the Doubletree Hilton Nungwi resort and the fantastic people we met!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have a health problem, book a ground floor room since there aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRIYANKA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear FutureNomad,

it was a pleasure to have you with us!!
Thank you very much for the warm words. It makes us proud that we
have succeeded with our efforts!

Karibu sana!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The best Hotel I've ever set my feet in! The Service was excellent, and The rooms was clean and smelled good/fresh. I didn't use the pool since i spend my days scuba diving, but i have never seen a better pool in it, and even with a bar in it. Just the best place you could ever go if you visit "north" Zanzibar!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Andreas W,

also here big thank you for the praise! We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again...

Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My lady friend and I enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend it to everyone!! Although situated next to poor area,we never felt unsafe.. Staff was very friendly and help full. Pool area with bar best along that coast! Thanks to all for a very memorable stay....

Room Tip: Room facing swimming pool and sea on 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 253Tosha253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear 253Tosha253,

also on this communication a big thank you for choosing Doubletree Zanzibar.
We hope to stay long time in your memories!

Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an amazing and relaxing holiday! The Doubletree Resort in Nungwi, Northern Zanzibar, far exceeded our expectations. Nungwi is a great little village and vibey enough that you don't feel isolated. The pictures certainly don't do the Doubletree Resort justice, and its great for families. The resort is perfectly located (you can run on the beach at low tide in both directions) and you lie on the resorts own beach, so the locals don't bother you trying to sell their curios. The staff were very friendly and happy and were so helpful with all our requests. We felt safe (there are guards along the beach to prevent the locals from hassling you to buy things) and the food (besides desserts) was great, especially if you enjoy seafood. We had the all-inclusive package, which is the best way to stay at this resort. Selected drinks and all meals were free of charge, and the pool bar has a lovely atmosphere (sip cocktails whilst lounging on bar stools in the pool). The white sands and crystal blue waters was exactly as we had imagined, although depending on the tide the water can become a bit murky due to the sand being churned up. Take a little swim out though and the water is crystal clear.

There are lots of activities to do, both in the hotel, along the beach and with guided tours. A must is the turtle conservation project, situated down the beach from the hotel, on the right if you are facing the sea. it's $5 per person, a guide takes you around the small area, explaining the project. You get to feed the larger turtles and hold the smaller ones, and the money goes towards funding the project.

Hire a paddle ski from Gerry's bar (right next to DoubleTree on the right hand side on the beach) and go snorkelling along the reef about 200m from the shore. Some superb snorkelling and the water is so clear!! We did the snorkelling tour to Mnemba Island, but the snorkelling off the beach from the resort was actually better. The tour is a good experience though, but take seasick tablets as there were some passengers who weren't feeling so great on the trip back.

The stonetown tour is also well worth it. We did ours before our flight back home so we didn't have to be in the car too much (it's an hours drive) . It's a town lost in time.. felt like we'd gone back in time. The island is rich in history and I'd strongly recommend a half day tour to Stonetown (shopping is also good for curios etc). Just ask your tour guide not to take you to the fish market if you're a bit squeamish.

All in all its a lovely resort and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Carmen181,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and spread the word with the Community here.

Hopefully we can welcome you again, we take your final sentence as a promise :-)

Sunny regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
23.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $152 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing