We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Relaxed Atmosphere, Perfect Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Relaxed Atmosphere, Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an amazing and relaxing holiday! The Doubletree Resort in Nungwi, Northern Zanzibar, far exceeded our expectations. Nungwi is a great little village and vibey enough that you don't feel isolated. The pictures certainly don't do the Doubletree Resort justice, and its great for families. The resort is perfectly located (you can run on the beach at low tide in both directions) and you lie on the resorts own beach, so the locals don't bother you trying to sell their curios. The staff were very friendly and happy and were so helpful with all our requests. We felt safe (there are guards along the beach to prevent the locals from hassling you to buy things) and the food (besides desserts) was great, especially if you enjoy seafood. We had the all-inclusive package, which is the best way to stay at this resort. Selected drinks and all meals were free of charge, and the pool bar has a lovely atmosphere (sip cocktails whilst lounging on bar stools in the pool). The white sands and crystal blue waters was exactly as we had imagined, although depending on the tide the water can become a bit murky due to the sand being churned up. Take a little swim out though and the water is crystal clear.

There are lots of activities to do, both in the hotel, along the beach and with guided tours. A must is the turtle conservation project, situated down the beach from the hotel, on the right if you are facing the sea. it's $5 per person, a guide takes you around the small area, explaining the project. You get to feed the larger turtles and hold the smaller ones, and the money goes towards funding the project.

Hire a paddle ski from Gerry's bar (right next to DoubleTree on the right hand side on the beach) and go snorkelling along the reef about 200m from the shore. Some superb snorkelling and the water is so clear!! We did the snorkelling tour to Mnemba Island, but the snorkelling off the beach from the resort was actually better. The tour is a good experience though, but take seasick tablets as there were some passengers who weren't feeling so great on the trip back.

The stonetown tour is also well worth it. We did ours before our flight back home so we didn't have to be in the car too much (it's an hours drive) . It's a town lost in time.. felt like we'd gone back in time. The island is rich in history and I'd strongly recommend a half day tour to Stonetown (shopping is also good for curios etc). Just ask your tour guide not to take you to the fish market if you're a bit squeamish.

All in all its a lovely resort and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Carmen181,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and spread the word with the Community here.

Hopefully we can welcome you again, we take your final sentence as a promise :-)

Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    518
    168
    67
    39
See reviews for
281
741
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Molde, Norway
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very nice hotel, though the staff was rude at times and very inefficient. The resort it self is very nice with a great pool bar and activities, but the surroundings is a huge contrast. Just outside the gates of the hotel is a very poor area reflecting the third world country it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eilin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Eilin G,

thank you for sharing your impressions from Zanzibar.
Please accept our apologies if you felt rudeness.
It is sometimes the language barrier that causes difficulties and/or misunderstandings.

Karibu sana!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfar haoranim
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we just return from family stay and we can just say:"this is a perfect hotel for everyone"- the location that its in short walk to all the attraction in the area,the graet room faicing the beach,the games area for all ages,the best food,the fantastic pool area and most of all- feeling at home.
many thanks from all of our family member to all the employs&the great personal care from the general manager.
all the best from
malovec family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear udi m,

thank you very much for the review and the time taken for it.
It was a pleasure to have you with us. I can imagine that it will be difficult to return
as your daughters have really nice travel plans.
Anyway we would be delighted if we see you again.

karibu sana!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was our first time in a Doubletree hotel. Our purpose of visit was for honeymoon trip. We had no doubt that Doubletree will serve the best quality. The staff, hotel facilities etc. everything was %100 satisfying. And we are very thankful to Doubletree for an amazing honeymoon experience. Definitely will visit other Doubletree hotels around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Burak B,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your review!
We are delighted that you have both enjoyed your stay for this special occasion.
It was a pleasure to meet you and I would like to thank you for your input.

Hopefully we can welcome you again - for an anniversary!!

Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Together with family, we went to on Holiday to Zanzibar where we had two nights. Our first night we spend at Stone Town and the second and the last night we spent we spent at Double Tree By Hilton. After arriving to Double Tree By Hilton - Nungwi, we wished we could have known to spend our two nights here. I do not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kushiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Kushiland,

also via this medium a very big thank you for your positive response.
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon!!!

Karibu sana!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding, lincs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we had a fabulous time at this hotel, on arrival we were unsure of what to expect as the hotel is situated in the middle of a shanty town ( all locals very happy and friendly), though we need not worry the security was fabulous and reception excellent, rooms very clean and comfortable, evening entertainment varied ( could have gone on a bit longer). Food was fantastic, being dairy intollerant this can cause problems, the msg had not been passed to the kitchen but once I spoke to the chef myself he did a brilliant job of accomodating my needs. A lovely relaxing week following an adventure of a life time on safari in tanzania.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Laura G,

also here a big thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.
We are delighted that we could support your special occasion.

Hopefully we can welcome you again! Maybe for an anniversary :-)

Sunny regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic rooms, food and service. Great pool and really good staff throughout all areas of the hotel. really everything you expect in a 4-5 star resort. although all the germans racing down to put their towels and reserve sunbeds on the beach and the pool is frustrating for non Europeans not use to this type of selfish behaviour.
a lot of different nationalities and families, couples etc at the resort
not many young children which was good !

What I really love is the location of the resort. We did a Doha ride (boat) from the resort at sunset and it takes you up past all the other beaches and resorts around the northern tip of the island and down the east coast a bit by boat. you can see all the other resorts are just jammed next to each other. what is great about the Hilton that yes on one side there are more beachfront resorts so you can wander up and eat at different places and see different shops etc
but I love that on the other side of the Hilton is just beaches and locals and villages
that is the best part.. you wander down that end of the island where there is just the locals and villages and you get amazing photos and do a village visit and its just spectacular
no tourists or tourist boats or anything
and a turtle rehabilitation centre is there to visit as well
definitely will go back and stay

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaystravelling73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear alwaystravelling73,

thank you so much for the great review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that we can welcome
you again is great news!!

We are looking forward to it!

Karibu sana!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,087 reviews
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing