We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel with great staff and food in a quite location in Nungwi North of Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hi,

We've stayed 8 nights at the Double Tree and I'm writing this review on our last morning over here. All in all our stay was very good. We chose this hotel as my wife is six months pregnant and we wanted a certain standard which we definetly got here.
The rooms are very sizeable with a very comfortable queen bed and everything you would expect in a room. Wifi was amazingly fast and I could even do a online based global conference call with 80 participants on our first day. (Yes I had to work for one day..how sad is that? ;-) ). The hotel's IT Manager was very helpful and spend some time on my laptop to improve the speed of the internet connection further. So I was very impressed by that personalised and dedicated service and the very fast speed of the wifi connection.
The breakfast is quite good with freshly baked croissants, pan cakes, omelettes etc. Juices are freshly squeezed and there is a very nice selection of local fruits. The coffee we've had here was without a doubt the best coffee I've had in a hotel and trust me I've travelled quite a lot around the world. I've asked for the name of the coffee and we will buy it in Stone Town as we want to enjoy the taste of Zanzibar back at home as well.
The staff is just excellent. They always greet you friendly and have a great smile. It's difficult to pick out anyone and hard to remember all their names. So thanks to all of you guys, but in particular to Jumaa, Bertha, Abdul Mohamed, Ali (bell boy) etc.
Dinners were delicious. There was always a great variety of seafood, curries, pasta, salads, beef etc. and the staff is very flexible and does the cooking according to your little special requests. Desserts were also very nice. On certain days the dinner would be at the sand beach, which made it much more enjoyable and romantic.
The pool is well maintained, clean and has a good size.
The "hotel" beach is not very big, but at this time of the season it was big enough to have sufficient privacy.
The public beach is also very nice and there is low and high tide every day, which provides a great variety. During low tide you can do a jogging or walk out and collect things and during high tide you can have a nice swim in addition to the pool. The local beach boys offer a lot of activities in addition to the hotel's standard arrangements. So you can do quite nice deals through them, but sometimes they can also get on your nerves.
We did a couple of snorkeling and scuba diving tours. Compare the prices as you can achieve quite a discount.
The hotel has also a nice spa, which one of the othere hotel guests from Scotland used. She really enjoyed it. We used the "local" massage facilities and they offer you a great bargain, excellent massages and it also helps the local community.
The hotel is located in the local village "Nungwi", which has only a few shops. It's nothing for great shoppers. Those have to go to Stone Town, which is about an hour drive from Nungwi. So this hotel is a great place for people who want to be in a quite place, which is exactly what we were after.
There is a also the local mosque close by for those who would like to pray with the local community (2-3 min walk). As Zanzibar's population is 95% Muslim, you can expect the food to be halal. Unfortunately, the hotel offers also bacon, but if you speak to the staff the make sure that your food is cooked in separate utensiles. Perhaps the newly appointed and very very friendly Foods&Bevarage Manager can consider whether really bacon has to be offered in the hotel. There are so many guests who don't eat pork and I'm sure thet staff would also prefer not to handle pork. Above all, there is soo much other food choices available so it wouldn't harm anyone not to eat it for a week. The seafood you offer is fresh and so much healthier anyway.

Room for improvement:
The gym is a joke. Very tiny and with equipment which pose a health hazard. I was very disappointed. In fact the gym was one of the reasons we had booked this hotel.
The pool tables are not even. So when you play the balls roll into the middle. Not very amusing when you are trying to play properly.
There are no balls for the pool to play with the other guests in the pool.
Also there is a great beach and we coudn't play any beach volley as there was not ball offered. I asked several times. It really doesn't take a lot to source a beach volleyball. Very disappointed about that as well.
Also we couldn't find any board games, which you would also like to play during a beach holiday.
There is noisy chats in the morning at around 7-9am when I believe the staff prepares in their staff quarters for their working day. Their staff building is behind the hotel rooms, which is great to see that the hotel offers its staff accomodation, but perhaps they can be made aware to be a bit quiter in the morning. But that's really the only complaint I would have about the staff.
The bar's music in the evenings could do with some better choices.

So as said at the beginning, all in all it's a great, calm hotel with excellent staff and brilliant food. With the few improvements on the equipment mentioned above, it could become an amazing hotel, which I'm sure the manager will sort out soon as I believe the management is striving for excellence.

Actually, we've just changed our flights with Turkish Airlines to Sunday morning so that we can stay 2 days extra in Nungwi. Precision Air was also very flexbile in changing our flights with no extra fees charged. So we'll probably stay in the Double Tree for two more days as it was just a very nice holiday, especially with my beloved six-months pregnant wife.

Best regards from Ufuk and Fazilet from Turkey....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UfukFazilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Ufuk & Fazilet,

thank you so much for the praise! I know the staff will really much appreciate reading your review.
I can only repeat what you have said already as we know our weaknesses. Our new gym equipment has left the US and is on it's way although the shipping may take some time.
our staff is actually well aware that the guest rooms are very close and we will surely repeat our reminders of quiet preparation in the morning hours!

Your are going now to your last night in Nungwi and I wish you another pleasant one.
See you tomorrow morning!

Ahsante sana!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked three nights here and got a great deal. All inclusive for €157 a night. I now know why. It was (very) low season, raining every day, and the place was virtually empty. (My fault accepted).The two major downsides are the location, as its miles from Stonetown, at least a $50 taxi ride, more if you book through the hotel, and as other reviewers have said, I thought there would be something around, a small village with restaurants, shops etc but forget it. Its totally underdeveloped once you step from the hotel 'sanctuary'. Either side on the beach you are mobbed by locals, I went out the front gates one day and got 100 yards and came back as there is no where to walk and the rain was inches deep on the road. I thought the food would be fantastic but its not. The quality is very poor and most nights I was scraping what I could get from the buffet as it was finished and never replenished. Dubai it ain't! I love my grub so that was a major disappointment.
That said, the upsides are that I found the staff welcoming and friendly, the room I had was lovely, no bath but flat screen TV comfy bed, mosquito net, mini bar etc etc,and good fast wifi. The pool area is very nice and in general the hotel is lovely with a nice vista out to sea. I feel that everyone is doing their best but it needs to be lifted to a beach nearer the airport, and the cooking team needs a few days on Jumeirah beach in Dubai to see how a buffet should be done. Outside is quite third world to be honest, but thats not the hotels fault. I never felt threatened, but there is literally nothing but a few shophouses repairing clothes, sawing wood etc, then again maybe I never ventured far enough. What I did see was sufficient.
I don;t see the point in so much difficulty, expensive local flights after your long haul (I came from UK via Nairobi),visa cost, Yellow Fever jab cost, 70km taxi ride cost etc to arrive in (albeit nice) a resort hotel you can find similarly and much easier in a million other places in the world. The draw for me was the exoticism of Zanzibar but to be honest, now I have ticked my bucket list, I won't be headed back anytime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear tonyjane,

thank you for taking the time to let others know your experience.
Yes we are a secluded place for relaxation and we are located definitely in a third world country!
Nevertheless we will work on the improvement as much as possible.

All the best and sunny regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice place to take rest with all the family. The food is wonderful, service is correct and the room are correct. Calm, the road to acceed the hotel is without comment: when you arrive there you can't imagine that you will a Hilton in the place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Jocelyn D,

we really enjoyed having you with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your
experience. i hope that after the rainy season we will have again a chance to improve the
roads surrounding the resort.

Sunny regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

When attending a conference, what could be more desirable then a stunning view, excellent service, good food and fun when you step out of the air conditioned meeting room? All this and more awaits the business traveler at Double tree Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear K S,

it was really a pleasure to host your group and I hope that we have the chance
to see you again soon!!

Sunny regards from Zanzibar!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay here April 5 - 7. I thought the rooms were beautiful and sparkling clean, especially compared to what I encountered on the rest of my African vacation. Service was slow but it is how they do things and after a while you get into the flow of it. The only downside for me was the location. I had the impression that Nungwi had a lot going on but that was not accurate. This place truly is a resort and there aren't a ton of food or activity options around. A couple days was perfect for us. They arranged for a reasonably priced spice/Stone town tour for us combined with a transfer to our nexr hotel in Stone town which was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear mullydad,

thank you very for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. It is great to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay.
It has to be admitted that Nungwi is really a place for relaxation, it is very quiet up here!!!

Karibu sana!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a nice and short stay in Zanzibar Nungwi, in April 22 for only 3 days , it is off season so there was not alote to do and they just rebuild the pool, we were offered a compensation right at the time of the checkin. food is great , breakfast lunch and dinner , to save money i would suggest to book all inclusive , even if you go out for dinner somewere else.. single meal`s are very high in price. The rooms are very nice and clean. the location is off all normal places so a real place to relax and do not worry if you are 1h in the car on strange streets , this is the way to the hotel.

Room Tip: beach view prefered
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Udo F,

it was a pleasure to have you with us and I would like to thank you again for the
very pleasant conversation and your open words.

We would be grateful to welcome you again!!
Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was beautiful situated at the beach in the north of Zanzibar. Big rooms with big beds, but our room smelled damp. The breakfast was great! We were disappointed about the service, especially in the reception desk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at Doubletree by Hilton Zanzibar.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay although we have not succeeded in all parts.

Sunny regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,114 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
23.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $162 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing