We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Get into the African mood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get into the African mood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A very nice hotel. Authentic heavy wood furniture, big high beds. Smell is beautiful all day long thanks to well groomed plants and garden. Food is good if you set your mind to it.
This is African cuisine. Very spicy and different. So you have to open your mind and not compare it to what you know than there's a chance you'll enjoy it.
All inclusive deal is good. Local alcohol is not very good but the beer is nice.
Again, you must adopt to African concept of "cold beer"... this is far from what we know.
Same goes to local pace. Get ready to wait for everything you order... The people serving you aren't lazy, this is their way. Once you realize it - you're in heaven! We had a wonderful stay. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Wish I could come here every year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank City Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear City Watcher,

thank you very much for the nice review and the explanation. Yes we are working on international
standards but also yes we are in Africa.
We would love to welcome you again!!! Karibu sana and of course

Sunny regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    410
    116
    60
    29
See reviews for
200
576
77
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel, but theonly thing we did not like were the people of
The poolbar,
In he fisherman bar the people really very kind, andwealways went there....!!!!!
We had an all inclusive package, but during a few days no bloody mary possible, as no tomato
Juice available!!!!!
The diving is too expensive here, so we took outside another diving center!.....
For spice tours etc you better book with mr good price outside the hotel....
We would recommend it, beautiful view on the beach,and nice food!..

Room Tip: Best rooms are 124,125 and 126 with view to the sea ,you step fromyour bed into your parasol
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines19581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Ines19581,

it is great to have you with us and we are glad that you enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and I will again review
your hint of the pool bar with our Supervisors.

Sunny regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in october 2011 and it was lovely. Clean rooms, great food, cute little pool with bar. However the beach is not very nice here but you can walk few minutes to the north and find a nice one. I highly recommend this hotel. We moved from Ora my blue which was terrible in all ways here and were extremely pleased. The manager came out and greeted us, even though we were only 21 and 20 years old at the time and gave us delicious cookies as a welcome. Prices are reasonable. We had soft all inclusive and had to pay for alcohol and extra pizzas we ordered but it wasn't much. Pizzas are super fresh and light, and they make mojitos right in front of you with the freshest of mints. Staff is also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaKralj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear LeaKralj,

thank you for the time taken to post the review.
After that long it's time to visit us again :-)

All the best wishes and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here because we originally found a deal online for a discounted rate. We wanted something special that would be a nice stay during our backpacking trip around east Africa. The hotel was beyond our expectations. We were greeted with yummy iced tea and delicious cookies upon check in and from then on out we were hooked. The moment we got into our room, we knew we would be extending our stay. The hotel is right on the beach along with the pool so, it's nice to have the option of both. The only issue we had was the hot water in the shower seemed to stop working and had very little pressure. The bathroom was beautiful so, we disappointed with this fact. Overall, a beautiful trip though!

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor has nice beach and pool views with a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhupster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Bhupster,

it is great to hear from you after almost one year. We hope the memories of your trip
and the visit at Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar will stay forever.

Hope to see you again!!

Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We decided to spend 3 days at Double Tree while spending holidays in Zanzibar. We had so many issues since the check in time. They took 2 hours to get us a room ,initiating our experience in very bad way causing a lot of stress. Besides the check in time the quality of the service was very bad. 10 minutes to get a drink at the pool bar, poor towels quality in the room, not enough beach chairs for all the guests, food ok, friendless of staff people, laziness of staff people, etc not prepared to have a lot of guests. I will never stay in this hotel again. Do not expect high quality service!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zngbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Zngbra,

Although we didn't meet your expectations I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Thank you very much choosing Doubletree Zanzibar and all the best wishes.

Sunny regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although we were in Africa and I suppose "should be" exploring more local sites, I truly enjoyed staying at this Doubletree! After a week in Rwanda, we took a trek to Zanzibar. Although this hotel is a bit of a drive from Stonetown, I really found it a gem! The staff was so welcoming and the site beautiful and hidden away. Definitely worth the ride. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear lucygordon,

thank you for the post and sharing your memory with us. Staying in mind for such a long time
is a great sign for that you enjoyed your stay. If you mourn about the short stay, just come again!! We would be happy to welcome you!!

Sunny regards from Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just returned from spending 5 nights at the Doubletree in Nungwi. Overall, I must say that the hotel is a lovely resort and exactly what my familiy and I needed after spending 7 days in a tent while climbing Kilimanjaro.
The people at the reception offered a fantastic welcome with wet towels, juice and chocolate cookies - made us feel really welcome. We had some challenges with our room, but this was caused by our travel agent and was quickly corrected by the reception staff.

The hotel has great facilities, a nice heated pool, with a swim-up bar, private beach, nice outdoors dining area with buffet dinner and a la carte restaurant. Rooms are spacious and clean and with nice big terraces/balconies. Small thing to note is that the water pressure is quite low and patience is required for a warm shower.

The only reason I am not giving the hotel a 5 star rating is due to the service level of the waiters. Especially at the pool bar the waiting time is unbelievably long and I experienced several times being down-right ignored. As noted by others, the waiting staff are very inefficient and do not look very happy and this tells me that the problem lies with management. I am doubtful that management has taken the time to proberly explain the waiters what good service is and what is acceptable behaviour. In order for this hotel to earn their Hilton name the service of the waiting staff needs to drastically improve.

On a positive note, we had a fantastic experience with the kitchen at the a la carte restaurant. We wanted a champagne and lobster dinner for our last night and the head chef arranged this beautifully and at a very decent price even though it was not something on their menu. Thanks for making our last night one to remember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear SofieD1984,

we are grateful that you have enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the review.

Be assured that we are constantly working on the service levels and yes we are explaining it almost on a daily basis. We will not stop to work on that improvement.

All the best to you and your family and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
23.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing