We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good food and lots of entertainment in the evenings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with good food and lots of entertainment in the evenings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in october 2011 and it was lovely. Clean rooms, great food, cute little pool with bar. However the beach is not very nice here but you can walk few minutes to the north and find a nice one. I highly recommend this hotel. We moved from Ora my blue which was terrible in all ways here and were extremely pleased. The manager came out and greeted us, even though we were only 21 and 20 years old at the time and gave us delicious cookies as a welcome. Prices are reasonable. We had soft all inclusive and had to pay for alcohol and extra pizzas we ordered but it wasn't much. Pizzas are super fresh and light, and they make mojitos right in front of you with the freshest of mints. Staff is also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaKralj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear LeaKralj,

thank you for the time taken to post the review.
After that long it's time to visit us again :-)

All the best wishes and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    434
    127
    61
    30
See reviews for
217
604
79
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here because we originally found a deal online for a discounted rate. We wanted something special that would be a nice stay during our backpacking trip around east Africa. The hotel was beyond our expectations. We were greeted with yummy iced tea and delicious cookies upon check in and from then on out we were hooked. The moment we got into our room, we knew we would be extending our stay. The hotel is right on the beach along with the pool so, it's nice to have the option of both. The only issue we had was the hot water in the shower seemed to stop working and had very little pressure. The bathroom was beautiful so, we disappointed with this fact. Overall, a beautiful trip though!

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor has nice beach and pool views with a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhupster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Bhupster,

it is great to hear from you after almost one year. We hope the memories of your trip
and the visit at Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar will stay forever.

Hope to see you again!!

Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We decided to spend 3 days at Double Tree while spending holidays in Zanzibar. We had so many issues since the check in time. They took 2 hours to get us a room ,initiating our experience in very bad way causing a lot of stress. Besides the check in time the quality of the service was very bad. 10 minutes to get a drink at the pool bar, poor towels quality in the room, not enough beach chairs for all the guests, food ok, friendless of staff people, laziness of staff people, etc not prepared to have a lot of guests. I will never stay in this hotel again. Do not expect high quality service!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zngbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Zngbra,

Although we didn't meet your expectations I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Thank you very much choosing Doubletree Zanzibar and all the best wishes.

Sunny regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although we were in Africa and I suppose "should be" exploring more local sites, I truly enjoyed staying at this Doubletree! After a week in Rwanda, we took a trek to Zanzibar. Although this hotel is a bit of a drive from Stonetown, I really found it a gem! The staff was so welcoming and the site beautiful and hidden away. Definitely worth the ride. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear lucygordon,

thank you for the post and sharing your memory with us. Staying in mind for such a long time
is a great sign for that you enjoyed your stay. If you mourn about the short stay, just come again!! We would be happy to welcome you!!

Sunny regards from Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just returned from spending 5 nights at the Doubletree in Nungwi. Overall, I must say that the hotel is a lovely resort and exactly what my familiy and I needed after spending 7 days in a tent while climbing Kilimanjaro.
The people at the reception offered a fantastic welcome with wet towels, juice and chocolate cookies - made us feel really welcome. We had some challenges with our room, but this was caused by our travel agent and was quickly corrected by the reception staff.

The hotel has great facilities, a nice heated pool, with a swim-up bar, private beach, nice outdoors dining area with buffet dinner and a la carte restaurant. Rooms are spacious and clean and with nice big terraces/balconies. Small thing to note is that the water pressure is quite low and patience is required for a warm shower.

The only reason I am not giving the hotel a 5 star rating is due to the service level of the waiters. Especially at the pool bar the waiting time is unbelievably long and I experienced several times being down-right ignored. As noted by others, the waiting staff are very inefficient and do not look very happy and this tells me that the problem lies with management. I am doubtful that management has taken the time to proberly explain the waiters what good service is and what is acceptable behaviour. In order for this hotel to earn their Hilton name the service of the waiting staff needs to drastically improve.

On a positive note, we had a fantastic experience with the kitchen at the a la carte restaurant. We wanted a champagne and lobster dinner for our last night and the head chef arranged this beautifully and at a very decent price even though it was not something on their menu. Thanks for making our last night one to remember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear SofieD1984,

we are grateful that you have enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the review.

Be assured that we are constantly working on the service levels and yes we are explaining it almost on a daily basis. We will not stop to work on that improvement.

All the best to you and your family and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did a ton of research of Zanzibar before booking and glad that we did. We enjoyed our stay at the Double Tree in Nungwi. We were greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies when we arrived and checking in was a pleasant experience. The hotel has a great pool area and easy place to unwind for a few days. It seems to be a popular Italian "package" tour destination with a few scattered folks from Europe - mainly UK. Once the tide goes out the beach is a great place for walking. The village is nothing really to visit but the locals are really friendly. It is a Muslim based faith so dress accordingly when leaving the resort.
I only had a few things to comment on that I feel that the resort could work on. The service at reception is fantastic, but it really ends there. If you are not part of the all-inclusive getting meals beyond breakfast is a bit of a challenge. The A-la-carte service is out of the bar and although the food is decent it takes 10-15 mins to get a menu and then another 40-45 mins for the food to arrive once you have ordered. My recommendation is to order at the bar and then go to sit down. Don't go hungry as you will be ready to chew your arm off by the time the food arrives. The bartenders are the ones serving the bar guests and the a-la-carte tables (4 in total) so it can be a challenge for them.
Another area where they could improve upon was around the pool. If you are looking for a drink or food you need to get up and go to the pool bar to order and collect your drinks and food. There are not any staff who monitor the pool for cleanliness or service.. which I found odd since there a ton of people looking to make a living in the area. The guests take glass bottles and glasses to their cots and leave them on the umbrella bases, on the cots, under the cots and in the grass. Glass at a pool is never a good idea. The plates, etc often are there for 2-3 days before they are removed. It seems like this is not anyones job. The cots are strewn about and never straightened and creates a maze to walk through or around daily. There isn't any towel drop bins to be found so when guests leave the pool towels are everywhere. If you come late to the pool you never really know what cots are free. A tip for the hotel.. Hire staff to service and clean around the pool area from sun up to sun down. Pick up the plates etc regularly and realign the deck chairs daily to keep the pool area clean. Plastic glassware is much safer at a poolside. Distribute more garbage cans around the pool and beach area to limit the amount of blowing garbage on the property and have used towel bins by the entrance to the buildings and by the spa so patrons can remove them when they are done with the cots.
Overall the resort was a great place to rest and relax and fairly reasonably priced for the area. I would stay here again and recommend it to others as well.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean front room if you like to sit on your deck to watch the waves roll in or an upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear travellingmedics,

thanks for the great review. We appreciate your suggestions very much. Due to high occupancy it might have looked like that no one is taking care of towels and sunbeds. Our pool attendants are around from early morning until late night. During the day it is sometimes tricky to clear up as often guests are leaving their sunbeds for quite some time and the return is not foreseen.

That we have made the impression of not enough care is definetely something we will work on.
If we can welcome you again, we are happy to show you the progress!!

Sunny regards from Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here with a friend after we finished an 11-day Northern Circuit safari. We took a taxi from the airport which took nearly an hour. We arrived at the property and were greeted with a cool towel and a cold drink, which was perfect as it was very hot and humid. The lobby area was pretty attractive, and although roofed, otherwise open-air.

We were then taken to our room which was pretty nice and big. We had two good size beds which had nice bedding and were very comfortable. However, the sheets and comforter smelled of mildew. We mentioned this to the front desk but we never got all new sheets. There were plenty of drawers for clothes, although the drawers tended to stick. This could be because it was so humid. The bathroom was plenty big too. However, we didn't get anything better than just-less-than lukewarm shower water, and when you showered, a pipe leaked behind the toilet (again, never fixed despite requests).

The room also had very strong air conditioning and a ceiling fan, which was great. The only problem is that Zanzibar is subject to numerous power outages - some last a few minutes, others last an hour or more. But this is an island-wide issue, so I can't hold this against the Doubletree. The safe in the room worked well and was plenty large.

Staff was very friendly throughout, even if not necessarily efficient. We arranged a day trip to a spice farm and Stone Town and the arrangements were great, and so were both parts of the tour (private). We also had them arrange for a van to the airport and it was only $10 more than the taxi arranged at the airport ($70 versus $60) so I recommend arranging transportation through the hotel - the air conditioned, spacious van was nice.

Zanzibar is incredibly hot and humid and I've never experienced heat and humidity like it. I found it much hotter and more humid than Thailand and Cambodia. But the ocean in the afternoon was nice. The pool was rather warm so not as refreshing as the ocean. Of course, you couldn't go in the ocean until the afternoon because of the tide issues. But afternoons in the ocean were perfect. And the water was just beautiful and there were no big waves, and the beach was huge with soft sand.

There was plenty of seating at the beach and by the pool, and plenty of towels. There's a swim-up bar at the pool too.

We had breakfast every day at the hotel and it sufficed, although it wasn't anything special. We had a couple of buffet dinners at the hotel too but they were pretty bad. The other nights, we walked down the beach (when you get to the beach, walk left) and tried other places. There are countless restaurants/bars when you walk left . . . the farthest we went to was the Z Hotel, which was a little less than a 15-minute walk. However, we kept finding the same crap - beautiful, fresh seafood that they overcooked beyond belief. Well, at least we saw a couple of shooting stars and got to see the area. If you're going to eat elsewhere, bring a flashlight, which will help you considerably on the beach. I had one that I wore around my head for safari.

Overall, a pretty nice stay, albeit with some issues, mostly the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
23.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing