We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

very beautiful hotel and it has a very nice and clean beach it has also a big swimming pool with a bar in the pool..so you can sit in the water and order what ever you want and the restaurant it has nice food .. i have take a sweet room it was very nice and very clean ... so its a very good place to go for honey moon or relaxing and good price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    503
    159
    66
    39
See reviews for
273
714
87
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days with my boyfriend and it was beautiful. Staff were really friendly, the room was beautiful and place was stunning. We needed a doctor and they had one call to our room. Room was always tidy. The only issue was the food in the bar wasn't great, but there was now where that we found that did amazing food. We booked directly with the hotel and it was only $169 per night incl. breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We wanted to stay at Double Tree Hotel on Zanzibar for 6 nights, but we left after the first night. And we were so happy to do so.

Day of arrival: we checked in around 22:30 - the receptionist told us that the restaurant already closed; but there is room service. So we went to our room. After a short while we found out that the room service is only operated between 09:00 am and 10:00 pm. So I went to the reception asking if we can have anything to eat (we did not eat the whole day because of a long travel that day). The receptionist apoligized but informed us that everything is closed at that time (it was shortly after 11:00 pm). So it was impossible to get anything to eat at that time of the day. But then something very nice happened: One employee took us to a local place where we could buy some fried banana and some chicken (we also bought some coke) to take away. This was so nice, because so we had something to eat. As we retured to the hotel room I had a look to the mini bar - which was empty. Only portable water was in the room. I called the reception: the told me that there are no drinks available on the room and there is no possibility to buy something somewhere in the resort. Unbeliefable but true!

Next day in the morning: 08:30 am the hotel startet construction next to our room. The built a new decoration roof. That was so loud that sleeping was impossible (see photos). They check you in in the evening knowing that construction will start in the moring next to your room - and the best: it was low season, the hotel was empty - there where hundrets of other rooms the could give us - no exactly the one next to the construction work was ours!

So we got up informed the reception that we are not really happy with the situation (they offered a different room on the other side of the hotel - intresting: why not the day before when checking in?) and went for breakfast. Breakfast was quiet poor; the saussage/cheese/joghurt were not cooled properly, the choice was poor, so all in all disappointing.

Then we went to the beach - but there is no beach. A two meter high wall seperates you from the real beach, which is not there when high tide comes. And if there is low tide there is no water to swim.
And the best - the sumbeds were completely torn (see also photos).
That is really not what you expect from a Double Tree by Hilton.

So we decided to check-out and found a wonderful small resort on Matemwe Beach. Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel. It was like paradise there - and we were really happy to leave the Double Tree.

Once we checked out we had the chance to speak to Stephan (the general manager). He apologized for everything and stated that there is still a lot of work to do. We wish him and his wife the best to bring the hotel up to a Double Tree standard one day. But it seems to be a long long way.

But:
The STAFF: at Double Tree is excellent; they are friendly, competent and helpful, Double Tree Zanzibar can be really proud of having such great staff working for them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear magstk72,

as I did already personally I will apologize again for the experience you had at our resort.
In the meantime the new cushions for the sunbeds arrived finally.

Anyway we hope to see you again to proof that we can do better as it is mentioned in the other reviews.

Sunny regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Located at the northernmost point of Zanzibar, right next to Nungwi village, with a view on all the fishing activity. Comfortable and clean room, kind and professional staff, very tasteful food -both buffet and set menu's: fresh fish, excellent curries... we're spoiled Belgians, and we loved it. We passed a very nice and peaceful week there. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WomPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Doubletree Hotel accompanies a white sandy beach on the tip of Zanzibar. The entire experience is first class with attentive staff, luxurious furnishings, and great food. Although Stone Town is interesting to visit, stay at this hotel for a very memorable experience. Taxi driver Yousef Juma at 255 777 419 127 is reliable for transportation around the island.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Traveldudworldwide,

Congratulations!! You posted review Number 200 thank you so much!!! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much. Please visit us again, you're always welcome.
On the round number, a drink is of course on us :-)

Sunny regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel was great - Hilton - good good fine, Food not fantastic, but not bad either. Service... so so.

TIP - If you've come to Zanzibar looking for broad, white sandy beaches and peaceful tropical island paradise - DONT GO TO NUNGWI! There are sooo many tourists, hotels, bars, discos, restaurants and beach salesmen!!!!

I'm no expert in Zanzibar, but I've been there 3 times and there's a beach nearby called Matemwe(southwest of Nungwi) which is REALLY nice! The hotels there are smaller and private and there a NO SALESMEN on the beach.

(IF YOU'RE A DIVER - MNEMBA ATOLL has the best diving I've ever experienced. This can be reached from both Nungwi and Matemwe.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor

Helpful?
2 Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

we had a fab stay at Nungwi even thou its not a fancy 5 star property , the raw beauty of nature made it for us the hotel grounds small but nice ,staff very attentive and rooms spacious . there is on the right hand side of the hotel "restaurant" i mean it looks like a HUT but the chap is most friendly man on earth , we seriously took a p..s out of that place at first until we tried food there , i dont think i ever ate tastier fish steak in my life! as simple as that every night after we ate there for 17 days!!!!! During the day he was just simply asking what we fancy tonight to eat so he can get it fresh from sea and cook for us . honestly dont be put off by hygienic factor , we still alive .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msqden24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing