We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a beach view room and it was clean and comfortable and we had a quiet night's sleep.
The staff here all made an effort and were friendly and helpful. The hotel organised a fun band and dance night and had beach volleyball on some afternoons (although it was a bit annoying being asked to join in and having to engage in conversation every day when I just wanted to chill and read a book on the beach)
We didn't eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner because we didn't read great things about the food here. Instead we had lunch at the funky beach bar next door or at one of the restaurants in Nungwi.
We really liked the location of this hotel as it had amazing views of the aqua water and Dhow boats and it was near the boat building area which was fascinating to watch.
The only main gripe was being constantly harassed to buy things/do activities whenever you stepped outside the hotel boundaries. Even lying on a lounger you were harassed by them which was annoying even though there was hotel security who try to keep them at bay but that's part and parcel of holidaying in a developing country I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Clea700,

we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Doubletree Zanzibar.
Thank you for sharing your impressions and we hope to welcome you sometimes in the future.

Indeed it is sometimes very difficult even for our staff to keep "the beachboys" away.
We managed that they are definetely not entering our property but if you walk on the
public premises you are on their territory....
They just try to do something for living.

Sunny regards from Zanzibar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

After becoming ill on an overland trip, I decided to ditch the rest of the tour and stay in Zanzibar for a bit of rest and relaxation. I stayed in one of the ocean front queens and the staff were out of this world! I stayed for 3 nights and the manager called each afternoon and offered complimentary dinners every night.

I needed to get a flight back to Dar and the staff sorted everything out promptly for me.

Out of 60 countries and innumerable hotels, this place is in my top 5 of all time. I will be revisiting! Thank you so much to all the staff for taking such good care of me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susannah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Susannah83 ,

great that we still stay in your memory, we hope to welcome you again this year!!!

All the best and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is at the far northern tip of Zanzibar - Nungwi - loved this location because you can walk almost to Kendwa Beach or to the other side towards Matemwe. Morning walks were my favorite thing here. Lighthouse very nearby, fishing village and lots of local activity nearby is very cool. Easy to take a Sunset Dhow ride for $10USD. Great tide watching - actually fascinating to watch the tides here. Very good shell collecting -My all inclusive food was very good. Espresso cost extra - watch the a la carte menu if you are all inclusive. Ask. Beer selection is great - better than other hotels that just had Safari and Kilimanjaro brands. Stefan, the GM, is awesome and very accommodating. The staff is wonderful here....nice, helpful and fun. I would easily stay here again for a week. Spa prices here are very reasonable...doesn't blow the budget. What cost the most on Zanzibar and be prepared for it- Taxis are $50 from StoneTown to Northern hotels....or almost anywhere you go. You could easily spend $300 on Taxis going to Spice Farms, to StoneTown for a tour or another part of the island. So check taxi prices and negotiate well - ranges $50-$80 depending on who you talk to.

Room Tip: I had room 123. Easy to remember - loved it - faces the pool but 1 step from the beach...so I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhanks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hi Jeff,

it was really fun having you with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and relaxed at our place. Thank you so much for the praise!
We will continue our efforts to keep our guests happy!!

Enjoy your time in Moshi and visit us again!!!

Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was one of perhaps four choices we evaluated in the Nungwi area. During the course of our stay, we had opportunity to make cursory visits to several of the other hotels we had considered and definitely feel we made the best choice. Its location, grounds and amenities are all superior. A number of other TripAdvisor reviews have expounded on the remarkable service, setting and comfort the Doubletree provides, so we will be brief. We travel a great deal and this hotel/resort simply exceeded our expectations. An example that is worth relating is this: on our first evening, I was "scouting" the on-the-beach buffet dinner when I was approached by General Manager Stephan Sandmann. He knew me by name, having observed our checkin, and politely inquired of our first impressions. We spoke with Stephan several more times during our stay and those conversations, combined with the efforts of every member of his staff whom we encountered, convinces us that he is savvy determined manager whose property reflects his very high standard. Lastly, the beach area at Nungwi abounds with restaurants, hotels, dive shops, etc. Most are a short walk from the Doubletree. During our week, we indulged ourselves in the full flavor of the place, but it was always nice to walk back to the Doubletree... close enough to give us access, but just enough apart from the rest to be restful, secure and quiet.

Room Tip: The website does not do justice to the Sea Front room. It's really a stand alone four room bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brits4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear brits4us ,

thank you for the praises and the time taken to share your experience.
We will continue in our effort to "surprise"!!!!

It was great to have you with us and I enjoyed our chats during your week.

Hopefully we can welcome you again, I'm looking forward to it.

All the best!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is absolutely fantastic! To show how much we enjoyed it we have sent the following Thank You letter to the General Manager of the resort!

August 14, 2012
Mr. Judd Lehmann, Director of Operations
DoubleTree Resort
Nungwi, Zanzibar

Dear Mr. Lehmann,

We have spent our honeymoon between Aug 4th and 14th at the DoubleTree Resort, in Nungwi, Zanzibar.

We would like to express our utmost gratitude for the outstanding hospitality that was shown to us by your hotel staff.

It all started with the friendly welcome we got on our arrival from Mr. Godfrey Mahibo. The room was beautifully decorated and each day we had new linen designs and sprinkles of fresh flowers.

The honeymoon cakes were a deliciously pleasant surprise. Plus, we enjoyed all the live entertainment programs at night. Also, the massage we had was soothing. Everything felt very safe throughout our stay.

Mr. Georgios Moudatsos arranged for us a spectacularly romantic dinner on the beach. It was the height of our stay. We still cannot decide which was better: the food, the service or the champagne!

After exploring both the natural beauties of Zanzibar and the local services, we concluded that your staff by far exceeds the standards, even for seasoned travellers. Everyone was extremely polite, courteous and helpful at all times.

Please pass on our appreciation especially to Mr. Mahibo and Mr. Moudatsos who did not let a day pass without engaging us in pleasant conversation and always making sure our stay was perfect.

We are happy to recommend the DoubleTree Resort in Nungwi to all those in search for a fantastic holiday.

Thank you for making our honeymoon unforgettable!



With gratitude,

Dragos & Ioana

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CigarVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Ioana, dear Dragos,

It was truly a pleasure to have you with us!!!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Zanzibar and would be more than happy to welcome you again!!!

I have to transfer warmest regards from George and Godfrey as well as
kind regards from our Regional Director Judd.

Karibu sana and all the best to you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lovely place to relax and be pampered after a camping safari! Although the road in from Nungwi is less than desirable and a little disconcerting as to where we were heading a lovely surprise greeted us. Very welcoming staff on our arrival with an iced tea and Doubletree cookie. The rooms were lovely and well appointed with air conditioning, Tv, tea & coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed with mosquito nets that were drawn early evening and mosquito sprayed as a service to guests. This was much appreciated. Lovely bathroom facilities with continual hot water as well as a clothes line available. Only thing missing was there was no hairdryer. The pool and poolside restaurant was very nice to sit and relax by with staff being attentive and supplying poolside towels on request. The food at the restaurant was of a high quality and the Saturday night buffet was more like a banquet! If ever we were to visit Nungwi again Double Tree would be our choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Yorky1,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions.
It's wonderful that you have enjoyed your relaxing time just like it should be.

We would be grateful to welcome you again at Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar.

All the best wishes!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights. Outside the gates, Nungwi is a very poor village. Not much to see. However, along the beach it is bustling with other hotels and resorts. It feels like your in another world. If you want the real Zanzibar, this probably isn't the right place.

The resort area was very nice with a relaxing pool and on the beach. Rooms were nicely appointed. The turndown service will open up the mosquito nets around the bed and spray with insecticide. The air conditioner in my room was good, but for some reason never turned off. Either it was constantly working hard, or didn't regulate the temperature very well. The only problem it was a bit loud.

No place to eat in the village. Other hotels along the beach had some good eats, but the Doubletree had only a buffet lunch and dinner (US$20). Also a poolside snack bar for food during the day. Not sure if during this season it's always a buffet or whether they offer menu service during some seasons.

Overall, it was a nice hotel/resort stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrekker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear globetrekker728,

it's great that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Doubletree Zanzibar!!!

Your guess is right, the or dinner can be also as a set menu during some seasons.
Even then you will have the choice like on a buffet to try more than one starter, or not
to take a soup and instead two desserts. The choice is just up to you.

We hope to welcome you again!!!

All the best wishes and sunny regards from Zanzibar!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,126 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $153 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing