We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Me and my two friends had booked a suite room for New Year's holiday through hilton.com website. The reservation was confirmed and fully prepaid. Once we arrived around noon the staff at the reception seemed puzzled. They asked us to take seats and after about 45 min wait the manager came over and said that the room we've booked is not available and that they would instead give us two separate rooms. This was to be the arrangement for the New Year's eve and then next day we would be able to get the room we had reserved and paid. I had the feeling that someone at the hotel had given our room to a fiend / relative for the big night..

There is also a robust prostitution ring working at this hotel. We had no issue with that until the last night around 9pm our door bell rang and someone was saying "room service." There were too girls outside in jeans and tight tshirts and asked me if I had called room service, I said no and closed the door. About 20min later same happened but this time it was a guy in hotel uniform. He had the same girls with me and he asked if we would need room service. Very annoying and total invasion of privacy. I do not mind is such meat trade happens in bars etc but coming to your room is bit too much..

Food at the hotel is a disappointment other than the pizzas you get from the pool bar. Service was slow and the quality of the food was consistently bad. On last day we mentioned this to French (?) hotel manager who then sent the chef to our table.. he was very nice and polite but did not seem to have a clue what was going on in his kitchen. You are much better off eating outside of Doubletree, just head to the beach and left and you will find plenty of places to eat in..

One final thing. Doubletree is in front of the busy part of the beach with lots of traffic going on. Also there are corals on this part of the beach and the water is very shallow, making swimming difficult. The best beaches are again to the left from the hotel (opposite direction of the light house).

Room Tip: The suite room is actually two connecting rooms with a bit more premium furniture. They are on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    528
    174
    70
    40
See reviews for
290
755
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Had a really nice relaxing stay. The breakfast buffet was terrible, the dinners were hit and miss. Desserts generally bad.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We arrived in Ras Nungwi after having been on safaris in Rwanda, Kenya and Tanzania. We stayed at the Double Tree Hilton for 4 nights and just wanted to unwind and relax and couldn't have picked a better place. Located right on the beach front, crystal clear water dotted with dhows and not to forget the gorgeous sunsets!

The approach to the hotel is arguably a bit unsettling as you pull off the main road and go through the local village on a very bumpy unpaved road for a good 5-10 minutes before arriving at the gated Double Tree Resort. But once you are inside its a totally different experience.

Very smooth check in service and courteous friendly staff we were given a nice warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival! Most of the rooms are either pool facing or sea facing, we were lucky enough to get the sea facing rooms. Lots of sun chairs and umbrellas for the guests were provided with a large pool and a swim up bar, they made some excellent pizzas!!

The hotel also had its own recreation area with a pool table, table tennis table and a readers corner. Apart from that you could also pamper yourself in the spa and get a variety of massages. They also had their own setup for rentals of kayaks etc but didnt get the time to take advantage of that however we did manage to rent a speed boat through a provided located within the hotel premises and did a half day trip out to the islands for snorkeling and lunch. The though beach strip is public but you had to climb down a small flight of steps to get to it and the premises was manned by security personnel 24/7.

Rooms were well maintained and nicely furnished decent by any 4 star standard and housekeeping would ensure that they be kept spotless at all times. However i did feel that the beds were a little too soft for a comfortable sleep. Lots of pillows, mosquito netting, lcd tv, ironing table, hair dryer, safety box, alarm clock with an ipod thing, water and tea making stuff and free wifi internet, the usual amenities were all there.

The in house restaurant was nothing exciting, breakfast was served there every morning excellent ambiance as it overlooked the beach and line of palm trees. However in terms of choice of food and quality we weren't that impressed and since we had already opted for half board would end up eating dinner there but preferred snacking at the pool bar during lunch. There were 2 other restaurants within the hotel premises but didn't really manage to get beyond the beach and the pool :)

The hotel also arranged for a live band one night and another day a performance show with local boys performing acrobatic tricks etc and kept the crowd quite entertained.

All in all a very hassle free and relaxing experience staying at the Double Tree (oh and we got a cookie when we checked out aswell!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Hilton is a very good 4* hotel with clean and spacious rooms, nice size pool and the staff are very friendly and keen to help. The spa has a very small limited menu but the treatments were good and Linte does a fantastic massage. The food is good and fairly varied, although the lunch menu at the Dolphin Pool bar needs some improvement.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a good view, unless you want to pay extra and be right on the beach the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We travelled through Tanzania for eight weeks in January of this year with our two daughters 8 and 11. The Doubletree was our last accomodation before returning to Australia via Dubai. We had booked alternative accomodation in Nungwi that we were unhappy with and moved to the Hilton as it is the best in the area by far. They were welcoming and able to fit us in without any worries. We paid way too much $1000 a night for our 2 x joining rooms (as many people in the pool area paid about one quarter of the price) The location is spectacular right on the beach with lots of beach walking, restaurants and bars to the left of the hotel. We did go to the right and visited the Turtle Breeding place which was interesting for the kids. Unfortunately my husband bought bottled water (which had been refilled we now realise) and both my daughters and husband got Giardia which made for a very interesting long haul flight home and two consecutive weeks of illness in Oz (PS always check your water seals in Africa) The beds at the hotel were comfortable, the safe in the kids room did not work, the aircon for the first two nights out of three in the kids room did not work and the bathroom in the kids room also flooded. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and welcoming, especially at the swimup poolbar..They made excellent pizzas. The kids loved them.. We had full board so the cocktails were included and the staff took much delight making us many!! The meals by African Standard were good...I would stay again...pleasant atmosphere...Always travel in Africa with a very open mind!!

Room Tip: We had a sea front room which was fantastic...Always book online much cheaper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChannyRimington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roaming aussie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Getting to Zanzibar sounded like a mission so I have put the trip off for years. I regret not going sooner! We arrived at the hotel after sunset and after a flying from Dubai via Dar es Salaam. When we got to the hotel rather than having us stand at the reception desk to check in, they suggested we take a seat on the lounge and served us an iced tea and cold towel while they did everything for us.
That night we had heard of a full moon party and the reception staff were very helpful with finding it's location and arranging a taxi driver who would take us there, wait as long as we wanted while we danced the night away under a full moon on the beach and then he brought us home. He charged $40USD!! So of course we gave much more than that to say thank you.
The next morning we woke up to the view from our room overlooking the pool and out to the sea and it was spectacular! Cured the hangover instantly! We were in heaven!
We went for breakfast and the staff there were so lovely! Selma was looking after us and we were like her best friends by the end of our first breakfast. Shah was making us omelettes and he also surprised us with special pancakes and syrup. They were both so amazing!
The staff at the pool bar also exceptional! So welcoming and friendly!
The beach is beautiful as well and we went swimming straight after breakfast. Water was crystal clear. The first day we went for a walk to the right of the hotel. Not a lot to see. Second day we stayed in front of hotel. On the last day we walked to the left of the hotel down the beach and there was a lot happening! Many beach bars and hotels and people playing soccer on the beaches there was a great atmosphere. We stopped at a restaurant (I didn't take note of it's name but it was near Infusion Restaurant I know that much) for dinner at sunset.
We had breakfast and dinner included but staff did ask us on occasions if we had full board all inclusive which I didn't know was available and may have taken that offer.
I've been to many African countries and hotels so I understand it's a completely different deal than staying in a top hotel in Paris or New York (as other reviewers have compared 5 star hotels). I can say that the food and service was outstanding and in fact you would rarely get such personal service in hotels in NYC or Paris etc. The staff in Doubletree were all like friends by the time we left. On our second morning we slept in and missed breakfast and the staff saw us at the pool and came out of their way to say hi and that they missed us at breakfast and said they hoped to see us the following morning!
Lots of honeymooners making us sick at every turn! haha but down the beach there was a more party atmosphere so we had the best of both worlds - quiet seclusion and relaxation and could go to the party scene if we wanted to.
Overall this hotel was excellent value for money. Bed was so comfortable! Felt safe with the mosquito net. There was a TV also with a few different movie channels as well.
I will definitely be back! Asante sans doubletree! :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 309 which was third floor looking straight out over the pool bar area and out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel knows good food and has a beautiful location with vieuw on the ocean.
There is a civilized and good atmosphere.
The rooms are spacious and nice styled with terrace.
Amazing how the general manager and his wife can create western luxury with an authentic african touch at the same time

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012deleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,037 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing