We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nungwi Inn(Nungwi)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
787
602
192
82
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
602
192
82
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treepool barfisherman's grillall inclusive packagedifferent themestone townfront desk managerbeach frontlow tidelocal villagebeach boysspecial thankshotel groundsthe hotel managerocean viewevening entertainmentour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,099 - 1,104 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

So glad we stayed at this hotel. Our room was beautiful and nicely decorated. I have to say the bed was extremely comfortable! Our room overlooked the pool and we had lovely sea views. Our room rate didn't include breakfast but the hotel added this on free of charge! Breakfast was good with a wide variety to choose from and was served up to 11am with views of the sea. Dinner at the hotel was nicely presently but unfortunately didn't taste as good as it could - they definitely can make improvements to this. However there are lots of restaurants along the beach that you can try that have excellent food. In the dark it may be necessary to get a taxi to these places. Nungwi is a beautiful fishing village and a photographers paradise especially around 3pm when the fishermen all sail off for the night fishing, an amazing view of their dhows all sailing at the same time. There was no night time entertainment. Although when we were there, there was a Halloween party at a place called Kenda Rocks nearby. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were given a warm and friendly welcome. The rooms advertised are quite deceiving, we thought we had booked a seafront room and were shown to a seaview room. You can see the sea from a seaview room but also the pool, bar and recreation area. No privacy on the balcony. Ideally you should book a seafront room.
The breakfast buffet was dry and unappetising apart from the omlettes. the bread was uncovered and being attacked by flies. I cannot fault the staff very attentive however watch out they don't charge you for double shots of alcohol when ordering this happened twice to me. Gym area is small and inadequate.
Overall nice hotel the excursions are identical to the ones offered on the beach for half the price so shop around. Good holiday but the hotel could be improved greatly at little cost. Not really value for money in comparison to others would expect more from a Hilton.

Room Tip: Go for seafront much better. Be aware no rooms have baths and most are just shower rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Beautiful setting, reasonably sized resort, rich buffet meals, free wifi, cute pool bar etc etc - everything great. If you're ready to pay the money for all the convenience and for the white sand and turquoise waters: it's fantastic. Try to get a sea-front room. It is truly sea-front. Wake up at sunrise and watch the fishermen set up their dhows and leave shore. Amazing.
If you're up for a more individual experience, move on, you'll find better value-for-money.

Room Tip: Go for sea-front - it is truly sea-front and worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I spent the last four days of our honeymoon at this hotel. It was a fantastic experience and the service was second to none.

Everyone was quite helpful, and the small touches were very thoughtful (flowers on the bed, bottle of wine, the happy honeymoon cake, fruit platters).

The amenities were pretty good, although it was easy to get disturbed by people trying to sell you crap in the area adjacent to the beach.

The only negative about the resort was the sheer number of flies that are everywhere. I had a drink at the pool bar one day, and there must have been 50 flies perched on the bar top.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc_ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 days, it was a fantastic experience!All the staff was just very helpful with a big THANK YOU to the resort new general manager Mr Bruce who was very professional and very attentive to all our demands.You will not have any regrets staying here, we just loved it and shall surely be back!!!
The only negative point is that we could not swim in the beautiful sea at low tide.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews