We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nungwi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Beach Bungalows
Ranked #22 of 36 Nungwi B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The rooms are average. The power rarely works, and when the power doesn't work neither does the water. There is no hot water, no matter what the owner says. The room looks nice, but with the iffy power and water it is difficult to give the hotel a good review. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was nice, but the price is a bit steep for Zanzibar, especially for what you get in the end.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Rooms dirty and not comfortable. Toilet with no door, insect inside the room, floor demage and pillows undescrivible. Shower don't working if there is not power in the room. They don't clean the room and sometimes don't change the bed (seen with my eyes) when the customers leave. Breakfast very poor and with nasty (petroleum) taste. Near is possible to find better accommodation at the same price or cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The place is very basic, but also very cheap. Rooms have a bed, a mosquito net and a bathroom (with no door). No room service at all for our six days. The beach in front of the hotel seems to be the most popular spot in Nungwi and is in my opinion the nicest stretch of beach in the area. Breakfast is served on your porch and is OK, and at this price I wouldn't normally expect breakfast. Meals at nearby "Waves" are very nice. All we did in the room was sleep, so in my opinion this place had everything we needed. And the staff was nice and friendly. The beach has plenty of touts, but that will be the case everywhere around here. An OK place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Do not stay here. Cheaper, cleaner and nicer staff can be found all over the town at 2 minutes walk.

The building sits in front of a beach bar playing italian music til late and you might know there are no windows in these bungalows, so it is very difficult to sleep. It is also right on one of the busiests paths in the area, so lots of shouting, etc was going on all day long.

It is not really on the beach, as it is said; One of the buildings is in the back of one of the beaches, not very nice one and the other building is on the path I menioned. It is not far, but not right on the beach: most of the others are.

Building is poor quality compared to the others, flooring could be worse, made out of patches of different designs o just plain cement, as they probably run out... Looked a bit run down.

Doors did not fit the door space, so there was 3-4 inches space between door and floor, so bugs easily came in. They gave us a towel to cover the hole...

We paid $45 which is ok only to find 3 or 4 other nicer places straight away. As we told the staff we only wanted to stay that one night (the only one we had booked), they wanted us out. In the morning, they tried to kick us out before the check out time, even going into the room befre breakfast time.

After 10 minutes walking we had 2 nice options: $30 on a beach bungalow on the best beach of nungwi, with a beach volley pitch, a bit of gardens etc or a $60 very nice and modern newly build bungalow on the same beach as Union.

Everyone I spoke to, ended up moving out of Union to either of these places, and there were 3/4 other options between $30 and $50.

For the quality of Union you have Romantic or Jambo Brothers at $20/$30, so Union is one of the worst options, believe me. We spent a month in Zanzibar and 2 weeks in Nungwi.

It feels an easy option as you can book online, but I would surely avoid it and make sure I go to one of the other local bungalows that seem to appreciate more the visitors and keep the rooms in better condition. It feels as it is design for backpackers or Uni students on low budget, but as said, there are places at half the price and same quality or same price and better quality! I would not recommend to anyone

I hope I am helping some of you find the better places in this town!

Ah! There is only one thing I would use of Union and it is their Internet Cafe: in this case, it is the cheapest in Nungwi and there aren't many places with internet, so do go there for e-mail checking!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank homelessdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

$US50 for a double room, with decent mosquito nets and an en suite.

Shower is really nice and warm, and the bungalows are on the beach with beautiful views. Basic breakfast is included, as were a family of four kittens who lived outside one of the bungalows. The $US20 snorkeling trip to Memba Atoll that the owner organises is amazing (both the coral reefs and the lunch on the 'secluded beach' - read beach filled with tourists eating their freshly cooked lunch).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowcherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: В центре есть двух этажный корпус на 6 номеров,там получше,но дороже.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank reznpavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lucreziashinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi Inn
#18 of 19 in Nungwi
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
GOasis
GOasis
#4 of 36 in Nungwi
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Umoja
Casa Umoja
#20 of 47 in Nungwi
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nungwi Paradise Beach Bungalows
0 mi away
Union Beach Bungalow
Union Beach Bungalow
#30 of 47 in Nungwi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Beach Bungalows

Address: Beachfront, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Nungwi
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Union Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Union Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing