We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snobbery at it's worst”
Review of Saruche Restaurant

Saruche Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Z Hotel’s main restaurant, Saruche, offers a four course Table de Hote Menu of African-European fusion cuisine as well as a variety of fresh-from-the-ocean fish and seafood. We have created a sophisticated, yet relaxed atmosphere where you can sample some of the finest cuisine Zanzibar has to offer and taste fine wines from our international wine selection.Other than sampling our delicious four course Table de Hote Menu, we do also offer themed buffet evenings on select nights. Ranging from the Seafood Fiesta to Traditional African style meals, all accompanied by live entertainment. With stunning views across the ocean, Saruche restaurant rests on the edge of a small cliff where you can eat al fresco on a deck over the ocean with only the rippling tide to keep you company.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“snobbery at it's worst”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's sad to write this kind of a review.

Z hotel and their restaurants were very rude to us.

Toward the end of our trip we stopped by the restaurants in order to eat a nice meal (they do have a great location and good sunset view) and use skype to connect with my wife's parents and tell them about our adventures.

Unfortunately both the front desk staff and wait staff told us that even paying diners would not have access to the internet, that it is only for people staying at the hotel.

I figured us having dinner (paying them!) and using the internet for an hour would be a good ideal for them as we would be paying customers. However no, we were informed that is not how they operate.

May I recommend dining at another restaurant as the ones right next door will give you free internet with dinner and treat you as a proper guest.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrstling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    46
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, Good service and friendly staff.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A lovely restaurant overlooking the beach and sea, food was tasty, well presented with a good selection, the steak being my favourite. The staff are smartly dressed very polite, and friendly. Didn't wait long for meals to arrive and were also piping hot! Didn't think meals were that expensive, normal price to dine in a good restaurant in the UK. If your looking for a romantic place to eat, then this is the place for you!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madapple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Completely overrated but lovely views”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had high expectations when I visited Saruche and was very disappointed.
Pros:
Nice staff
Beautiful setting

Cons:
Bad food
Very expensive wine
Weird menu tweaking

On arrival the staff are nice and welcoming. Presented us with a very expensive wine list starting from 50usd which i thought was fairly extreme for the quality of wine.
We order calamari starters which was entirely different to how it was dicribed on the menu. When we queried this with our waiter he didnt seem to be able to explain why it was different jsut that some items were not available.
I ordered gnocchi in a chili tomato sauce for main course. Pretty much inedible.
For desert we ordered the chocolate mousse which was not available, the waiter said he would bring a chocolate brownie from cinnamon upstairs. What he produced was a dry piece of sponge.

This place is expensive and I was extrememly disappointed with the quality of the food we received. I would recommend skipping Saruche and going to Cinnmon upstairs instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite_2011_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
233 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting and Good Food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first night at the Z Hotel my husband and I decided to splurge and eat at the Saruche Restaurant which is the ``fine dining`` option at this hotel. The tables are set up on a large open patio with wonderful views out over the water - very romantic and pretty. The food was good - very enjoyable meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Set facing the beach in a gorgeous spot the restaurant is tastefully decorated and lit. The staff are very attentive. The menu has good variety including a catch of the day. This was tough so not very good, however the beef was extremely tasty! Disappointed that the only sides available were chips or rice, they can improve on this and offer something more inline with the menu. Also, the red wine was too warm and could do with being chilled to bring to a more palatable drinking temperature. Definitely worth a visit though as the pros outweigh the cons and if we sent the catch of the day and wine back I'm sure we would have been happy with alternative selections.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelsloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saruche Restaurant also viewed

Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Saruche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing