We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An excellent spot to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent spot to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom on the first floor with views over the gardens and pool towards a turquoise ocean! An excellent spot for the two of us as we love swimming in the sea and, although there are tides, it was very safe to do so when the sea was in (but do wear protection on your feet as the dead coral can be sharp, and beware of the odd urchin). A very friendly team of staff headed by an attentive manager with good food which all made our stay very relaxed and we definitely hope to return one day. Perfect after a touring safari in East Africa.

Room Tip: Eight apartments with balconies all facing towards gardens, pool and sea. Some friends who we met on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    50
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
149
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a fabulous 5 days at The Zanzibari. The accommodation, gardens, food and staff were all amazing.Nothing was too much trouble. This was an authentic African experience, delivered by Africans with efficiency, courtesy and grace. It was very therapeutic.
John and Elizabeth

Room Tip: All roms face the sea - but a first floor one is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFS649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Zanzibari is located away from the main hotel area on Nungwi Beach. It is a quiet hotel set in lovely gardens. We stayed in a ground floor room with a large double and a single bed, with an ensuite bathroom and a small balcony looking out onto the garden. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The water supply was interrupted one evening but the shower worked well otherwise. Our stay included breakfast and dinner, and the food was lovely. The staff are helpful and attentive.
The pool area is best for swimming as the tides and shallow rocky shore don't really allow for a dip in the ocean at the front of the hotel. There are plenty of lounges, umbrellas and towels for guests to have a read and relax around the pool.
I can't recommend the US$30pp snorkelling trip that we took from the main beach - the coral was mostly dead, there were very few fish and there was a lot of sea lice in the water. The leaking snorkel and rather slap-dash beach BBQ were also not inspiring.
The walk along the shore to the main beach and village is interesting, and the bar at the end of the pier near the Zanzibari is nice for sunset photos and a drink. A good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights here after climbing Kilimanjaro and a doing a 7-day safari. The Zanzibari was a perfect place to relax. It is set around the point from the main beach where the majority of hotels are located. The negative is that the water is so shallow that it is not really conducive to swimming. However, we found that at the more popular side of Nungwi Beach the swimming areas are also where the fishing boats are moored. We also found that on the more popular part of the beach there are many hawkers of day trips. The walk from the Zanzibari to the other hotels is easy. It was very interesting to see the fishing boats and to see a large cargo boat being built by the local community. At high tide we had to take the road back which was very easy.
We found the Zanzibari to have an interesting large reception/dining area, lovely extensive grounds, a well-maintained pool and very comfortable poolside area, and pleasant rooms with balconies and spacious bathrooms. We did have a lack of water one evening, but it didn't take too long before it was fixed. And from then on, there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
We found the staff at the Zanzibari to be very helpful without being intrusive. The food was very good. It was a pleasant surprise to find that dinner was included in the price of the room. This was especially good given the location. We enjoyed every meal and found there was very good variety. One tip - if the tide is out, the hotel next door has a bar out on a jetty which is a nice place at sunset. Just bring a torch/headlamp for the short walk back for dinner.
The location may be an issue for some, but the one detractor for me was the 5% charge to use a credit car to pay the balance for the room. I will make sure to pay ahead next time!
I highly recommend a stay at The Zanzibari.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

As a single person traveling alone, I was very happy here. The location is stunning, food exquisite, the staff discrete and very helpful, accommodation beautifully presented. All the guests were happy, and recommended trips they had been on, dishes from the menu, the massages and the cocktails. No guest gave any negative observations on anything, and when it came to the questionnaire 'How could we improve the Zanzibari?' I had no suggestions, it was a perfect Zanzibar holiday experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank msh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights for our honeymoon in the Frangipani suite and it was beautiful. The resort is so relaxing and the staff very attentive and could not do enough for you. We ate in the hotel restaurant for every meal and it the food was excellent and did not get boring. One improvement would be to install phones from the villas to the hotel otherwise it was perfect. Thanks for a truly memorable honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came to The Zanzibari after a horrible experience at one of the big resorts nearby, and we were met by Paolo and Rashidi and his team and were put back into a state of romance, intimacy and love! These guys are gold! We stayed in the Frangipani suite, what an awesome private villa that runs to the beach, with it's own little beautiful private pool. Everything about the suite was excellent, even the lovely bubbles on arrival!

Rashidi is non-stop hands on, he is the most sincere, gentle, thoughtful person you will ever meet. He does an excellent job mentoring his crew of wonderful staff to generate a brilliant experience.

The pool is amazing, the setting on the beach is just to die for, it is a place of total tranquillity.

The food is EXCELLENT. We had a wonderful private romantic beach dinner with fire one night! Wow! Thanks for this!

And the breakfast is beautiful, you can eat until your heart is content. It is not a buffet, it is sit down real service. Yummy.

Thanks everyone!
Jarrod and Cristina

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarrodFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
16.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Property: The Zanzibari
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing