We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A paradise gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A paradise gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all an amazing setting added with fantastic service and food. Such lovely, helpful staff which made it feel like a home away from home...it felt very private and personal as it's quite a small hotel. I had a great massage overlooking the ocean! It was our honeymoon and the staff surprised us with a candlelit dinner and a chilled bottle of bubbly :) Fantastic time and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have AMAZING views but if you aren't able to get one don't worry about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    50
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
149
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After 2 wonderful weeks on safari travelling with Jules Vernes on their 'Secret Tanzania' programme this hotel was just the place to totally relax and unwind. The staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic. We had the large pool to ourselves 95% of the time and because the sun beds, hammocks, rock pools were widely spread around the beautiful gardens we felt that we were in our own private space. You will need beach shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
893 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is for relaxation and rest after your treks through the Tanzanian mainland.

The hotel grounds are situated at the North side of the Zanzibar island and about a 10 minute walk from the Nungwi. This layout of the hotel is widely spread for privacy and for the feeling you are the only guests. The grounds are well maintained and the guards keep the ground secure and even offer to walk you into the village.

The Ocean side is coral flat with stone. You will need sandals or Crocs to walk out into the sea. There is a sand beach about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are these great single person pools you can stand it and watch the ocean and dhows sail out at the evening time. There are ocean kayaks and snorkeling gear for use.

The staff is extremely kind, helpful, and courteous. Anything you desire they will do their best to arrange.

The food is delicious and portions just perfect. The selections were always done well. Daily there is a choice of seafood, meat or chicken, and a veg option for dinner.

The rooms are spacious and appointed with dhow wood furniture. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms fully functional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six days after our safari. We loved everything about it except there was no beach. Because it is small, we felt like we had the pool to ourselves regardless. The staff could not have been better and the food was superb. While I was there I suffered a serious bout of dehydration and the Manager didn't hesitate to send one of the staff to the village to get rehydration salts for me and offered to get a doctor as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because it is small, quiet and if you want relaxation after a safari this is a fantastic place to do it. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent a few days here after climbing Mount Kili and going on safari. It was the perfect place to wind down and relax. The service was excellent as was the food. Our frangipani (?) was very nice with our own private little pool and little beach. There is no actual sand beach ( coral flats) at this resort but access is just a few minutes walk away.The grounds are beautiful and there is a big pool for swimming. I partook in a spa treatment and massage which was really amazing. This is not a place to be if you want a party resort as it is small and quiet for the most part which was perfect for me and, I believe, my travel companions. Thank you all for my wonderful stay at the Zanzibari!!!!!

Room Tip: Frangipani suites are great and right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed there with a friend for one week. It is a small place, no mass of people, just perfect for relaxation. Other beaches are reachable within a few minutes walk, so is the scuba diving center Aquarius (very good!) at Ras Nungwi Hotel.
Food and rooms were very good and I want to remark that hotel staff was outstanding. Especially the assistant manager Amani helped me with great efforts to get out of my misery ("lost" all my money, passport, credit/debit cards - but NOT in The Zanzibari) - special thanks and honour to this man!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyvacation200x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got married here in December and it was the best ever. Paul and his staff were absolutely brilliant. Everything was done wonderfully for me so there was no stress. The hotel, the food, the staff, the location, infact everything is wonderful. It is such a friendly place and you feel so special while you are there. The wedding was magical from the masai guard of hour, Joyce and Candice throwing petals in a beautifully decorated garden as I walked to meet my future husband, the decorated beach for my wedding to the cold champagne and cake waiting for us after the ceremony. It was all low key but extremely beautiful.....

If you want a beautiful, peaceful and special holiday in a wonderful location, you cannot beat this place.

We cannot wait to come back, missing it all the time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2210Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
16.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Property: The Zanzibari
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing