We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I got married in the Zanzibari in july this year and it was absolutely amazing, everything we dreamed of and more. We wanted a small romantic wedding with a few friends on a beach and we could not have picked a better place. The setting is beautiful and Paul and all the staff bent over backwards to ensure that everything was just the way we wanted it. We could not recommended the Zanzibari hotel highly enough for a relaxing and unforgetable stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments. The staff are still talking about the wedding, it was my first as manager at the hotel and I have to say it brought a lump to my throat.I am so glad we made this a memorable day for you both.
All the best for your future.
Paul & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 335 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent six days at the Zanzibari after a one week Safari through Tanzania. For us it was the perfect place to relax and we can definitely recommend this place to other couples and families. The food was execellent. It is a really quiet place in front of the beach. However, the little village Nungwi is in walking distance to see the famous Dhow craft or the Acquarium with its turtles. Even though, the Zanzibari does not offer water sports activities at the hotel itself, Paul is able to arrange snorkeling or diving trips at the nearby hotel Ras Nungwi for you (5 star PADI). Paul and his very friendly staff made our stay a marvellous time.

Room Tip: we would suggest one of the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your gracious comments and I am pleased we made your stay so pleasurable, it would be lovely to see you return to the hotel one day in the future.
Best regards from Paul & all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I so agree with gduff79 that "You'll never want to leave". We stayed 5 nights, a family group of 3 adults and 3 children, and we talked about it that it felt really sad to leave after having had such a wonderful experience. Pieceful, relaxing, beautiful atmosphere surrounded by warmth and friendliness - all serves to compliment perfectly the stunning beauty of Zanzibar's beaches and crystalclear, blue-green water. We were welcomed and made feel welcome by the manger, Paul, and his assistant Amani - both pleasant, professional and with that warm, friendly smile that you'll appreciate to find especially in a place like this - very acommodative and always willing to assist.

The restaurant is as charmy as it can get, and personally I fell completely for the bar, camouflaged as a blue and white boat with its big sail raised to the top of the ceiling. It gave such a character to the room - a perfect atmosphere for an island holiday dining room :)

My 8 year old nephew had his birthday during our stay, and the response to our hopeful request for a birthday cake was unbelievable! The chef had really gone out of his way to make him a birthday cake to remember - and the little champ's eyes litterally shone when the whole crew paraded in with a super-cool race-car birthday cake as they sang "Happy birthday"! He talked about that cake for the rest of his stay in Tanzania.

The food deserves a chapter of it's own, as the one mouth-watering dish after the other was brought to our table. Tasty chicken, tender pieces of beef, appetizers, juicy bites, vegetables and salads were competing with delicious soups and not to mention the deserts!!

All in all - an absolutely recommendable, faboulous little piece of paradise!! :))))

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that your whole family enjoyed their stay at the hotel. I agree the little lads face was a picture of happiness when he received his racing car cake. It will be great to see you and your charming daughter again.
Kindest Regards
Paul & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived at the Zanzibari in a group of 10 to be received by the new manager Paul who is an absolute gem - so accommodating and helpful. We were there for 4 nights and the service from all was exceptional, the food was incredible and the rooms clean and perfect in every way. Paul helped us set up a spice tour in Stone Town as well as a snorkelling trip and he couldn't have been more flexible and professional. The waiters and bartenders were so attentive and friendly - this at the end of our African trip was like paradise and we left with heavy hearts. One group of three with us were having trouble fitting their accommodations to their budget and Paul gave up his own room to make them happy. The fresh flowers and fruit everyday were so appreciated and the grounds are so well maintained and beautiful. Having our own private balcony was a huge bonus and nothing was overlooked to ensure that our stay was perfect and it was!! It also was a different experience planning our walks to the nearby village around tide schedule which were posted everyday by the pool.

Room Tip: If you are in a group of 4-6 choose the "cabins" which are unbelievable with their own poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missingparadise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review I am glad that we made your stay so relaxing and enjoyable. It was a pleasure having you stay here. I have passed on your comments to all the staff.

Best Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Describing this hotel as Paradise would not be far from the truth.
The management and staff make you feel so welcome and looked after, with nothing being too much trouble.
The rooms are a perfect size and comfort, with well portioned ensuite bathrooms, clean and well looked after. That being said, the hotel grounds and amenities are so stunning, you'll want to spend as little time in your room as you can.

The food is gorgeous and the cocktails are too moreish, but what really sets the scene is the stunning restaurant which encompasses a full-sized boat encapsulating the bar.

If that hasn't sold it for you, the beautiful gardens, pools and private beach area truly are the pièce de résistance.

There is so much to see and do in Nungwi and around Zanzibar, but in a hotel like this, somedays you just don't want to leave...

Room Tip: All the rooms are as stunning as each other, but if you are traveling as a family, the luxury suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gduff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay at our hotel. I'm so glad you found everything to your taste and you took the time to explore the local area.
Best Regards
Paul & all The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent five days at the Zanzibari at the end of our VJV Secret Tanzania tour. The room was absolutely beautiful - the bed was decorated with flowers on our arrival; the bathrrom was spacious and the shower was excellent; but even better was our own terrace/balcony area with a view across the lovely grounds to the pool and beyond that to the Indian Ocean. Flowers surrounded the balcony and it was our own little piece of paradise. If that wasn't enough, the food was excellent and the service was exemplary! Although the hotel has steps down to the beach, at high tide there is no beach and at low tide the sand is replaced by rock pools after a short distance. This didn't bother me in the slightest as the hotel has ample grounds and sand and sun loungers for all its guests - there are only eight rooms and two cottages so a maximum of 20 guests at any time. It is very pleasant to walk along the beach at low tide and fascinating to watch the villagers fishing and collecting sea weed in the mornings. Home-made cookies and tea are served by the pool every day around 5pm, which was a lovely touch. Drinks of all descriptions can be ordered any time during the day and brought to your sun lounger by the wonderful staff. Sheer decadence! I also have to mention the lovely Roseti who cleaned our room and tried to teach me Swahili (not very successfully I'm afraid!). She was absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad that you found our hotel the perfect place to relax and unwind.

Kindest Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spent 4 nights in June and it was excellent! i don't often stay in luxurious places but this most definitely was luxury. Great staff- from the security guards and housekeeping staff who always had a smile and good chat through to the management who couldn't have been more accommodating and very helpful when it came to helping us with onward travel plans. A great location away from the main huddle of hotels too. Good food and quality cocktails helped round off some hard days relaxing next to a cracking little pool.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and all were excellent. Course the incredible suites/bungalows are the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRMC848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibari_Tanzania, General Manager at The Zanzibari, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here. It would be nice to see you again one day.

Kindest Regards
Paul & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,097 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $164 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing