We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro Butlins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Somewhat souless concrete constructions with what must be the largest swimming pool complex on the island, dominated by Italian trade.

Stayed 6 nights with family. The hotel has got its service issues straightened out - staff were excellent.

Downside of the dominant Italian population is the ever-present cheesey disco hits of the 80's being played, group acqua-aerobics and the like (sort of modern day euro butlins). Upside is that the food was of exceptional quality for a buffet-style operation.

Beach is good, but plagued by purveyors of tat. The beach doesnt suffer from tidal issues seen elsewhere on Zanzibar, but as there is no reef, there is not much to see if going snorkelling. Swimming pools were well maintained. Given the vast size of the complex, even with 200 people it seems pretty empty.

Work has stopped on the private villas on the beach front, suggesting cash flow may be an issue for the backers. It will close in April this year for major renovations despite being quite a new hotel.

We holed up by the pool and went scuba diving, didn't really get to see much else of the island, but enjoyed ourselves regardless.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrZippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Before arriving at the hotel I was a little worried due to the comments I had read on this site. But on arrival all my worries disappeared.

From the reception you get a view of the ocean which is breathtaking. We were greeted with happy smiles,cold towels and fresh juice.

After check in, we were led to our room through pretty gardens and huge welcoming pools. When we arrived to our room I was astonished as to the size of our rooms. They were HUGE! The bathrooms were equally big. We had a shower as well as a double bath where my kids got to have bubble-baths every night. From our balcony we had the most prettiest sight- getting a view of the ponds, gardens, pools and then the sea.

I was very impressed with the meals, we had a vast range of different foods. My kids were satisfied with different pizzas of their own toppings every day while I was able to have different foods of my own preference.

It was a truly wonderful holiday and very relaxing. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalita-Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

After a weeks safari on the mainland we were really looking forward to a weeks relaxing and upon entering the hotel I thought WOW!
Greeted with scented hot towels, and a lovley refreshing drink. Then we were taken through well tended gardens and past four inviting pools to our room. We were lucky and through our agent had been upgraded to a suite located right on the beach front. Huge room, double bath, bed on the balcony, and stunning views of the white sands, and out across the sea onto the Indian Ocean.
First night in the resturant was great, friendly staff, food was good, witha huge choice.
I went to bed that night drifting off to sleep thinking "yes at last a 5 star hotel"

The next morning i woke up hungry and looking forward to a hearty breakfast and we made our way back to the restuarant.

However with only a handful of guests dining I was suprised to find not one clean,and made up table. Even more suprised to have to go and ask a waitress to get a table ready....

Okay I thought a one off lets not get to negative as it is our first day.

So after breakfast we went to the pool and found a nice spot near to the one of the bars. I have been to other hotels were the staff come up to you and take your order and duly return... No not here not one during the whole stay where drinks served where you where. Alright I thought so I need to get up and walk the short distance to get a drink, not the end of the world if a little annoying. However when I get to the bar and I am told we have run out of the drink I have asked for and that the staff were not prepared to go and get some, I find that annoying and not what I would exect from a 5 start hotel.

As I mentioned earlier we had a choice of four swimming pools and only two were ever really used. In fact for most of the week it was just us and the four only other Brits who used this one particular pool, with the one next to us not being used at all.
So I was somewhat annoyed that the only entertainment team Sea Club (i'll come onto them later) decided to take over our pool for pools games, setting up speakers, and even using our table to house them on. Why couldn't they have used the empty pool???

This resulted in a swifty retreat to a bar to get some peace.

We then went for lunch only to find that the flies had beaten us to it!! None of the food was covered, nor were any of the refrigiation counters switched on... Maybe this had something to do with the 8 people bed ridden with upset stomachs I found out later.

The food was on the warm side of cold as none of the serving dishes were heated.

I was now somewhat miffed at the lack of service, and cleanliness in the resturant.

I am then informed by the other Brits that it doesn't get any better with bar staff refusing to serve you unless you give them something. Words such as "you do me a favour, and i'll do you one" were mentioned.

From my balcony I witnessed security staff who were their to keep the beach boys in check leaving their posts, and the unsuspecting guests to the fate of their tacky goods!

Ok after a couple of days of this we thought we would try the grill resturant at lunch. One waitress and maybe 6 guests but yet we waited an age to be served,and then the wrong food was served. No apologies just "it's the chefs fault"
Next day waiting 1/2 hour to have our food order taken, and a further 1 hour to have it served mine was missing. The waitress even turned round and said "you not eating" After explaining politley that yes I would like to eat she agains blame the chef and potters off only to bring me the wrong food again!!!

That was the final straw and off to reception I go. "Is this a 5star hotel?" I ask. A puzzled look is returned and the reply is "Yes" With this I ask to speak with a Manager and one is sent out to greet me. He to confirms that it is a five star hotel. I list off my complaints and his only reply is "thank you for tellin me please write in to complain as we are aware but can't do anything!"

Back to Sea club... Now I did look at reviews prior to leaving but could only find Sea Club Royal Zanzibar??
I now know why the Royal Zanzibar has the prefix Sea Club...
It's because they run the show. It's an Italian based company who have virtually monopolised the hotel with them taking almost half the rooms, having shows for Italians only, ie no English translation, and for taken other such as the pool games mentioned earlier.

To sum up... If the hotel was advertised as a good 3 star I would agree, and proably be singing it's praises. However it's still stating a 5 star rating.

Pros - Hotel looks amazing (could be as still virtually brand new)

Cons - Have you not just read the above.

I am assured though that once the staffing issue has been sorted that the resort will be a 5 star... Well when hell freezes over I'll be back!!

Believe me you will be dissapointed!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExcaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

nice stay, very good food, very large room, very good service, private beach

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank arletteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Liamg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank OvdAst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.1 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $262 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing