We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very nice place, staff may not all be too switched on always but they all seem to try, language could be the biggest problem. Lovely place to stay.. Food is ok, but with loads of choice. Manager Kim is always keen to listen to all complaints and compliments.. well done

Room Tip: sea view and upstairs is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan95610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you realized and as we discussed while you were here, tourism is still very new to Zanzibar and as hard as we try to find staff with good English (and additional language) skills, we still have situations they struggle with. I'm happy that you found them willing to try as that is one of the things we spend a lot of training time on. When they have a problem they can't solve, we expect them to ask supervisors or managers for help and figure it out so that the guest is happy and so they learn for next time.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    387
    99
    39
    34
See reviews for
275
812
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friendly, knowledable and capable staff all round. We had no problems at all. We got exactly what we paid for. Rooms and batrooms were very well maintained and very spacious. TV was a bit small and dated, but who really watches TV in a place like this. Restaurants were well appointed with excellent food. Our special dietry requests were more than adequately catered for. A big up goes to the managment staff as well. Beaches and the various on-site swimming pool & jacuzzi facilities were very good and well used by ourselves. Sundowners from the Coco Bar is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhiresh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Dhiresh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It was such a pleasure to have you and your lovely wife staying with us, we enjoyed meeting you both!

We will be happy to share your comments with the staff as well as the management team, how kind of you to acknowledge them all. We will also keep your comments regarding the television in mind for our next update of the facilities.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming all of your friends!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this resort in March 2013. It is a splendid place, big and very cosy rooms and bathrooms, a fantastic location, all inclusivce means all inclusive, i.e. drinks and cocktails as well, best service, lovely staff. We just felt so much welcome and at home while still staying so far away. If there were any problems they were solved within shortest time (they for instance changed our DVD Player so to get one which worked for German DVDs within 2 hours!!!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiegrunGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your terrific review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the resort and even more so that you felt welcome! We've worked hard to ensure that we offer an atmosphere that is as inviting and relaxed as we can make it and we're happy that you liked what you found. Of course, we're also glad that we were able to sort out your DVD player, that's not always an easy fix in this little corner of the world! We'll be pleased to share your comments with the team, I know they'll enjoy hearing them.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having got back from a fabulous time in Zanzibar we are missing it already. We had lovely time at the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort hotel could not find fault with anything. The staff in all areas were brilliant so helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble.the food was very nice and lots of choices from breakfast,lunch and dinner. snacks as well if you was still feeling hungry.We went for a relaxing 10 days and that what we got, even though it is the rainy season we did well every day really. We never had to fight for sun beds, no queuing at meal times or round the bars, can imagine when it is full season it must get very busy.the beach was lovely did sunset tour from hotel that was fantastic the sunset each evening was brilliant.The beach boys are a bit of a nuisance but if you say no they do leave you alone.The pools and gardens surrounding the hotel were beautiful.The room what i can i say was lush big four poster beds with nets round to keep mosquito's out. All in all was fab holiday and i can fully recommend the hotel to anyone. Thanks again to Kim and all your staff made us feel so welcome and im sure we will come back to see you again in the near future.

Room Tip: for views the first floor is the better if you are able to climb few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denise5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your terrific review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach resort!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and love being able to pass on such positive comments to our staff.

We also appreciate your comments regarding the beach boys. We have been meeting with them regularly to ask them to be less aggressive, I hope that your remarks are an indication that the message is getting through.

We really would love to welcome you back, thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

well it was fantastic in simple, the staff/chef/and all the management of Royal Zanzibar Beach resort.thank you Khaled for the wonderful food and taking care of the family.
the manager ms kim well done!!!
the toilets need toilet showers

Room Tip: the k wing and e wing are nearer to the restaurant but go for ''A'' wing is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabirb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we were delighted that you had such a good time! Thank you particularly from Khaled and myself, for the kind mentions, but I look forward even more to sharing you remarks with the rest of the team.

We'll keep the toilet showers in mind as a possibility for the next renovation, although the owners thought that was taken care of by ensuring that all of our guest rooms have bidets.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back form 7 nights, and have had a fantastic holiday in the Royal. Huge rooms, a great view from k23 which we had of the sea front and the large swimming pools and gardens. All the facilities were clean and well maintained with the restaurants offering a good variety of food throughout our vacation
We found the staff very helpful, friendly and attentive. They are very approachable, and offered good informative advice
Go and see it the resort it is fantastic

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort AND for your terrific recommendation!

It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay, but even more so when we can tell our hardworking team what a positive impact they have had on your vacation! I look forward to sharing your comments with them in our next all staff meeting.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 nights stay. We were looking to relax and at the same time have a little fun and this was the prefect place to get away. The atmosphere is very nice, good hospitality and the service was good as well. The view from the rooms was excellent. The food was good just a little more variety for vegetarians but no complaints at all. The all inclusive drinks were great especially the cocktails. In a nutshell had an amazing trip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreya03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're thrilled that your weekend getaway was so successful and appreciate your kind remarks regarding the property and the service. It's always a pleasure to share these positive remarks with our team.

Our Food and Beverage team will be pleased to hear about their success with the drinks and disappointed that we missed a little variety in the vegetarian meals. We will continue to strive in this area to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the options available on the buffet.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Property: Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing