We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This should be on #1 in Tripadvisor. It is really paradise. It is just on the beach and this beach happens to be the most beautiful and unspoilt beach I have ever been. The rooms were very large, comfortable and with gorgeous views to the sea. The staff was always available. Food was great but there are so many great restaurants on the island that we booked just bed and breakfast and always had a meal in a different spot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aSmith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
May I first take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to you for selecting The Z Hotel Zanzibar as your preferred hotel for your recent holiday in Zanzibar and I sincerely appreciate your honest and constructive feedback to our services during your stay with us, where again our beach has been a justified highlight alongside the hotel.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel. Thank you again such a positive response spurs us on to even bigger & better heights.

Thank You,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    233
    48
    25
    19
See reviews for
103
661
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 13 days on safari in Kenya and Tanzania - an amazing experience, but all we wanted to do after that was to relax. Hotel Z is the perfect place to stay. Very stylish design of rooms and environs; very friendly staff; great food in a choice of restaurants; and located right on the beach with its turquoise waters. The pool area is great for relaxing, with an infinity pool that looks out over the beach and ocean beyond; sun loungers by the pool and a great poolside bar with friendly staff and light meals... Paradise! We only stayed 3 nights but could have easily spent a week...

Room Tip: We were in an upper floor room which gave us great views of the beach and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim4Noosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
My team and myself are delighted to receive your feedback.

Thank you for these wonderful remarks! With gratitude I will pass them on to the team. It will make them feel as proud as I am!

We’re so glad you had a cool, relaxing time with us; we equally loved having you here. Thank you for making the most of the hotel facilities & you are both most welcome back at any time.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have spent 5 nights after 12 days in the savana and I really liked the place and would recommend it.
Location is very good, low tide is not as in other areas of the island so that you can bathe with starfishes in the morning and get a real swimming pool in the aftenoon with very clean water.
Rooms are nice and clean with a good view on the beach.
The restaurant terrace is wonderful, breakfast and dinner with such a view is great, they also have a good menu and choice.
The place is very peaceful, for a perfect relax after the safari days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again it has been appreciated that we offer the perfect location, ambience etc to relax & refresh after a tiring safari or Kili climb or simply, the perfect getaway from a hectic lifestyle.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Z Hotel in Nungwi is down to earth, yet trendy and stylish. It's location is great because you avoid the crowds from the larger resort-like places further to the south along the beach, yet you will find a good cluster of smaller bungalow-style places and good beach restaurants in the area - Langi Langi is a very good restaurant. The Z-Hotels own restaurant is also great. Good sea food, nice view and kind staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Your kind & observant remarks are well appreciated. Being a relatively small boutique hotel we can certainly offer a more personal service, guests have easy access to all our facilities without having to roam any great distance to reach them. We are also lucky to be located, not only next to a fabulous beach, but also near to other great establishments.

We know our guests sometimes like to wander outside the hotel & are always ready with recommendations & guidance.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice, small hotel on the lovely Nungwi beach with:

- Lovely restaurant, with sea view and lovely seafood dinners (breakfast at the same restaurant just OK I am afraid)

- Small, but nicely decorated rooms with great sea view balconies

- Small but lovely pool

In retrospect, small and lovely is the hotel's theme :)

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Z hotel!

What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing the Z Hotel for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great location with excellent service and very good food. The views of the sunset while sipping a cocktail in the beachfront pool will live with us for a long time. Situated well to explore other bars and restaurants as well as Nungwi beach. Perfect honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We were delighted to receive this great review from our valued guests, where again our beach has been a justified highlight alongside the hotel.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel. Thank you again such a positive response spurs us on to even bigger & better heights.

Thank You,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My partner and I wanted to go to a romantic and relaxing destination as a reward for climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and we were very pleased with our choice of The Z Hotel!! We stayed here 5 nights in mid June, and we couldn't recommend this hotel enough! The staff were absolutely amazing, everything was "hakuna matata" and we were always made to feel very "karibu". On arrival you are given a lovely drink, a refresher towel and given a tour of the premises. My partner and I are very private people and we found that the staff at the hotel have the right balance of providing excellent friendly service without being either smothering or intrusive, so we always felt like we had privacy which really added to the romantic feel of the resort.
We flew into Zanzibar and organized our transfers through The Z Hotel. The weather at this time of year is still warm and we enjoyed swimming in both the hotel pool and ocean. During our time here it rained a couple of times, but the rain didn’t last long. It was a bit windy, so in the evenings it tended to be a little cool, but we just wore a light jacket to dinner and were warm enough.
We found our room very comfortable and the shower was amazing (especially after having camped for 7 days!). As we were fairly tired from our trek, all we wanted to do was relax – so we didn’t explore much of the island. We were more than happy to lounge around the hotel.
Although there are other places very close to the Z Hotel that you can dine at, we only ate away from the hotel for one night, when we went to the Mangi Bar. We both had a burger from here and the price was fair and the food was good. It was fairly busy and had a bit of a sports pub feel.
For all our other meals we ate at the hotel. We had breakfast included in our room fee. For me, breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and the variety of food that The Z Hotel had on offer should please anyone. My partner enjoyed the custom made omelets, whereas I prefer a continental breakfast and was very pleased with the fruit, museli and danishes offered. They even had Nutella! They had the full hot breakfast available and you could even get crepes made for you.
For lunch we ate at Cinnamons each day. We found the prices reasonable and there was enough variety to keep us coming back each day. We went to Sarachue for 3 of our 5 nights stay and enjoyed every meal. Our particular favourites were the ravioli (which I had twice cause it was so nice!) and my partner enjoyed the steak. They also had a chocolate brownie dessert which was amazing!!
I got a massage at the hotel while and also visited the Azizi boutique. At the time I only bought a bracelet as I thought that I would do more shopping in Stone Town before leaving Zanzizbar. We organized a snorkeling trip and a day trip to Stone town through Mremba tours and were happy with both the price and service that was provided. Our Stone Town tour was organized for the morning on the day we were flying out from Zanzibar. This was very convenient for us. When shopping in Stone Town, make sure you haggle. We were not prepared for the haggle process when we bought our spices, so we think that we over paid for them. We also went to Memories Souvenir Shop. The good thing about this place is that the prices are fixed and there is no need to haggle. The bad thing, is that we found it very expensive and didn’t end up buying anything from here. In fact after visiting this store, I wished that I bought more things from the Azizi boutique at The Z Hotel, in particular their bracelets and carved animals were very good prices.
After leaving the island my partner realized that he had left his sunglasses at the hotel. In addition I had accidentally broken the bracelet that I had bought from Azizi. When we had got home we emailed Julie the manager of the hotel. She had found the glasses and although we offered to pay, she organized for both the sunglasses and a new bracelet to be mailed to us in Australia – at no cost!! This was really above and beyond her duties as the manager. We also found that while booking our accommodation Julie was very attentive to all our questions. All in all, we had a fabulous time at The Z Hotel. We would love to visit Africa again and if we do, I will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed room 19. It is classed as a deluxe garden view room. We could hear ocean and we looked dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Carolyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
What an amazing review, many many thanks. We’re delighted you had such a great time. We pride ourselves for providing the perfect location & environment to unwind after a Kilimanjaro climb &/or safari. With our chilled & relaxed atmosphere our guests soon feel rested & refreshed.

Indeed Julie is an asset to the company. It was a pleasure to reunite you with your sunglasses & a new bracelet, you’re very welcome & needless to say, it would be great to see you back here again one day.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing