We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but some minor errors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights after safari in the mainland in Tanzania. The hotel offers very good service, free wi-fi and most of the staff are very nice and helpful. However, there were som errors, so it is a 4 points out of 5. For instance, we did not get our change back when we paid for the week and when things are supposed to be done (like fixing broken things) you have to repeat the request and the fine dine restaurant sometimes were quite chaotic as regards the orders. But most of the staff are very good, especially the manager, Julie - she's excellent. It is also sympathetic that you are supposed to tip in the end and that the tip is dispersed among all employees. Some of the male staff, however, seem to have a problem with talking directly to women. If the woman asks a question, he would answer and look at the man. The Mrembo tours, who have an office in the Z hotel area, were not that good, except for the spice tour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweden300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was a nicehotel and i was infinity swimming pool. Bedroom was really nice with a nice view on the beach.
Also, the staff was really nice.

We got a wonderful welcome when we got at the hotel.

Unfortunately, this could be a 5 etoiles but because of the food i cannot give one more star. We got food poisoning during our stay there.. Before being at the Z hotel i've been in different 3 stars hotels in tanzania and we never got sick before in our trip.

It is sad to get sick in this kind of hotel..... Losing a day of vacation when you spend 300$ a night it's not cool.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the best time at the Z Hotel in Zanzibar! We stayed in the cottage. The room and views were absolutely breathtaking!!! We felt like we were in paradise. The food was great, the pool was nice, and the beach was good. We loved every minute of it! I would go back in a heartbeat, if I could!

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was a little piece of paradise! The water was warm and a beautiful blue. We were in the Deluxe Sea View rooms which were outstanding! I would highly recommend these rooms if you go to this hotel! Very spacious and comfortable and right on the water! Beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a boutique hotel experience that is so close to the beach you have to raise your voice to be heard over the waves, book this hotel. If you can afford it, ask for a cottage room. It is a two story room perched over the ocean. Spectacular view. Negatives: the a/c unit in the bedroom was noisy and the temp control didn't work. We froze to death with it on and roasted to death from the heat if we left it off. Tried to get maintenance to fix it, but it never improved. Couldn't leave the doors open since the mosquitos were abundent and the bed netting couldn't keep them all out. The water pressure in the shower was good but there is zero counter space in the bathroom which was hard for two people. A tv hanging inside the canopy bed was a bit tacky as well.

There is a private beach area for the hotel but it blends with the main beach and doesn't feel exclusive. The pool area is very nice - infinity pool, well stocked bar and plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. However, many of the umbrellas are broken from the high winds and the pool water wasn't cleaned daily and smelled a little off at times. Unlimited free internet / wifi in the library area with two computers for guest use.

The food in the restaurant and the bar was quite good. Lots of variety on the menus too. Downside was very slow service, go before you are hungry.

Big downside to this hotel and the area in general is that it was more than an hour drive from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages have the best view and the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goofyftgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We splurged for our holiday and booked the roof top suite for our belated honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a couple of days to relax, unwind and rest. Our room was perfect and well worth the money. Beautiful beach walks were enjoyed daily and cocktails watching the sunset. Staff are friendly and helpful. Buffet breaks was yummy especially the porridge when u have been travelling for a month, and dinner was good quality delicious food with professional friendly wait staff. Definitely worth a visit anyone heading to zanibar for a holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is really worth a visit. Not only because of the very, very nice rooms, superb location on the absolutely beautiful beach (and the nicest strecht of it) but also for its very nice staff, very good food and top service.
We had the best possible time here and if we're going back to the northern part of Zanzibar, which I'm sure we will, this is the hotel we will book.
If you have the possibility and the bit of extra money, book one of the two ocean front cottages.
We did and it was... bliss and luxury.
The Z Hotel is just the right size, it has a familiar feeling without being small. We just loved it here!!!
Camilla

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camalam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,097 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $177 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing