We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely overpriced”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After living in Tanzania for 4 years we were reluctant to stay at this hotel but we finally did, just to confirm what we thought. It's extremely overpriced for what you get. Bad service, bad food, small and soulless rooms, crowded pool... The only good thing is the location, but there are so many other nice places in Zanzibar for a third of the price. Not a good choice if you want to treat yourself with something especial.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    239
    50
    25
    19
See reviews for
108
677
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We wife and I spent 5 days at the Z hotel at the end of our holiday to Tanzania, Mafia and Zanzibar. What a great way to finish an incredible holiday, the Z Hotel was just what we needed after the remoteness of Mafia - a bit of all-round boutique luxury. As soon as we turned up at the main gates, we knew we were in for a treat. The whole resort looks fabulous and we had a deluxe sea-view room which was perfect. Our room wasn’t huge but really nicely designed and the balcony looks over the amazing white sandy beach below.

The pool area is a great place to relax and watch the beautiful sunset with a happy hour cocktail in the infinity pool. And the beach really is stunning……white sand and the clearest water I’ve ever seen anywhere.

There’s a good variety of food in the Z, either in the upmarket restaurant overhanging the sea or the more snacky restaurant directly above. It was nice to mix up some swanky meals with something a little more basic every now and again.

We managed to do some great diving out on Tumbatu island, definitely worth a visit for divers, we actually enjoyed our dives here as much as we did around Mnemba and at the Mafia Marine Park.

All of the staff were friendly and attentive and the management team are great guys. As with all of Zanzibar, the local people really can’t do enough for you and this went a long way to making this one of the best holidays we’ve had.

After 18 days of holiday, we are usually just about ready to get back to the creature comforts of home. Not in this case. We could quite happily have endured a few more days of the Z. Thanks to all for making our last days in Zanzibar just fantastic and rounding things off wonderfully.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveGreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Dec '12 which included Christmas. The hotel is fabulous & the sea-view rooms all have balconies & overlook the pool also. Speaking of the pool, it's a really nice pool with adjacent bar. All staff are very friendly & there are 2 restaurants on the premises. It's a relatively small and compact hotel but is right on the beach -- there are other restaurants / bars along the beach to go to also. A small next door to the hotel has cheap (cheaper than the hotel) wine and beer for sale ... so everything you need is all right there. All rooms have modern tvs and good selection of channels -- that's if you get bored with the pool, sea and sand!!
We would love to go back to this hotel again!!

Room Tip: The deluxe sea-view rooms are more expensive --- but well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeRyanLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

just returned from safari in Tanzania and 3 glorious days in the sun in Zanzibar. I liked the Z Hotel, although there were a few problems. Hotel is about 1 hour drive from airport...should line up transportation in advance.

Staff was very nice and helpful. We had 2 rooms...a cottage (i think there are only two)...it was fab! Two stories w a great deck, right on the ocean. other units are very nice as well.

The whole island has one big problem....electric cuts out 5-6 times a day. Hotel has a back-up generator, but only uses it from 5pm until 7am.

My biggest issue was the on-location restuarants. Service was BAD! Took 45 minutes one evening to get drinks from the bar.

Bring plenty of small Euro or Dollar bills for tipping!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveiWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is excellent - modern, stylish, comfortable, without trying too hard. We absolutely loved it. It's right on the beach: a beautiful white sand beach with turquoise blue water. The pool is lovely, rooms are delightful, and staff were very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this place. It has a restaurant which is good, a nice breakfast, shop, spa etc. The only downside perhaps is that you can hear the music playing in the evenings in your room -- but it didn't disturb us. I really recommend this place, and would go back. It's great for a beach vacation!

Room Tip: seaview rooms have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent food plus clear and clean beaches with no harrassment from beachboys. Good view of the beach from poolside and hotel location is serene,far from the hustle and bustle of down town Zanzibar.Good for relaxing.From the time of checking in the service was fast and efficient with a welcome non alcoholic drink.The hotel has an automatic standby generator in case of power failures(which are quite frequent in Zanzibar),with adequate capacity to power all amenities including the air conditioning. The standard room was clean and spacious with a split unit air conditioning system which was adequate.The bed was the traditional Swahili type fitted with a mosquito net albeit there were no mosquitoes during our stay.What was a pleasant surprise was the innovative fixing of the flat screen TV to the horizontal top bed bar, with a downward screen tilt thereby giving the room occupier the liberty to comfortably watch the Dstv channels while lying in bed.Cupboards were spacious with a safe provided to store valuables.Hair dryer and water boiler with tea bags and instant coffee bags were provided in the room.Bathroom and toilet were immaculately clean.Food at the top floor restaurant which gives a panoramic view of the beach was excellent,although the hotel management should consider air conditioning the restaurant as it can be quite hot during lunch time. Staff were courteous and friendly and cutlery clean.Restaurant prices were quoted in U.S.Dollars and were reasonable.The ground floor restaurant is adjacent to the beach and boasts of fans at every table for cooling and shooing away the occasional fly. One can book diving /snorkeling/boat trips.The hotel has visa card facilities but lacks a foreign exchange bureau for hard currency holders.Guests have to go to the adjoining hotel which has a foreign exchange bureau.All in all ,I would love to be a repeat guest at this hotel.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms offer best beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We decided to spend our holidays here after rave reviews on this website. The stay was fairly okay. The kitchen though needs a lot of work. Some of the most blend cocktails anywhere in the world. Tasteless. YHappy hour where you get cocktails at half price became miserable hour. The waiters suffer from a severe case of forgetfulness. You order and hope they get your order right and that they will deliver. The meals are amazing one day and pathetic the next. The restaurant needs to focus on the food and less on the decor. Serious waste of time. Pretty inconsistent venue all round. We couldn't wait to leave this peaceful town in the end. And just lastly one evening housekeeping helped herself into our room whilst we were sleeping (21:00).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing