We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just spent 8 days here (November 2012). 
The hotel is very beautiful, very clean, relaxing, faultless service and exactly the standard I'd expect for the rates etc. Cold towels and drinks as soon as you walked through the door and very friendly relaxed environment.
The hotel restaurant food is very good, though fairly expensive - and there are lots of local restaurants close by on the beach where you can eat slightly more basic and cheaply.
Mangi's bar next door for example, and has a good bar, good food amd with good music and a pool table.
Langi Langi restaurant if you walk down the beach (turn right along the beach with the sea in front of you and it's a 2 minute walk) was really good food and they have a special hot curry menu.
Watching the sunset over the infinity pool and the sea is spectacular, very beautiful and the pool bar does happy hour cocktails every day from 5 til 7 so it's a lovely place to relax at that time of day.

The beach is beautiful, really clear sea and clear white sand with a much less rocky and weedy sea bed than those further up that we visited. It's really shallow and calm to swim in.
The only bad thing about the beach is getting hassled quite a bit for booking trips and people selling the usual kinds of stuff. In hindsight, I would have booked with the hotel tour operator for a quieter life and the quality probably would have been a higher standard, but it is a lot cheaper to book with 1 of the guys on the beach. We haggled quite a bit and got a good price on a trip to the south of Zanzibar to swim with dolphins, which was great, but too many boats around when we were there to get the best experience I think. Try just saying youve already booked everything already until you work out what you think you want (but whatever you've booked, they'll suggest something else..) our experience was that they're fairly friendly but get very greedy - when you've booked 1 thing, they will constantly try and up it to something else. You try and be fair as this is how they make a living I know. We booked 1 trip with a guy called Sebastian, and then another trip with a different guy called Julian.
When Sebastian saw that I was booking another trip with someone else, he was fairly unpleasant. He said he hoped a big shark would eat me on the snorkeling trip and I really hadn't been rude to him at all. I just walked away saying he was doing my head in when he was having a go at me for not booking with him. Unfortunately the hotel can't really do much about the hassle on the beach. I guess they must have their reasons for not advising you about it, and if they approach you first to offer you trips, I guess you'd feel like they were trying to pressure you as well, so they can't win :-) but it's just something to be aware of and its going to be hard to avoid unless you can afford to go and stay on a private island or hotel with a private beach.
Just a tip if you get sick....My boyfriend arrived sick with tonsillitis that he had just come down with on the plane. The reception staff I asked, first advised I go to the village to the supermarket or to ask a farmer. The pharmacy - which is what she meant - was a hospital which none of the locals I asked could help me find very easily as they weren't familiar with the word pharmacy and it was hidden away. It had the words dispensary on the outside of the building so it would have been useful if they had said this to me. It was pretty run down with no staff around but after waiting for about half an hour a doctor appeared and I bought penicillin from him for about £15.
The trips we did - swimming with dolphins, the monkey forest, the spice farm, and a snorkeling day trip.
Also if you want to see a truly stunning hotel, go to Zalu for lunch. You can walk along the beach if the tide isn't high, but it takes about 40 minutes, or get a taxi or walk through the village to the other side of the island. It  a  breathtaking lunch restaurant on a pier on the sea and lunch was fairly reasonably priced for such a stunning place. 4 of us paid about $45 each for 3 courses with wine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    194
    43
    22
    19
See reviews for
83
549
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were planning on staying at Kendwa Rocks and last minute decided to change and try the Z Hotel. We were not disappointed. Friendly staff, great rooms and a great restaurant. You can book diving/snorkeling trip, local trips, and anything you want through the hotel.

They have a spa, a great bar and and every night they have a happy hour. Rooms are impeccably clean and the staff are very friendly and attentive to your every need.

My only complaint would be that the service at their upstairs restaurant is painfully slow. We ate there on multiple occasions (because it was delicious) but it would always take almost an hour for anything to come out. Whether it was a salad, pizza, appetizer. Not a major issue but something they could probably work on.

Other than that it is a great, relaxing slice of paradise and highly recommended. Especially post safari or Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This boutique hotel is the perfect place to switch off from the rest of the world. Small but well appointed rooms are offered, but you won't need to spend much time in them. To relax The hotel offers an infinity pool with a stunning view of the clear ocean waters, pool side massage and cocktails.

Additionally the hotel manager Judy assisted us with a sticky situation which we were very grateful for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmichellejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Didn't know much about Zanzbiar if I am honest before I looked into a holiday there.... what a place! I imagined it to be a place for honeymooners only... and don't get me wrong it would be an amazing place for a honeymoon but there is so much more to do! Amazing food, game fishing, diving, kite surfing and a scattering of chilled beach bars too.

The Z-Hotel is without a doubt the nicest hotel on the Island. If you are looking for the personal touch that comes from a private 'boutique' hotel with the luxury and amenities of 5 star then this is the place. The staff are so friendly, you really do feel at home when you arrive. The rooms are immaculate and remain that way with the amazing housekeeping daily, all the rooms looking out to the turquoise blue ocean. Cocktails by the infinity pool as you watch the sun set... then dinner either at the hotel or at one of the amazing restaurants literally next door.

Seriously, I have been to all the normal beach spots: Thailand, Cambodia, Bali, Goa, Sri Lanka etc... and this place is up there! Get yourself to Zanzibar, and most definitely the Z-Hotel... I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daragh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here as a chill out start to our holiday. We loved the location and staff. I cant say its top notch because its a smallish hotel in East Africa, its not the George V in Paris, so of course there are a few tiny issues, eg waiting for ice to be delivered or types of beer running out. The food is not the best but ok, although the atmosphere in the restaurants is good. Julie guest relations was lovely, we had a few problems with our room and had to move. I always say the mark of a hotel is how they deal with a problem and Julie was fantastic.

The staff are really lovely, particularly by the pool where they began to know our routine diet cokes and shade! Superb attention to detail from really fun loving friendly staff.

Amazing location steps from the ocean, honestly it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best option. We had great views but some are obstructed by the gardens tall p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon for a week after doing an intense safari in Tanzania the week before and it was perfect to relax after such a busy week. Lovely staff, so friendly and helpful and cheery. Especially the very helpful security guard. Gorgeous views of the beach. The bar by the pool is great but very slow service which was a bit annoying. Only downside is the beach boys who won't leave you alone the second you step off the steps to the beach so security should be better, it completely put us off going down the beach more which was a shame. Food was great, always a lot of variety. We hope to return one day in the future, maybe for our tenth anniversary! All the best to all of the staff, you were a pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought the Z Hotel was perfect for our group to relax after a busy Safari. Clean generous room and bathroom. A small balcony with best views of beach and the blue clear water. Only a few steps to the beach for walks along white clean sand. The water was perfectly delicious for swimming, no waves for keen surfers. Pool was fine to relax around but prefered swimming in ocean.
Restaurant was so good that we ate in it the three nights we were there. Beakfasts were also excellent. Staff were helpful and most pleasant. This is not as spacious as a lot of resorts but we were very happy with our time at Z. I really relaxed at The Z and enjoyed the garden.

Room Tip: they all seemed to have good views, we liked being on 2nd floor. no fitness centre, but prefer to sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing