We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar & Z-Hotel scoring big points! AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Didn't know much about Zanzbiar if I am honest before I looked into a holiday there.... what a place! I imagined it to be a place for honeymooners only... and don't get me wrong it would be an amazing place for a honeymoon but there is so much more to do! Amazing food, game fishing, diving, kite surfing and a scattering of chilled beach bars too.

The Z-Hotel is without a doubt the nicest hotel on the Island. If you are looking for the personal touch that comes from a private 'boutique' hotel with the luxury and amenities of 5 star then this is the place. The staff are so friendly, you really do feel at home when you arrive. The rooms are immaculate and remain that way with the amazing housekeeping daily, all the rooms looking out to the turquoise blue ocean. Cocktails by the infinity pool as you watch the sun set... then dinner either at the hotel or at one of the amazing restaurants literally next door.

Seriously, I have been to all the normal beach spots: Thailand, Cambodia, Bali, Goa, Sri Lanka etc... and this place is up there! Get yourself to Zanzibar, and most definitely the Z-Hotel... I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daragh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here as a chill out start to our holiday. We loved the location and staff. I cant say its top notch because its a smallish hotel in East Africa, its not the George V in Paris, so of course there are a few tiny issues, eg waiting for ice to be delivered or types of beer running out. The food is not the best but ok, although the atmosphere in the restaurants is good. Julie guest relations was lovely, we had a few problems with our room and had to move. I always say the mark of a hotel is how they deal with a problem and Julie was fantastic.

The staff are really lovely, particularly by the pool where they began to know our routine diet cokes and shade! Superb attention to detail from really fun loving friendly staff.

Amazing location steps from the ocean, honestly it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best option. We had great views but some are obstructed by the gardens tall p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon for a week after doing an intense safari in Tanzania the week before and it was perfect to relax after such a busy week. Lovely staff, so friendly and helpful and cheery. Especially the very helpful security guard. Gorgeous views of the beach. The bar by the pool is great but very slow service which was a bit annoying. Only downside is the beach boys who won't leave you alone the second you step off the steps to the beach so security should be better, it completely put us off going down the beach more which was a shame. Food was great, always a lot of variety. We hope to return one day in the future, maybe for our tenth anniversary! All the best to all of the staff, you were a pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought the Z Hotel was perfect for our group to relax after a busy Safari. Clean generous room and bathroom. A small balcony with best views of beach and the blue clear water. Only a few steps to the beach for walks along white clean sand. The water was perfectly delicious for swimming, no waves for keen surfers. Pool was fine to relax around but prefered swimming in ocean.
Restaurant was so good that we ate in it the three nights we were there. Beakfasts were also excellent. Staff were helpful and most pleasant. This is not as spacious as a lot of resorts but we were very happy with our time at Z. I really relaxed at The Z and enjoyed the garden.

Room Tip: they all seemed to have good views, we liked being on 2nd floor. no fitness centre, but prefer to sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

if you ever need to forget about work and relax this is the place you have to go, but if you are looking for fun as well you will find this in abundance.
the hotel is so comfortable, so well organized you really dont have to think, it is there for you or done by the very competent and happy staff.
i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, i live in Dubai and the standard of living here is very high, this hotel if in Dubai would defiantly be ranked one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Some reviews on TA are critical of the Z, as if it is a huge hotel in Hawaii that should have very conceivable service. It is not. It is a 65-room boutique hotel on a lovely beach in Zanzibar, East Africa. There are limitations built into this, but we thought the Z was terrific for some relaxing days after a safari. The design is really good, making the most of the beach site. We liked both restaurants. The staff were friendly and did their jobs well. The pool is nice, and there are things to do like a sunset sail on a dhow with snorkelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. Perched right on a white sand beach in amongst an assortment of restaurants, little shops and other hotels, it's not exactly 'remote' but the boutique atmosphere and brilliant staff make it a real home from home.

We had a few issues with the room, but Julie, the guest manager was right on the case every time and even when we mentioned an issue with one of the trips we went on after we got home, her response even then was immediate. No hotel is ever perfect, but what makes the difference is how they react when alerted to issues and these guys are an example of how to do it!

The pool is not huge, but big enough and the poolside area and service is great. Nice touch is 2 four poster beds each with TV's. We watched a couple of Bond movies over a cool beer when the sun got too hot!

A bit of noise at night from the surrounding clubs who seem to think that all the tourist want is club music all day and night, but doesn't keep you awake. This affects all hotels in the area, even the supposedly more remote ones like Gemma Del Est.

The location allows you to wander down the beach for hours in either direction to the local fishing village and the sea is crystal and warm.

Negatives? Food was good, but not brilliant but there are loads of local options. The wine is a bit expensive compared to other, but again, don't let that stop you coming here. All in all a top place. Go there, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Many 'sea view' rooms are obscured by palm trees. In some cases the higher floors are worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
642 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#6 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $178 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing