We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Z Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Z Hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought the Z Hotel was perfect for our group to relax after a busy Safari. Clean generous room and bathroom. A small balcony with best views of beach and the blue clear water. Only a few steps to the beach for walks along white clean sand. The water was perfectly delicious for swimming, no waves for keen surfers. Pool was fine to relax around but prefered swimming in ocean.
Restaurant was so good that we ate in it the three nights we were there. Beakfasts were also excellent. Staff were helpful and most pleasant. This is not as spacious as a lot of resorts but we were very happy with our time at Z. I really relaxed at The Z and enjoyed the garden.

Room Tip: they all seemed to have good views, we liked being on 2nd floor. no fitness centre, but prefer to sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    239
    49
    25
    19
See reviews for
108
675
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

if you ever need to forget about work and relax this is the place you have to go, but if you are looking for fun as well you will find this in abundance.
the hotel is so comfortable, so well organized you really dont have to think, it is there for you or done by the very competent and happy staff.
i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, i live in Dubai and the standard of living here is very high, this hotel if in Dubai would defiantly be ranked one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Some reviews on TA are critical of the Z, as if it is a huge hotel in Hawaii that should have very conceivable service. It is not. It is a 65-room boutique hotel on a lovely beach in Zanzibar, East Africa. There are limitations built into this, but we thought the Z was terrific for some relaxing days after a safari. The design is really good, making the most of the beach site. We liked both restaurants. The staff were friendly and did their jobs well. The pool is nice, and there are things to do like a sunset sail on a dhow with snorkelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. Perched right on a white sand beach in amongst an assortment of restaurants, little shops and other hotels, it's not exactly 'remote' but the boutique atmosphere and brilliant staff make it a real home from home.

We had a few issues with the room, but Julie, the guest manager was right on the case every time and even when we mentioned an issue with one of the trips we went on after we got home, her response even then was immediate. No hotel is ever perfect, but what makes the difference is how they react when alerted to issues and these guys are an example of how to do it!

The pool is not huge, but big enough and the poolside area and service is great. Nice touch is 2 four poster beds each with TV's. We watched a couple of Bond movies over a cool beer when the sun got too hot!

A bit of noise at night from the surrounding clubs who seem to think that all the tourist want is club music all day and night, but doesn't keep you awake. This affects all hotels in the area, even the supposedly more remote ones like Gemma Del Est.

The location allows you to wander down the beach for hours in either direction to the local fishing village and the sea is crystal and warm.

Negatives? Food was good, but not brilliant but there are loads of local options. The wine is a bit expensive compared to other, but again, don't let that stop you coming here. All in all a top place. Go there, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Many 'sea view' rooms are obscured by palm trees. In some cases the higher floors are worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Amazing hotel, lovely location (although a long way from stone town), any problems sorted quickly and easily.
The staff were attentive, rooms clean and beautiful and food delicous.
We booked all our trips through the hotel and the only one which wasn't amazing was the trip to stone town. I think that was mostly because we were struggling with the heat more than the trip wasn't good!
I would definitely go there again, and would recommend it to anyone going to zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We came to Z Hotel to recover and relax after climbing Kilimanjaro, and it didn't disappoint. Location, pool, restaurants and room were all great. The only issues were the power blackouts, which really are to be expected, and the late night music was a bit much.
Service was enthusiastic and very friendly, but yes a little on the slow side. Any issues we had we were welcomed to raise though, for them to be dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well designed, swish, amazing location right on the beach. A little pricey for what you get. A little aloof with pretentious feel. Good food. Fell slightly below my excellent expectations. Mainly due to annoyance of staff. Card machine was not working for 2 days, which is hotels problem and I got hounded several times each day to settle my bill. Machine out of order each time I turned up. Not something I expected on my Honeymoon. Hence reduced to very good rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing