We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent meals and atmosphere in Nungwi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe

LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“decent meals and atmosphere in Nungwi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the better restaurants we tried during our stay in Nungwi. Lost of fresh seafood and some good spicy options . . Can get busy in the evenings so maybe best to book a waterside table in advance

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank afrocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    150
    60
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed from our one-time visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As my title indicates, we only had one dinner here so our report might not do justice to the place, which we've heard very good things about.

We ordered the 2 most expensive items on the menu which were a sea-food platter and rock-lobster (both at around 25-30 thousand shilings).
Both dishes were average at best, to our disappointment. The following day we also had some stomach aches.
The waiter wasn't very nice either, but this could have been a result of his being seemingly new.

I wish I had more details about other dishes, it might have just been a case of bad luck. I do have to say that people told us that there are ups and downs when it comes to langi langi but that altogether people who ate there were very happy with the place.

Despite our disappointing meal, the balcony is amazing and the sunset we saw there was one of the most beautiful sunsets we had seen in ZNZ (and we saw plenty).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank he_who_is_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were there while staying in Z hotel. We liked the food in Langi-Langi Bar and the best was that you can bring our own alcohol. I tried Beef course - it was delicious. Pre-booking can guaranty you tha table you like.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderOrlovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Belatedly fulfilling a promise to Sele the rastachef to write a review of our stay. Langi Langi was our first stop on Zanzibar, our room, a suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean, it doesn't get much better following a long flight from the UK! We ate at Langi Langi throughout our stay and can only say we were never disappointed, tuna is a must! Take a walk along the beach past the dhows poised for the early evening departure, visit the turtle sanctuary where you can marvel at their work and take a walk through the nearby fishing village but don't forget to chill. This place is superb.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOTEL EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Staff
Surrounding, no beggers
easy going
FANTASTIQ
We loved it because it is quiet, no noisy tourists, no drunk Russians!

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe also viewed

Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Michamvi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to LangiLangi Beach Bungalows Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing